Lifehack logo

Isolation Day...I've Lost Count

I think we're week 3, maybe 4 into isolation. I think i'm slightly going insane.

By Amy WildsmithPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

It's a crazy, crazy time in the word right now. No one really knows what is going on, not even the government. All we know is that Coronavirus is hitting and breaking things left, right and centre. It's tearing down businesses, its destroying lives, it's turning our normality upside down and everybody, I mean everybody, is struggling in some way or another.

There's no certainty and that, for me, a person who suffers with extreme OCD, is the absolute worst. We crave it like a fish for water, we need it in our lives in order to survive. Our entire brain function depends on the certainty and it's screwing up my entire mind.

Like a lot of people, i've been put on furlough. This means that the government pay 80% of my wages in order to help the business I work for to survive. And god, do I pray that it survives. The upside is I still get paid, woop de doo, but the downside is that i'm legally not allowed to work, meaning my days are filled with nothing but time.

This should be great, getting paid to do nothing? Who the hell wouldn't want that every now and again? But, no. My head has been on a mission to pull me down since day one of this bastard thing and i'm refusing to let it. I've put things in place, i'm making lists about what order to do my cleaning, lists about what order to do exercise, lists about what order to make me and Max lunch. There's blooming lists all around the flat, old ones, new ones, half arsed ones, just scattered around in dribs and drabs reminding me of the things I haven't yet done.

But it helps.

1. 7:30am - Wake up, make the bed, open the blinds. Make coffee's and have breakfast.

2. 8:30am - Clean flat. The whole flat. Tidy living room, wash pots, wipe down the kitchen sides, put a wash on, put clothes in the dryer, put clothes on bedroom floor in washing basket.

3. 10am - Sit down for 15 minutes.

4. 10:15am - Do 10 minutes ab workout followed by whatever day of Adrienne's 30 day yoga challenge on YouTube.

5. 11am - Shower, do hair, do makeup, get ready.

6. Midday - Figure our what is for lunch, pop on some shit day time television, normally Loose Women at this time and chill and have a cuppa.

7. 1pm - Get out laptop. Look, look, look for something to do. Free online courses? Learn a new hobby? Learn a new skill? Learn a new language? Do something for 2 hours!

8. 3pm - Make a cup of tea and do some jigsaw puzzle. Currently on the dog puzzle, taking it's time to complete.

9. 4:30 - 5pm - Think about what to make for dinner. Start to prep.

10: 6pm - Chill the fuck out for a bit. Then make dinner.

11. 7pm onwards - Watch some shit telly with a cup of tea, all night long.

They're not filled with much, but they make me happy and they help to try and keep my head on the straight and narrow. There's not much room for the mind to wander, even though OCD doesn't care about that. If he wants to wander, he'll screw up the plans for the entire day, doesn't give a flying shit.

But i'm sick of pondering on the negative, it's time to be positive about things, time to think about when these times are over and all the fun things we're going to get to do. I get to see my family and god do I miss them. To be able to go see my nan and my grandma and just give them a big, massive hug and kiss. Imagine how good that is going to be, that's what is getting me through.

Think of the good that is to come and keep on smiling :)

how to
Like

About the Creator

Amy Wildsmith

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.