Lifehack logo

Upgrade Your Writing Environment

Using Your Five Senses

By Valerie JPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Writing/Book Life Coach

Whether you realize it or not- your environment shapes you, everything in your physical media and social circles influences your writing mood.

By upgrading your writing environment- even just a little bit- can make a big difference in your work, access where you write carefully and attentively to create the kind of writing space that you want.

It is vitally important that you pay particular attention to your surroundings, every object is telling a story and shaping the way you feel toward your writing.

You are in charge of your space- you don't have to change everything all at once- by adding or subtraction one thing, you are writing a brand new story.

The more you clean up your writing space, the lighter and happier you will feel toward your work- find yourself a dedicated space to write, and it does not necessarily have to be inside your home.

If it is inside your home- make sure that your writing surface has enough room for your writing instrument- be it your laptop or pen and notebook.

As a caveat- your lap does not qualify as a writing surface, because your mind believes your lap is a casual place.

Your writing surface must be solid, it doesn't necessarily have to be a chair so long as it is comfortable.

Your writing space must be distraction free -if at all possible- it should be separate from your communal area. If you write in your living room, it should be free of people and with the television off.

Only you know what distracts you, so in order to take your writing seriously- you must seriously make your writing space clear of those distractions.

Your writing space should involve things that are pleasant to your five senses. For example- my writing space has beautiful paintings I love to look at, an inspiring quote by Toni Morrison and a funny info-gram.

I have a variety of scented candles I choose from- based upon what I would like the room to smell like.

I choose my music based on what kind of writing I will be engaging in- and yes, I write every single day- even if it's a "Shit To Do Today" list.

I eat and drink different things throughout the day, my top priority is that I enjoy consuming them.

I have a couple of outfits that I wear when I'm ready to write, and they are comfortable against my skin.

Yes, my writing space sounds ideal and it is- because I made it that way, and you can do the same with yours.

No matter if it is the largest room in a three bedroom home, a linen closet at work, the backseat of your vehicle parked in the driveway or a table in a coffee bar- just make that writing space your own.

Writing/Book Life Coach www.valeriejrunyan.info

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.