Lifehack logo

How to Overcome Writer's Block

After Years of Injustice, What is Left to Lose?

By Seriously CaringPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

With invincible writer's shield and writer's sword,

from writer's phoenix ashes,

with endless love.

To overcome writer's block, you might have to struggle on, and wait it out.

You might have to let disbelief in and carry on with lack of faith...

Or you might just want to assess your fears, face them and master the art of bravery and reasoning of your worth over the worth of others, against all odds, criticism, and fears, and work with your deepest nightmares which face you with such adversity in the name of your own heart and what it means to you even against all there is in words against yours.

That's how I just felt for about 10+ years in a struggle to become someone, studied, tried, failed, and remembered having been better than that.

1. Truly analyze your real blockage (fears). Write them down, rule them out by reasoning against them.

2. Remove the fears of just being honest, just typing, just being strait forward, plain, or not enough.

3. Care about your writing as if other's are depending on your words, will like them, and will find you superior in judgement.

4. Believe in yourself as recovered, achieved, conquered, and in full force capable.

5. You can.

6. You will.

7. Find where you lost hope.

8. Write about reason to overcome that loss of faith.

9. Write about how there's no stopping you now.

10. Write about every reason to believe again in things you lost hope for (which you once loved).

I found a website called slice the pie. I have a Master's Degree (earned) in Creative Writing for Entertainment. I have 22 screenplay ideas to write, a novel series and a comic book series, and severe writer's block ever since I earned the degree. I must have blown fuses in my mind from over thinking things since I was a child and on through my B.A., and I barely took a break on up until the end of my M.F.A. program thinking about protagonists and how there has to be antagonism for anything to work in writing. In my battle and struggle for words to make impact, drive a motivating force of intensity and strike people with my words, I just finished the thoughts, but never felt capable of finding the words...

There I was with a Master's Degree in Creative Writing and sitting around waiting for words for three years. I was living in Hawaii right after I finished the degree, and I had plenty of sights to see, travelers to talk to, and thoughts to think. There were little daily lessons (somewhat like the one's which were really remarkable at their times when I was in school, and they made their impact already), but nothing seemed too significant any more. It was as if everything in the world had already been said and there was nothing more to say or even have to put into writing.

There I was on slicethepie.com (after the end of a live- in nanny contract through care.com), and some dog sitting or walking (through rover.com), and in need of the pocket change in exchange for some short (five- six sentence) review writing excerpts from reviewing music.

I was heart broken because I was also a musician and had almost given up on love and all the drama associated with making any valuable points too... but I used to be a musician and I had a Degree in Creative Writing, so there I went imagining I was a hit music critic with words worthy enough to judge who dared think they could play.

The songs were funny, and slow, robotic, and droll, and I mustered the courage to be honest in my reviews. Then a song came on and it hit the heart strings. My fingers tapped on the keyboard of my laptop like they used to on a piano... it had been a long time since I played music too.

I really started think about the words like they were meaningful, and listened for something from the artist for that reason to see if they deserved those words. The songs sang on and the voices grew angelic and rhythmic, and the beats and rhythms became harmonic, symphonic, and majestic. I started typing words like "amusing," and "powerful," and the word "passionate" was a big deal to me to have typed... and to have been my judgement call of that word use for that song. I kept listening and typing on, and the music made me feel the encouragement to type on and feel inspired to write again... and maybe even one day dare to believe in myself as a musician again too.

This site has an invite a friend code: I highly recommend it!

My code is: U9B5BC19

It's 100% free to sign up and actually pays you to write immediately upon signing up. Just listen to music and write little reviews/ provide ratings, and the small change 0.09 cents- 0.23 does wrack up rather quickly. Within a few days, you should have $10, a week of fun use (to listen to music), and earn $20.

It's one of those sites that allows a friend code and it really gives you some money after a lot of reviews (it's all change at a time).

So far I added up $35, but the experience was priceless.

https://www.slicethepie.com/join/U9B5BC19

POEM: IN SWEET RECOVERY FROM LONG TERM WRITER'S BLOCK

Opening a long closed heart is like:

After years of torment torture and pain,

a final stop to the end of it's reign.

Lighting a torch in a dark cave after years of seeing no real light,

with deep water below, jumping off despite the great height.

Slaying the beast who guarded you heavily against true love,

official release of a plain white dove.

Making a stand on stage after years of stage freight,

seeing eyes wide open, a shooting star at night.

Crying for the right reason,

freshly built homes after a raging stormy season.

Again, playing a piano,

holding onto pain for years, and having just let go.

Painting an actual work of art,

being back renewed finally at the start.

Writing a story,

trying not to worry.

Holding a real baby,

thinking "I really will," after only thinking "maybe."

It's like starting a new life...

after loss of everything that was right.

Beautiful grand re-opening,

this time, no stopping hoping.

Care and devotion,

deeper than the ocean.

After care in everything,

re-evoking our caring decree.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.