Lifehack logo

Knocking Boots Helped Me Get My Writing Mojo Back

So now I get some *mojo* every day at 2pm

By Rick MartinezPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Photo by Dainis Graveris on Unsplash

I bet we're a lot alike, you and me.

We both love to write.

We have always loved to write, and I am sure that it is because of the effect writing has on us. It is a way for me to express myself and my thoughts in ways that I cannot do verbally or with other art forms. I like how there are no limits to what you can say or even where you can go with your thoughts when writing.

Writing is a safe place for me; if I could not get my feelings out through writing, they would fester inside until I exploded in some way.

It also helps tremendously that it is something that anyone can do from any location at any time - which appeals greatly to someone who is a self-proclaimed introvert. This means that I can be alone and in solitude but still achieve something positive.

There is nothing else like it to me, and that makes writing an extraordinary thing.

One of my favorite things about writing is how powerful it can be. It can genuinely move people from their current point in life into an entirely new level of existence, or at least one they did not think was possible before. I have had that happen to me many times over through certain pieces of work that I have done and those of others. It brings us together; we all share this passion for freedom by bringing our inner thoughts out free from any rules or limits we might feel are imposed on us.

Free thinking is a beautiful thing, and I revel in it, which is why I write to share what comes out of this head of mine with others who might be able to relate or resonate with it.

I am sure you can agree that writing is a powerful tool, no matter who the author may be. This power stems from simple things like inspiration and passion and from others such as hope, fear, and nostalgia. It's pretty easy to tap into these feelings and bring them forth into your writing when you do not feel confined by rules or norms set out for us by society or the world around us.

That's why we have all termed people such as writers, poets, singer-songwriters, artists, and the like the "outsiders" of society; they can see things differently than most of us because they do not fear going against the grain or being ostracized for their thoughts.

But let's get back to feelings for a second.

You see, I'm confident that this is another point we both agree on. The fact is that our best stuff comes from a feeling. Our most remarkable work, even if it's only for us, emerges from something deep.

But how do we tap into those feelings when we first sit down and stare blankly at a page?

When we're faced with a block or perhaps nothing is stirring within us.

We tap into our secret weapons to create those feels. Those weapons are energy, emotions, and endorphins.

So let me explain what I mean and how it's worked wonders for me.

Energy in motion becomes an unstoppable force

I'll sit down to write and know I need to write, but zilch. I sip my coffee to feel the heat. Maybe surf on Insta to mine for ideas.

Yet nothing.

So I jump.

I get moving.

I'm not talking about strenuous exercise here, but the movement is a great way to get energy flowing. Ideally, you'd find something that kind of emulates your writing (do some dance moves while doing character voices, do yoga poses while concentrating on how the story makes you feel), etc. Or just twist your trunk.

The point is physical movement.

You see a few things happen when we get our buns up and jump, or do a few pushups, or take off our shirts and do trunk-twists in front of a mirror. At least, this is what happened to me. And I bet it will work for you.

In front of the mirror, devoid of ideas, I did shirtless trunk twists and saw I was anything but a svelte, 6-pack DILF. I was a bit fluffy. Just a bit, though.

And it ticked me off.

It made me think about why I had eaten that donut and why I didn't exercise the way I used to, and it torqued me even more. I felt that newfound energy rise to the point that I sat myself down and let that newly-tapped force flow right onto my page.

It works.

It works every time.

Motion begets energy, and energy begets emotion, and emotion begets beautiful words on paper and crushes any type of block you might be having.

But what about the times where you simply do not want to rise out of your chair to tap into that movement?

What then?

Find meaning in the things right around you

"Look, Rick, I'm not gonna get up and jump around. That's stupid, and my dog will think I'm going off the deep end and will start humping on my leg."

I hear you.

That's what I said to myself for this article. Literally, the one you're reading. I started this with a blank page and blocked thoughts and sure as heck didn't feel like getting up and doing pushups or topless trunk twists.

I just wanted to sit here with my hot coffee and a blinking cursor and write. But I couldn't.

Then this happened.

I stared out the window. My window here overlooks the Barents Sea. And the Barents Sea, here in the arctic, is a beautiful sight to behold.

And then I felt the flow.

The flow of beauty, of vastness, and the flow of the colors of the sea. Though I had music on, what I was seeing began to make their very own sound in my head. And it sparked emotion.

And it was those emotions that lead me back to my Mac, and I started furiously typing what I was feeling.

Don't overthink this, folks.

Maybe you're not on the ocean. So go for a walk, even if it's in the city. Perhaps open a chapter of your most favorite book and re-read the part that moved you the first time you read it.

And when you feel it rise, capture it with your fingers on your screen.

Bring on the "feel goods"

Have you ever heard of "runners high"?

It's that feeling of euphoria that runners get when they're in the zone. It's a literal feeling that washes through the body and reminds you how alive you are.

It's also called an endorphin rush.

Well, here's the thing. It doesn't just apply to runners. It also applies to writers. Yes, I'm definitely telling and compelling you to seek a writer's high.

But how?

What will get the endorphins flowing for someone who isn't planning on running a 10k or a Marathon?

This is also what I like to call "finding your muse" through energy. I want to do certain things that are fun and/or challenging and that get my mind flowing naturally in ways I haven't thought of before while giving the body something to focus on while writing.

You wanna know one of my secrets of all secrets to getting some endorphins flowing?

Sex.

Yeah. Good ole' fashioned knocking boots. Bumpin' uglies.

Think about it. For two minutes, or twenty minutes, you're likely in a euphoric state and all you can think about is one thing, and one thing only. That's what I call laser focus and that, my friends, translates into some epic ink-slinging.

Try it, and if nothing else, damn, will you have a good time.

The final word

Energy, emotion, and endorphins are the three principles I use to write better.

I try to find meaning in things around me that make sense for my writing style (for example, looking out at a beautiful view) or doing something fun like playing video games.

These all give me physical energy, which then gives way to emotional energy, and it's the emotional energy that brings a writing flow state.

Finally, there's the good old-fashioned endorphin rush - set yourself up for success by practicing good habits and having positive thoughts about your work before going into it.

And when all else fails, go get naked.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Rick Martinez

I help CEOs & entrepreneurs write & publish books that give them authority & legacy | Bestselling author | Former CEO turned ghostwriter |

California born, Texas raised.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.