Lifehack logo

How I Plan to Handle the Vocal Glitches

Wait, that's not right...

By S. FrazerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5
Photo by Yan Krukov

I've seen this problem pop up a few times in the Facebook groups, and I haven't seen a fix for it yet, so this is just one idea for a temporary solution to whatever's going on with Vocal.

Sometimes Vocal has problems. Things don't upload properly, glitches occur. I don't know, tech stuff.

Recently, it would seem that some published stories are not matching the final versions that were submitted by their authors. Instead, former drafts—or parts of old drafts—are being approved and sent out into the world. Yikes.

Unfortunately, this glitch can seriously affect the way our stories are received. It can change the titles, the images, and the contents. And even the slightest change to any one of those things can drastically affect the number of views, likes, and tips a story generates.

This has now happened to me a couple of times. When published, my stories have maintained the placeholder title I gave them when I first started writing. So when I share these links, the titles that appear are not the titles I had ultimately submitted for approval, but ones I had decided not to use.

Some of my temporary titles were simply the names of whatever Challenges they were submissions for; others were stupid ideas I wouldn't want associated with my final product. I got lucky with the ones that came out wrong. I shudder to think of the embarrassing throwaways that could have been revealed.

I didn't initially have this problem; I wasn't plugging stories into Vocal drafts until I had finished editing them in Microsoft Word. But I've since started writing my stories on Vocal itself, which means a lot of edits, a lot of changes, and a lot of risk for something to come out wrong.

So here's my solution: If you're someone who writes and edits on Vocal, create a new story when you finish your draft. Transfer the final version of everything to a brand new draft and submit that. That way, there's no old content for your submission to revert back to. You can then delete the original draft. (Also keep a copy of each story in Word, just in case.)

This isn't a method I've tested (but will on this story), but I assume that it will do the trick while Vocal figures things out. It seems a rather obvious answer, but it's likely a simple, relatively quick way to ensure that this particular glitch won't affect your work.

A similar problem that I've seen come up is where a story is published with completely different images from anything the author ever used. I haven't personally experienced this issue, and I doubt that the solution I posit here would do anything to solve it.

If you're still having problems, you can contact Vocal's support staff, and they should be able to go in and fix the error. In my experience, these responses are pretty quick and helpful.

One way to contact Vocal for help is by emailing them directly at [email protected]. You can also check out their support page, which has comprehensive answers to common questions. You can submit a formal request for assistance here.

Hopefully Vocal will be able to fix whatever is causing these errors. In the meantime, we can try to mitigate the risk to our stories and take measures to ensure that the final product our readers see is the one we worked so hard to perfect.

If you have any suggestions for how to navigate these issues, please share them in a story of your own or leave a post on the Vocal Media Creators Hub Facebook page!

Check out some of my other stories here:

how to
5

About the Creator

S. Frazer

She/her • 29 • Aspiring writer

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.