Lifehack logo

Is Black Friday worth the headache?

Read on to find out!

By AlexaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Is Black Friday worth the headache?
Photo by Hanson Lu on Unsplash

Is Black Friday Worth the headache?

Black Friday has a mixed reputation.

I've heard more negative comments about this specific day than positive. I'm going to try and not be biased towards this wild day. I am going to share some experiences I have personally had. Black Friday does have pros and cons.

Growing up, we weren't as privileged as most people. My family lived below the middle class category. I'm grateful for everything my mom did for us. Even though we didn't have extravagent and luxurious holidays, my mom made it feel like we were having the best holidays ever. She never let us see how stressed she was. I don't know how she did it, but every holiday was magical because of her.

We were kids and we were grateful to get presents, but we were more grateful for the love she poured into making sure we had wonderful holidays. Now that I'm a mom, I don't know how she stayed so strong.

You're probably questioning why the hell I just told you all of that. Well, Black Friday was the light at the end of my mom's tunnel. I see that now. She couldn't afford to give us the fancy electronics or name brand clothes. Black Friday made that possible for her.

My mom turned it into a tradition. After Thanksgiving dinner, we'd get dressed and head down to the shopping outlets. It was always so crazy, but it was fun! Now, I rely on the day to buy Christmas presents.

Those are a bunch of positives to Black Friday, but there are, also, a lot of negatives. Relying on one day to get all of my presents is so stressful. Making sure I have enough money saved to do that is beyond difficult. I feel my mom's struggle. Not only that, but planning out what stores I need to go to for certain presents is almost impossible. I don't even attempt that anymore. Those things are always gone by the time I get to them. Now, I just go in blind and pick from the things that are there. So far, that has worked out in my favor.

Black Friday is a major headache, but it is a saving grace for the under privileged population, as well as the minimum wage population.

I do make enough to get presents, but I have a literal shopping addiction and saving money is impossible. To be able to participate in Black Friday, I do a lot of side jobs and online things.

One of my favorite ways, and probably the easiest, is an app called Inbox Dollars. I do break down the features of this app in another story, but I'll tell you a little about it here.

https://appview.inboxdollars.com?rb=78210452&ref_src=link

Inbox Dollars is known for being one of those annoying "survey" sites. Let me tell you, surveys are the devil. I used to attempt them, but they are tedious and they don't pay enough for the amount of time they take.

I'm so glad there are so many other features on Inbox Dollars. My favorite ways to make money on this app are the offers, coupons, and games. They give me coupons on things I already buy and then give me money for using them.

Sometimes, the games and the offers are bundled, which is not a bad idea. Over the past two days, I have made 80 dollars for just getting to a certain level in some games.

I'm not even kidding. Inbox Dollars is so worth the time. It pays my phone bill AND my car insurance!

You can find those moneymakers in my other stories. I go into more detail in those!

Good luck and Happy Holidays!

how to
Like

About the Creator

Alexa

All sides of Alexa revealed.

You won't see this side of me anywhere else!

Things you can expect: advice, experiences, life tips, how-to, and Dear Alexa.

Need advice? Email me & your story will be posted within 24 hours!

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.