Lifehack logo

Winter Gardening

My first story on vocal media is for winter gardening!

By Rose Henderson-DavisPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Evergreens add winter life as the cold breaks dormancy of many seeds for spring growth.

Many consider warmer months the primary gardening season however there is much gardening to be done in the colder seasons as well. I have been trained in gardening as well as self employed in the field as well as instruct in the field. I use gardening for my anxiety so when weather started getting cold I learned more about the joys of colder weather gardening. Topics I will be talking about in this story is gathering seeds, winterizing gardens, cold stratifying seeds, using evergreens for winter garden life and more. I like to be direct and not much fuss so straight to the info shall we?

Gathering seeds is most often done during fall when seed pods mature and start drying out. You will want to research each plant type for specific details. In general seeds can be gathered when pods are dried and stored once seeds are thoroughly dry. I use little jewelry bags I buy online to store and label seeds collected. label with the year also as seeds germinate better when fresher generally but if properly stored with airtight seals seeds can still be germinated even after many years as proven by scientists who have germinated ancient seeds stored with such conditions.

Some plants in your garden may benefit from mulching to avoid freeze during winter. Some bulbs can be dug and stored or mulched with a couple inches of mulch. Some plants will need added winter protection based on each plant type's temperature range details. If you dig bulbs for storing make sure they are fully dried out and that the storage container allows for air flow. I like to make homemade storage bags such as cutting holes in a ziplock with a hole punch and adding cedar chips. this prevents the bulbs from rotting.

Seeds from some varieties of plants require cold stratification to break dormancy and allow the seed to germinate. Cold stratification is a period of cold varied by each plant type in length and temperature requirements. Some plants will need a moist cold such as rose seeds while others need a dryer sandy winter. Always check each plant type's specific growing details for best results of coarse. You do not have to have winter itself to germinate a seed needing cold, you can mimic the season using your refrigerator. Check seed variety instructions on dry/moist , temp and length in cold. If moist is needed I use a paper towel flat in a ziplock and place seeds on it then cover with another paper towel and mist with water before sealing and placing in my refrigerator. This is also helpful for mild winters or harsh winters.

Using evergreens to add winter life can be easy. Bigger center points such as evergreen trees can be complimented by bushes that produce attractive berries such as Holly or Nandina Bamboo. Smaller or more individually noticeable accent plants can be used such as the striking needle like leaves of the yucca . I personally love winter flowering plants such as Hellebores, Winter Jasmine and Camellia all producing summer like flowers in the cold of winter!

I also like to use winter to start some plants from seed indoors and allow them to grow to a bigger size for planting outdoors after the last frost has past. I do this using full spectrum grow lights, I also like making plantable seedling pots using toilet paper rolls. just gut 4 small slits in one end to fold over like a box top. this forms the bottom and while not perfectly flat they do stand up well once filled and placed side by side in a tray. I found cheap kitty litter boxes make great seedling pot trays as it has raised sides and cheap. The seedling pots can then be directly planted into the new bigger pot when the plant reaches size enough for repotting. Each plant variety type will vary on rate of growth and repotting needs as well as light and moisture needs.

I hope you enjoy winter gardening and find these tips helpful if just beginning. If you like this story I will be planning a story for spring and summer gardening to cover cross breeding and rooting plants as well as other subjects. I come from a family of gardeners and followed my grandmother's tradition of becoming certified. I also offer gardening lessons both online and in person. I have a Facebook page I can be reached at Rose Henderson Davis. I answer questions as I have time so patients is required and thank you so much for reading my first story on Vocal Media. I hope you have a beautiful life.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.