Lifehack logo

We Still Need to Try to Save the Environment

We Can't Do It All, But We Can't Do Nothing

By Dani AshPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
1

I think we all know who's really hurting the environment. But we all do still have a footprint, and everything we do does have an effect on our earth and her creatures. So this list is something that you can use to just do a little bit better for yourself and the earth. Because I feel like it's important that even if we feel helpless in changing the course of what's happening, we never give up and just allow ourselves to continue adding to the problem. Even if it seems small, it still helps, so let's try our best.

So first things first, you need to cut out the plastic as much as possible. Plastic pollution is by far one of the major concerns when it comes to our earth. Click here for an informative reading on plastic. So, how do you cut out the plastic? There are the easy ones like buying a reusable water bottle, and using reusable bags instead of using plastic ones when you shop. Something even better? 4Ocean is a great nonprofit that cleans out so much plastic from the oceans, and they sell reusable water bottles and reusable bags, and the profits leads to a pound of trash being removed from the ocean. They also have really cute bracelets that are made out of recycled materials and also remove a pound of trash.

What are some other ways to cut out the plastic? Try to not use straws, or purchase a reusable one. I, personally, just refuse straws all around. Before the server can put it on my table I say no thank you, and I don't use plastic lids or straws when getting drinks at fast food joints. I use as much glass as possible. Glass Tupperware, glass cups, etc. This is better for you and the environment. We DO NOT want to be ingesting plastic, microwaving it, and tossing it.

Okay, so what else besides plastic should you avoid? Now, I could preach off a high pedestal about organic and natural foods. And it's true to a point, especially things treated by antibiotics and pesticides. But for most people organic stuff is too expensive. Plus, companies like to trick us into thinking things are organic when they are not 100 percent organic. What I'll tell you is try to just avoid a ton of packaging. If you are like me and can't afford a ton of organic things, then just try to do your research. For me, I'm more interested in ethically grown or raised foods. Where does my food come from? And yes, it is still pretty expensive, but buying on sale and buying what's in season, it can be a little cheaper. It does take more work, and do not feel bad that you can't afford to eat this way.

I've switching to bar soap too. For both shampoo and body wash, I have switched to bar soap. Why? Because the amount of packaging is way less. The amount of waste is way less. If you've read my article on my Top 5 Lush Products then you know where I get my soap and what it costs. But if you haven't, Lush is more expensive, but I find it worth it. But if you can't afford their top prices, a quick search on Amazon shows there's plenty of cheaper options.

The last thing you should do? You should just TRY. No everyone is perfect, not me, not you, not anyone. You have your reasons for things not working out. Do not feel bad, and just keep trying. Because that's all we can do as we continue to vote in the right people to help us. We need to try and we need to keep trying even if it feels like we aren't doing anything in the bigger picture.

Like what I write? Leave a Tip!

how to
1

About the Creator

Dani Ash

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.