Lifehack logo

What I declutter in 2 weeks

Consumable Edition

By GracedlazydaisyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
What I used up or purchased in the last 2 weeks. Non-expired food waste

My decluttering journey has been one of many gains, and set backs. At times it's focusing on one area of my life- like books, or clothing. Other times, it's focusing on what I'm bringing into my home. And how to do so more mindfully & sustainably. I'm not perfect- and I think downsizing/decluttering/minimalism movement is always an ongoing re-assessment of how can I make use of what I have, how can I limit what I bring in, and ways to upgrade items so their longevity makes less waste that ends up in landfills.

This is a reflection of my "waste" of things that I've used up, parts/cardboard that I've accumulated, etc within a very specific category. Items that I've consumed that doesn't fall in to normal every day items, food papers/waste of items going bad, and I didn't include my bottle returns/that I drank thru- because it's fairly basic of how I'll be disposing of it (going to a bottle recycling center to get deposit back.)

In 2 weeks these are the items that fall under above set guidelines:

-2 boxes of Cheez It (one regular, one ranch flavoured). After watching Maiphammy's channel- I was curious to try them (it's one of her favorite snacks) and when they went on sale at walmart for $1.99, I had to pick some up.

-Gushers : childhood favorite. Grabbed it when I saw it on sale for $1.99.

-Chocolate: Dark chocolate with almonds Safeway's brand. Pretty tasty, ate in one sitting. $2.50 snack

-Salted Sun Flower seeds from Walmart: One of my absolute favourite snacks. Usually eat a whole bag of this in about a week, try to only get it every month or two. Bags usually range $3-$5

-Pudding: Banana creampie 5 packs of 4 for $4ish. Eh pudding is pudding, this was an alrigh flavour.

-Bathmat: tag, new place- needed a new bathmat

-Mac creasepot: over 8-9 years ago, adding it to my MAC returnable containers (after 5-6 you can exchange for a lipstick- great recycling program)

-Lighter: Need to figure out how to refill them

- Candle: Rain water from walmart. Smells sooo good, burned thru it within about a week- week and half.

-Hand soap: Purchased in October, just ran out of it now. Purchased a large refillable bottle, will clean this container and reuse- refilling it from said new purchase.

- Foot soak: in a 3 pack of foot care. Only had 3-4 uses out of it. It was a nice experience, but eh not much in there.

- Body mist: Cotton Candy from Calgon, I've had it for a couple years. When I moved into this new place I only had about 1/3-1/4 of the bottle left and I've been exclusively using it. Now that it's done, I've moved on to another scent: Red Velvet.

- Tea: one use, dreamland shoppers/superstore brand. Nice tea- but excessive package. Moving towards using loose leaf teas & tea balls/steepers.

-Tea ball: Owl/reusable. Used it a couple times- a lot less waste.

-Plunger: just the tag for it.

What did I learn from this? Moving towards tea balls, will lessen my footprint on waste (the teabag, the package for the bag, and the container it comes in vs just the container for the loose leaf). I snack quite a bit xD, trying to think of ways that lessens my footprint. Large containers? More mindful snacks? I need to learn how to refill lighters. I go thru one of these, about every 3-6 months. Moving towards refilling hand soap containers- will hopefully lessen my waste.

Like this reflection? Want to read more ways I'm decluttering or being mindful? Consider leaving me a tip! :)

Also check out my Youtube channel:

And this video specifically speaking of the content of this article:

list
Like

About the Creator

Gracedlazydaisy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.