Lifehack logo

How I Fixed My Life By Building Systems

I was close to a nervous breakdown

By Jonathan PeykarPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

It was a cold night, and everything felt dead.

My eyes turned red. I could barely open them.

My body has started trembling with sudden moves throughout the day- for a week now.

I remember thinking, “here goes another night with horrifying sleep.”

I’ve been working on this business for almost three fucking years,

only to realize I don’t want to do client work anymore.

All that time, energy, and money spent… for almost “nothing.”

I think I was on the verge of a nervous breakdown.

I had to stop and re-think my life.

Since then, I’ve rebuilt my life to a point where I feel a lot better, I LOOK a lot better, I’m in much better shape, and most importantly, I’m much happier.

Here’s how I did it.

The Concept Of Building Systems In A Business

Most digital business owners start by doing EVERYTHING by themselves. They do sales, delivery, client support, hiring, everything. But to grow a business efficiently, you need to build processes, aka systems, so that others can do the work for you.

You do that by taking a specific task and breaking it down into sub-tasks. You then write a document that describes step-by-step how to do that specific task, A-Z.

The beautiful thing is you can apply this principle to every area of your life. If something isn’t working, that’s probably because its system is broken, and you need to rebuild it.

Creating SOPs; “Standard Operating Procedures”

That’s a simple document that describes how to do a specific task within the company. It’s structured in a clear, A-B-C fashion. Clear enough to hand it over to a new employee- and let him run with his new job. Let’s go over an example.

Example: Building A System For Reducing Anxiety

Here’s what I did. I broke down “Anxiety” into a couple of factors:

1.Sleep

2.Exercise

3.Diet

The last one might be subjective, but you get the idea. I then continued breaking down each one of these factors into smaller parts. Let’s go with Sleep. I wrote down what came to mind when I thought about what makes a great sleep.

A- A consistent sleeping schedule

B- Not using technology one-two hours before I go to bed

C- Winding down and not doing anything mentally demanding beforehand

D- What I eat for supper

E- Meditation/stretching/exercising

After I had a rough outline, I’ve built an SOP document for it with clear instructions:

1. Eat supper no later than 7:30 PM

2. Don’t eat meat for supper

3. Shut down all technology at 9:15 PM

4. Then dim the lights

5. If it helps you relax, take a hot/cold shower

6. If you haven’t gone to the gym today, take a 20-minute walk

7. Consider meditating if you’re still not relaxed enough

8. Get into bed by 10:15 PM, not earlier

9. Wake up at 7:00 AM.

See how that works… easy enough. You might have to experiment, but you now have a clear process to fix the current system that isn’t working. You can do that with your sleep, work, gym, diet, habits in your life that you want get rid of, and more.

You can rebuild your life. You got this

Breaking down issues into more minor problems and then into detailed processes can help you deal with almost anything. If something isn’t working in your life, put on your magnifying glasses and break it apart. I believe you’ll be able to see clearly this way; thus, the solution will show up as well.

Go ahead and follow me :)

I try to pack value, entertain, and leave with a smirk on your face once you finish reading.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Jonathan Peykar

I write about relationships, life lessons, and self-improvement.

Get my free ebook, "Life Lessons From Getting Rejected by Hundreds Of Women"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.