Longevity logo

2020 in Synchronicities

Life is so strange.

By expositiffsPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
2020 in Synchronicities
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

I’ve been more observant of synchronicities & while this occurrence may not necessarily be one to you, I hope you still find it quite bizarre.

Yesterday, I just had an extreme sudden curiosity to Google image search 'purple aesthetic tiffany' (very random I know I keep thinking to myself, “why those words of all things?!”). But very weirdly enough in the first row of the results, I find an edited photo of mine taken from my original, already deleted Tumblr account which never included my name in the username.

I was doubting it was actually my picture but lo & behold I go to find my photo book where I chose random photos I had taken which I thought were pretty enough to print out. It did in fact confirm that yes, I did find my pearl photo was edited by an internet stranger making it more ‘purple aesthetic’.

A close up of my photo book showing the original, unedited photo of a holographic, colorful pearl decoration piece with my laptop in the background displaying the Google images results page.

I also then remembered the moment I took this picture. It was in a department store, either Ross or Marshall's, and I saw a pretty pearl decoration piece (as pictured). My Tumblr blog had a pastel and aesthetic themed at the time so I took a picture of it to post later on my blog.

I’m not really bothered by the fact that I’m not credited since my account is gone. But I just find it very surreal how of all the photo results Google could have shown from the internet, a photo I took from over 5 years ago was displayed.

I’m someone who looks up the possible meanings of my dreams (like weeks ago, I searched what it means when a butterfly lands on you in a dream) so I most definitely have been reflecting on the color purple & it’s symbolism to see how I could interpret this seemingly meaningless sign from the universe.

However, I should note that my hair has been many shades of purple the past few months so maybe I’ve just subconsciously had the color (literally & figuratively) on my mind a lot. Also, I very recently realized the crown chakra is purple too, so does that tell me something? Perhaps.

It might just be the overthinker in me, but who knows it doesn’t hurt to ponder on strange coincidences like these to find guidance or comfort.

SYNCHRONICITIES PT. II

Like in the previously mentioned anecdote, the following might sound a bit surreal as well. But as someone who is not at all a creative writer, I can truly say that this is just a reflection of my personal experience & nothing more.

I checked my email receipts & this all happened around the time that I booked a plane ticket for my very first trip to New York City so between late January to late February. The original plan was to go to Orlando for Walt Disney World but since my family has been a few times before, & it is a new decade, we decided to go to NYC instead. My parents actually met & lived in NYC/NJ before moving to California so this was the first time my mom went back since before my sister & I was born.

For those that don’t know, my sister is my rock & I don’t know where I would be if it weren’t for her. I genuinely feel like she’s my soul sister. She was born prematurely in late October about a month after 9/11 even though she was expected to be born in early December. While our synastry might have different insight, I would definitely say a few of our personal astrological placements really help us develop a better understanding of each other & I consider us very complementary. She is a Scorpio sun, Aries moon, & Capricorn rising while I am a Taurus sun, Gemini moon, & Capricorn rising. Both of our Venus signs are ruled by Venus, but one of us has Taurus & the other has Libra. My sister has Mercury in Libra while I have Mercury retrograded in Aries, which teaches me a lot about how to stand up for myself & be a better communicator. I’ve always struggled with communication even more so than the average person, but I really am trying to be better.

Anyways back to my NYC trip, the reason it was booked fairly last minute was because my mom was already hesitant about our safety due to the virus. Yet I felt so determined (also my intuition was telling me) that if I was to go on a trip this year, it should be sooner than later. Also, I had a companion voucher (basically a buy one get one free plane ticket) which would be expiring in March 2020. This was me not taking into consideration that the virus would actually get out of control. The virus situation was not even considered a pandemic yet at that point. My mom is even more so of a worrywart as of November 2020 & I’ve basically been on lockdown at home since March 2020 because she’s a strict, overprotective, Asian parent. Fortunately or not so fortunately, depending on how you look at it since I’m a natural homebody. But hey, at least I’m alive with a roof over my head & a comfy bed to myself.

Only a few days later (I can confirm this because I compared the email dates with news article dates & I wrote a very descriptive journal entry about it), I woke up around 3 am with a stomach ache. I never use my phone if I wake up in the ‘middle of the night’ besides to check the time and I rarely wake up in the middle of the night in general. But I felt pierces in my stomach that made me feel very uneasy & I had the urge to check Twitter news to see if there was anything significant happening. At the time, COVID-19 was still slowly spreading but I remember feeling like that stomach ache was telling me there was some kind of shift in the world & I truly felt that a very impactful event was on the horizon. I went to work that day & my intuition was eerily correct. These weird events occurred on the exact same day of the tragic helicopter accident occurred involving Kobe Bryant, Gigi Bryant, & their close friends going to the Black Mamba Academy. Not what I expected, but surely a very sad, significant event of 2020.

The accident really had me reflecting on (& I now never stop thinking about) the fact that in the early 90′s my mom had to pick between a job at the original World Trade Center or the current company she works for. I would not be where I am today or here at all & my sister surely wouldn’t have been born. It will now always reminds me of the power of every decision, big or little. I’ve been super grateful for waking up every day healthier than most & for having my basic needs met. Practicing gratitude has helped me even more so these past few months & has helped me focus on the good things in life when I’m down, small or silly as they may be.

A view of New York City from the NJ 9/11 Memorial. Photo by me taken on February 23, 2020.

What really makes me ponder too is, remember my first visit to NYC in late February? It is still mind-boggling to think about it, but the first confirmed NYC virus case was announced the day after we got home so we were there the literal last week of normalcy. Pre-covid NYC, before the virus was taken more seriously, before the stay-at-home orders. The trip wasn't supposed to be that week. We genuinely considered postponing the trip to a later date or even calling it off altogether. Lots of things didn’t go as planned like my car wouldn’t start on the night of our flight of all days then our parking reservation wasn’t valid & that was before we got to the airport. We face more troubles during our visit but nothing too terrible. The trip happened during Mercury Retrograde so it was no wonder that these mishaps were more likely (7/10 do not recommend traveling during Mercury Retrograde unless you’re ready for unexpected things to go wrong). Despite that, I definitely have no regrets now.

One last thing that stood out to me was the fact that on my very last day of work before the stay-at-home orders in March (Friday the 13th) I accidentally cut my finger on a piece of glass. It was in the midst of being helped that all my thoughts suddenly started racing. From being shocked that I cut my finger with glass (probably a side effect of having a fear of splinters) to the simultaneous realization that my workplace was going to close, & my intuition screaming at me that this closure would be for a while or see unprecedented impacts, as a result, I got so overwhelmed with my thoughts that I actually fainted (I had to fill out an incident form since it happened during work hours). Weirdly enough, it was the third time I had passed out within a 7 month time span, about once every three months - September 2019, December 2019, & then March 2020. All due to separate events, but still odd nonetheless because they were so evenly spaced out. Of course, now I’ve just been stuck at home so luckily I haven’t passed out anytime since. There are more coincidences I could share like the first one mentioned in this article that has happened between then & now, but I highly doubt many people even made it this far in the article.

The accumulation of all these events has truly made me believe in Divine Timing, that things happen in your life at the right moment, & that I should really listen to my intuition more. The same can be said about people that you meet in life. I wanted to include another bit regarding strangers that have weirdly made a strong impact on my perspective & motivation towards life this year, but I will save that story for another time. I’m not at the point yet to say that Divine Timing applies to every single thing I experience, but I can most definitely say very particular events like these are quite remarkable.

spirituality
Like

About the Creator

expositiffs

balancing the posi·tiffs & the nega·tiffs one musing at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.