Lifehack logo

Become a Pro at Public Speaking: 5 Hacks!

Dream job? Course interview? Present like a #boss in only 5 simple steps

By Kel HyndsPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like

The thought of speaking in public still makes my blood run cold.

Did you know? The fear of public speaking is #1 above all the known fears in the world!

Which means, I'm not alone—woo!

Now let's not pretend. I still struggle with this life skill on the daily. However, after a fair few academic and career presentations—some of which went better than expected, where others—let's just bury them in the distant past—I think I've uncovered some hacks that have so far worked pretty well for this naturally shy and nervous human being. They're not 100% foolproof but they have made the "leg-shaking" ordeal much easier to handle.

So, here's my five tried and tested hacks so you can become a better public speaker.

HACK #1: Learn how to laugh at yourself.

If you're like me and often find yourself plagued by insecure and negative thoughts, wide awake at night caring too much about what others think about you, then this is a great hack to master. Learning how to laugh at yourself can really help overcome embarrassment and worry. I've learnt that if I don't learn to shake off my awkwardness and mistakes by laughing at them, then guaranteed, somebody else will.

As a highly sensitive person, I often take everything personally and admittedly I bruise easily. When others have laughed at, mocked or attacked me, feelings of shame and worthlessness have often driven me to just give up, perhaps cry and refuse to face my weaknesses and attackers. Public speaking may still be a weakness today, but I now make a effort to challenge my overthinking and negative thoughts by imagining that my audience are laughing with me, rather than at me. When I stumble over a word, draw a blank or begin to feel shaky during a speaking engagement, I just take a breath, brush it off, smile and tell myself that it doesn't matter internally and move on.

It's not the end of the world. Everybody stumbles.

HACK #2 Watch Your Mouth! - practise pronunciation.

If you have an upcoming speech that will be siginificant in length and content, where you'll be standing on a stage and just speaking a monologue, then it's a given that your audience will need to be engaged and actually hear and digest what you're saying.

I think a lot of times when we're nervous, especially during a speaking engagement, we're more prone to hurry, slur or waffle. Of course, rushing doesn't help your nerves or diction, so I think it's super important to prepare before you go on that stage by rehearsing. Not just rehearsal in general, but try standing in front of a mirror and watch your mouth whilst you speak. Take note of the way you pronounce your words. When you're conscious of what your mouth is doing, you'll be more aware of things like your volume, voice control and diction. Practise speaking "well" with attention to using good standard English. I feel that those who take their time to speak well drawn people in compared to those who mutter, or rush or slur.

HACK #3 Find the Supporter!

If you can bear to look people in the eye mid-speech, I've always found it helpful to find that one person in a crowd of dazed faces who, no matter what, retains an encouraging stance; whether it be by their smiling, nodding or just even returning eye contact. Now, if you're fortunate to find that supporter, be wise and don't get freaky - you don't have to fixate your attention on them throughout. Just at the point where you feel a wave of nausea, nerves or embarrassment, find them in the crowd, absorb their positive energy and keep it going!

HACK #4 Dreamin' of Babies

My next hack is, by far, the most unique. This works for me. Every. Single. Time. It may not be the one for everyone, but if you have my temperament, you may find it surprisingly effective!

It takes some imagination, but essentially, all you need to do is just imagine your audience as babies. Now, I know this idea sounds crazy, but give me a moment here to explain.

If you're like me, when you sight a little human being, your reaction is potentially a combination of admiration, cooing and joy.

Babies = cute. Babies = friendly. Babies = unintimidating.

Now, translate those thought equations over to your speech engagement and BAM! suddenly your unsmiling, uninterested, learned audience become approachable (a vision of cherubic faces)

Also, by imagining your audience as babies, you may begin to see your speech as more important. Babies are unlearned human beings, right? They don't know anything about life, the world, social norms, etc. They are completely dependent on their older and wiser counterparts to teach them how to be and exist. So, imagine your speech is a life lesson; imagine you're teaching something crucial. If you imagine an unlearned audience, you'll be able to hopefully present your ideas with more enthusiasm, confidence and determination.

HACK #5 It's All In The Hands (..and feet, and bladder...)

My last hack is relatively simple: Figure out what to do with your... hands. I am particularly guilty of owning extremely restless hands. When I'm nervous or embarrassed, I allow my negative energy to exercise itself through my extremities. No joke—sometimes I manifest with sweaty palms, shaky legs or even an urgency to pee! When my hands are manifesting, they want to touch and fiddle. My glasses, my hair, biting my nails—I become a wreck. I've found that exercising control over my hands by keeping them consciously still or creating a less crazy distraction, I've been able to deliver a better and calmer speech. Try holding onto a pen, electronic pointer or a folder if your hands get twitchy, or just find an easy stance to stand in whilst you speak. You'll look and project like a pro in no time!

Also, why not spend some time on the old YouTube and get familiar with public speakers. Watch presidents or motivational speakers and copy their behaviours—pay attention to poise and posture. Are their hands clasped, holding a mic, folded, loose? Are they standing still or pacing?

*

Remember, everyone is different. Pick and mix as you see fit and find the hacks that work best for you. Know that some of these may totally be a fail for you but a life changer for others.

So that's it! 5 very different ways to help you ace your next public speaking gig. I hope you find at least one that will transform your game.

Think positive, practise and just keep it going.

Good luck!

how to
Like

About the Creator

Kel Hynds

I chat all things : Life hacks, Motivation and... Feeding your belly! :P

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.