Lifehack logo

Something to eat in the family. Grilled pork neck recipe with onion and garlic.

Grilled pork neck recipe with onion and garlic

By Make Food By YourselfPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Grilled pork neck with onion and garlic. Pork neck quickly marinated with olive oil and spices. A simple and quick recipe, a kind of improvised gyros. Pieces of Romanian meat, tender and aromatic, accompanied by strips of kapia pepper, onion and slices of garlic. The spices (oregano, thyme, pepper) are of your choice.

It's one of my favorite steaks, along with pork breast or raw or smoked pork. These pieces of meat are best cooked whole, in 1-3 kg pieces. And yes, they also go in the middle because they cook slowly, on low heat, for a longer time.

I made this pork neck in a grill pan because I caught some tough pieces of meat that are not suitable for classic grills. I didn't even have time to marinate them overnight, so I cut them into 1 cm strips and decided to cook them like this.

You will see how well this cut-in-slices cook and how tasty the vegetables are in the pan. In addition, everything goes very quickly.

Ingredients

  • 500 g pork neck
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • salt, ground black pepper
  • a little dried oregano (or thyme if you prefer it)
  • 3 medium onions
  • 4-5 cloves of garlic
  • 2 red capsicums or donuts
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar (red)
  • Toppings of your choice

    fried potatoes, baked, puree, plain rice, sour cream, mixed salad, yogurt sauce with garlic

    Method of preparation

  • First, remove the meat from the refrigerator at least 30 minutes before cooking. I had 4 slices of the back of the neck, which I cut into strips about 1 cm thick. I put them in a bowl and sprinkled them with olive oil and seasoned them with freshly ground pepper and dried oregano (without salt!). I mixed with my hands to make sure that each slice of meat is coated with oil and spices. I let it sit for 15 minutes.
  • In the meantime, I cleaned and cut the vegetables: the onion in thicker pieces, the garlic in slices and the peppers in strips.
  • I heated the grill pan well. I worked in high heat. I threw the pieces of marinated neck into the hot pan and left them motionless for the first 2 minutes. I took care to place them in a single row, so that they are not piled up. Why? Because otherwise steam and condensation form and I wake up with a pool of juice in the pan. Goodbye browning!
  • After 2 minutes, I started to turn the pieces of the neck with a spatula and make sure that they brown on all sides. This job takes about another 3 minutes. It smells so good!
  • I removed the browned meat in a bowl and kept it warm, close at hand. Now I also salted it and mixed it lightly. I don't saute it before cooking so that it doesn't harden.
  • I reduced the heat under the pan a little and put the onion, sliced garlic and peppers in it. I also gave them a pinch of salt and a bit of pepper and oregano and always mixed them with a spatula. I want them to brown, not to be fried. To help the browning process, I sprinkled a grated teaspoon of brown sugar over the vegetables. For a special taste, I dripped a little balsamic vinegar. I continued to mix with the spatula until the vegetables became brown (about 4 minutes). At the end, I put the meat back in the pan and left everything for another 2 minutes on medium heat.
  • The pan-roasted pork neck is served immediately, hot. I chopped some mushrooms on top.
  • The pieces of neck are brown and tender, juicy. The vegetables are glazed and have a floury, slightly crunchy texture. A tzatziki sauce goes well with this kind of food!
  • food
    Like

    About the Creator

    Make Food By Yourself

    Food recipes for you and your loved ones. I present both food and sweets, from different countries, for a diversification of tastes to your liking.

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.