Lifehack logo

What to do While You're Stuck Inside

Don’t let COVID-19 keep you bored

By SamPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1
I wish my living room was this nice...

It’s a very stressful time in the world. With COVID-19 keeping everyone in their houses, it’s easy to go stir crazy. I knew this would happen to me quickly, and I’ve been preparing ways to keep myself occupied while I stay in my apartment all day. Instead of stressing too much about this virus, here’s a list of things you can do while you spend time indoors.

1. Read a book. If you’re like me, you have a mountain of unread books sitting in your room just begging to be picked up.

2. Not into physical books? Try audiobooks and e-books. In particular, I’m a fan of audiobooks. You can listen to them while you do chores around the house. Speaking of chores…

3. Spring cleaning. It isn’t the most entertaining thing to do, but if you have nothing but time on your hands, it’s a great time to get rid of clutter.

4. Online shopping. Many businesses are struggling right now with retail stores closed for weeks. If you want or need to shop, see what you can get online. I’d also suggest seeing what smaller businesses are still providing online service, as they’re struggling the most. I’m planning on browsing through Etsy to grab some things from creators who make great things and are in need of money now more than ever. It’s a way to spend time and support smaller businesses.

5. Yoga!! My roommates and I have started a 30 day yoga challenge on YouTube, and Day 1 was great. It’s an easy way to keep yourself active. If you’re not into yoga, try some other at home workout videos and see what works for you.

6. Avoid social media for a little bit. I try to make a conscious effort a few times a day to stay off of Facebook. My timeline is filled with political news, virus news, and rarely is it ever good. Instead of stressing yourself out, put your phone away for at least an hour every day so it isn’t right beside you to look at.

7. Video games! Maybe this is just me because I’ve put in an ungodly amount of hours into Fire Emblem: Three Houses and I’ve just bought Animal Crossing New Horizons, but video games make the time fly by. I love my Nintendo Switch, and they even have a few games on sale right now to buy if you’re feeling adventurous and don’t want to drop too much money on a game. If you have a video game console of any kind, definitely turn it on and get lost for a few hours.

8. Coloring. Adult coloring books are everywhere. If you have one already, great. If you don’t, grab a sheet of printer paper and doodle. It’s a small creative release that can definitely put a smile on your face. I drew a little dinosaur the other day that I’ve become very attached to.

9. It’s a great time to start a journal. Organizing your thoughts can be a lot of work, and I often find writing them down frees my brain from circling the same thoughts over and over. Journaling is great for releasing stress, and it’s a private space for you and you alone to not be afraid to say what’s on your mind.

10. Board games. I’m lucky enough to have roommates to play board games with. If you’re in a similar situation with others at home, check out what board games you have. Board games are another great way to destress. If you live alone, grab a deck of cards and play solitaire, or learn how to play other solo card games. I do it sometimes, and it’s very entertaining.

11. You’re probably wondering why it took me so long to get to binge watching. Do it. Now’s your chance. Catch up on that show you forgot about. Start that series you wanted to watch for so long. I’m finally going to finish Demon Slayer this weekend, and I’m ecstatic about it.

12. Spend that extra time jazzing up your cooking. I don’t venture out too much when it comes to cooking at home, so I bought a bunch of steak that I’ll marinate, season, etc. I’m going to experiment. Throw some kind of seasoning into your food and see what happens.

13. Meditation. This goes hand in hand with yoga. Meditation is great because you only have to do it for about 10-20 minutes each day for it to make a difference in your life. This activity can really change how you see the world, and with so much free time to try it out, there’s no reason not to!

14. It’s time to get crafty. Crafts are a great way to distract yourself and make some cute decorations while you’re at it. Try scrapbooking, even if that just means you cut out some pictures from a magazine and glue them to a sheet of paper. It could be a collage of things that make you happy, a vision board of positive affirmations, or whatever you want to glue to a page. Another little craft I enjoy is sewing. There’s no shortage of sewing tutorials online, and you can learn to embroider, repair clothes, and stitch together little plushies pretty easily.

15. The most important thing to do when you're stuck inside is to just take a deep breath and remind yourself of the positives in life. I saw a robin yesterday and it was the highlight of my day. Is that overly exciting? No, it's just a bird. But I love the way robins look, and I hadn't seen one in a while, so it made me happy. Take stock of the small things, because even a fraction of a smile is better than a frown.

What we’re experiencing right now is one of the most stressful global events in recent memory. Being overwhelmed is normal. Feeling scared or helpless is normal. I’m right there with you. Engaging yourself in a few of the small things above can help you keep some semblance of control in your life even though if feels like so much of it has been taken away. I’m a big believer in small things building to greater things, especially when it comes to keeping yourself mentally and emotionally healthy. We’re going to get through it. It may be difficult, but we will. Stay safe, healthy, and happy!

how to
1

About the Creator

Sam

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Sam is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.