Lifehack logo

How to remove a splinter from your foot

How to remove stuff from your foot

By Ferrari KingPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

There are many ways to remove a splinter or some other object from your foot. One way is to use tweezers but sometimes the object will break and make it impossible to remove the splinter. I once had a splinter in my foot for several weeks since I could not remove it. What did I do to get rid of it you may ask. I took some tape (grey tape or any strong tape will suffice) and cut a piece to cover that portion of my foot. I then let the glue dry as I went about my business. I waited roughly fifteen minutes and then I removed the tape. I slowly peeled off the tape and once I got to where the splinter was there was mild pain. It was the same pain you would get whenever you walk on it. I made sure to pull the tape off slowly to make sure I got the splinter. After that I tossed the tape with the splinter. There was still some glue on the bottom of my foot so I had to clean that off but no more splinter.

Splinters can be really small and hard to see. Many will even break apart once you try to remove them. They may small but they hurt that crazy. After I removed my splinter, I also washed the area with soap afterwards to remove any bacteria and I suggest you do the same.

You can also use glue, but not instant glue to remove a splinter. Make sure you wash your hands first and the area you are applying the glue to. You will want to allow the glue to dry before you attempt to remove it. You want to pull slowly and evenly.

Another way to remove a splinter is with baking soda which I have not tried myself. You basically want to add ¼ teaspoon to enough water to make it a paste. You will then want to cover the splinter with the paste and add a bandage. You will then let it sit for twenty-four hours and remove the bandage and carefully wipe off the dried paste. The baking soda will make the skin swell and push out the tip of the invisible splinter. You may have to repeat this if you do not see the splinter.

You can also use white vinegar or apple cider vinegar. Set your foot in this stuff for fifteen minutes and the acidity of the vinegar will shrink the skin and expose the splinter. You may also have to soak your foot in warm water first and then the vinegar if it does not work the first time.

If none of that works you may have to seek medical help but for me the tape method worked. TO be clear I am not talking about Splinter from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, we are talking about the annoying type of splinters. Hopefully you will not need medical help.

Some plants have annoying ways of reproduction that will cause hard parts to get stuck in your foot which is actually what my splinter was. They are annoying and I recommend removing the plants that have this mess. Splinters are painful and can be hard to find. A magnifying glass and good lighting will help. Be careful how you handle boards and such and watch out for glass. Also, certain items you buy at the store have small parts that can get into your food. I do not know their names but I remember one as a child that was a porcelain angle and it had the long glass like things coming out. Almost every day I had something in my foot, so I am careful about buying such things. If you are buying something and it has small glass like projections coming out do not buy.

I hope this helped.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Ferrari King

I am Ferrari King and I enjoy writing short stories and playing games, BS in Molecular Biology. My other hobbies are working out, MMA and reading. Here is my wonderful LinkTree you should check for all links: https://linktr.ee/ferrariking

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.