Lifehack logo

Things to Consider: Schoolie

What to think about before buying a bus

By Anthony TerryPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
2
Things to Consider: Schoolie
Photo by Joshua Hoehne on Unsplash

So if you have followed anything I do you know in 2020 I bought a school bus and converted it into a tiny home. It was a huge project and there were so many things I had to learn as I went. I wanted to write about some of my experiences and things I would have done differently now that I am looking back on my project. Here are the top three big things I would do differently if I were to do another school bus conversion.

The first thing I would have done differently is to keep the original doors to the bus and just added a lock to them. I instead took them off and built a doorframe to put a traditional house door. I thought this would make entering the bus feel more like home. I wanted to add a keypad deadbolt which I wouldn't have been able to do with the original doors. Now with hindsight, I do not need that convenience. It would have saved me many hours of thought and labor. I do like how it turned out but I think the cons out way the pros to the way I did the door.

Another thing I would definitely reconsider if I do another tiny home build is investing in a composting toilet. I looked at one for a little bit when I was researching for this build but then was grossed out by the idea of it. The complexity of running pipe into a water tank from the toilet was a nightmare and it's going to be just as gross and maybe even grosser emptying that tank than the composting toilet. I could have saved lots of space for other things if I didn't have to space the shower and toilet so far apart due to the paths I had to take for the drains.

The third thing is I would rethink my appliances. I don't need luxury as I thought on a bus. I wouldn't buy an A/C again because it takes a lot of power to run and that means I cannot use it when using solar energy. Instead, I would add a few roof vents; one in the front and one in the back that would create a draft to make a breeze in the bus when it is hot outside. Another appliance I would change is my water heater. I opted for an electric 5-gallon water heater so again I need to be plugged into shore power to use it. I would love to have a propane instant water heater that way I am not reliant on electricity to run the water heater and can use it anywhere as long as I have propane in my tanks.

I hope you enjoyed reading this and got some ideas if you are thinking about trying something like this. It really was a lot of fun and I am happy with how it turned out even though it isn't perfect. What in life is though? I have one other thing I want to mention as a bonus. I made everything from the counters to the couch custom. It was great getting to learn how to build but I think next time it might make things easier to buy pre-built furniture and modify it to fit the space. That is all I have for this list. There are a lot more things I would consider doing differently now that I have more experience and the advantage of hindsight but I'll leave you with those four things for now.

how to
2

About the Creator

Anthony Terry

Hello, I like using poetry and music to help connect people and find the meaning of life. We all have our own unique stories and I want to share mine to hopefully inspire you to share yours!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.