Lifehack logo

8 ways to not fail during the day

We tend to evolve, passing the basics, a foundation in one’s life as we grow.

By Govardhan PinniPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
3
8 ways to not fail during the day
Photo by JOSHUA COLEMAN on Unsplash

The hard lesson that hit one over the past year from when the pandemic began was to not take anything for granted, and much of it relates to physical and mental well-being, among everything else. I wasn’t anything different either in this.

I am no less when I ignored a few of them, only seeing the difference when I followed them back. Well! The mind is the soul, completely, but there’s a point to which you need to caress your body too. They are one, as long we live.

Here are those basics which are sweet yet sour when intended to try them -

Water isn’t Oxygen, hon’! I’m WATER, and you need me!

One would have heard about the necessity to intake 4.5 to 5.5 liters of water every day from a doctor, parent(s), or guardian. Now, take it from me too. Yes! I mean it very much.

When I was a child, I was forced into drinking lots of water with all the activities happening during the day. The amounts of water you intake are directly proportional to the tasks you do during the day, the majority of the time, and otherwise, unless it is a habit, it becomes hard.

As I grew, there was a significant reduction in the activities, and priorities changed. The tasks I do didn’t change a lot, but the activity that needed fuel, such as water, changed, which subconsciously didn’t move me to drink water.

There were times when I would sit for hours together without a sip. My efficiency fell during this time, and to remember, and there was a feeling of irritation—also, unpleasing need for food at odd intervals.

As time moved on and I introspected, there was quite a hush in mind. The one major part that differed was water.

As I gradually started building up on the intake, it now processes differently. I can see the difference clearly and consciously. My stamina increased to normal than before for my daily tasks.

Of course, as I start working out physically, I’ll be back up for a marathon! Up for a run?!

Now, you understand the essence of water. Respect Water!

Eye Rolling! Yes, I am an exercise!!

Hey! Enough of stalking, okay! Hey! I’m calling, snap of the sight, blink!!

From 8 years old, I have had glasses. It came as a surprise to many because none in the family had glasses before.

It couldn’t be worse than the imperfect sight beginning at (-)1.75 for each eye.

I do remember a neighbor making me do an exercise of eye-rolling after the doctor’s visit. It’s been long, but it’s just one of those things I remember.

I have been continuing this for a long time, and the insane relief it gives immediately is second to nothing.

When I focus on something for a particular time interval, forgetting to blink very much and feel a little stress on the eyes, this has been my go-to for breaking the tension.

5 mins walk nothing short of a half marathon!

The busy schedule of one’s daily life has made us stick to one place, causing the body to deteriorate faster. We’ve become lazy to move an inch and stretch out. Here’s to seeing what happens when you don’t stretch — ALERT.

A couple of years ago, say 6 years, if I recall correctly, I started the habit of taking short walks in between work and among other things. I just started this out with colleagues at work, and it became a habit in daily life with the joyful side.

But after the pandemic began, Vivek and I went walking in the early morning every day. I think we did that for quite many days, consistently until the second wave of pandemic broke, and we restricted ourselves to home.

Now, I very much enjoy these walks even when alone on the terrace. Surprisingly, I don’t use music while walking, and rather I observe my surroundings. Call it an obsession to observing or anything you feel as!

Oh! Who’s Vivek? He’s a human, the closest human I know? No offense to others.

10 mins of meditation a day is SUPREME!

Meditation isn’t a conclusive approach to calming oneself, but it’s something I picked up from school. It flushes out the irregular thoughts and colors and takes me to a particular instance many times. Of course, I don’t have a photographic memory, but I can recall the incident with the person or a situation I actually spent time with.

If there’s one wish I can make or something I would love to achieve at all heights, I think I would ask for rigorous focus through meditation which could take me to incidents from when I was a toddler and anything I think of. There are few friends to meet from back then and the exact moments to cherish.

Power Nap finds the lost beetles you were searching for!

I have been a big fan of the power naps, and now it's become an integral part of my life. The increase in productivity has been multifold, and it also eases the little stress on the continuous usage of yourself during the day and the tasks.

Surprisingly, not many agree with this. One of the common questions that comes to me is how you time your sleep for a short while and avoid turning to actual sleep. Well! Consistency is the answer, along with sleep time being real during the actual hours of sleep. Start today, and continue and you wouldn’t really ask it again, rather echo it all around.

Food Intake is a winner!

Everyone questions me about the food intake; basically, the quantum I eat, but what’s missed out is the number of times I eat.

The small quantities of different foods multiple times keep me active and less lethargic. It’s a kind I follow, and it has been working for me really well.

Brushing Twice a Day showers light in you!

One of the best things I have been disciplined with is to begin the day by drinking ample amounts of water, brushing the teeth before I take anything else, and brushing again before I sleep.

This helped me a lot, among other things, to have a peaceful sleep, which churns out to be a peaceful tomorrow.

One quick observation I made here was the days I didn’t brush at night were the ones that spoiled my sleep hours and also didn’t make me feel fresh. Certainly, the odor differs.

Quick Recollection of the Day, and Night for some!

Every living being on Earth has 24 hours and nothing more and nothing less.

While few call its beautiful, few oddly call it worse, and likewise, different instances happen. But there’s one more thing as common, the takeaways from the day.

The majority of the days, I try to reminisce about what happened during the day before I sleep. I resolve the conflicts that I can and carry the right things ahead to evolve them to better. It’s a constant cycle that kept me on my toes.

Recap: the ways to not fail during the day

  1. Drink an ample amount of water and stay hydrated. It kills the sugar rush.
  2. Roll your eyes regularly. You can roll the sleeves and joints later.
  3. Walk the Walk, the body, and you need it.
  4. Meditation is the real rockstar.
  5. Power Nap is the garnishing one needs.
  6. Food Intake is a priority, not an option.
  7. Brush twice a day; you wouldn’t need an alarm.
  8. A quick recollection and summarizing the day’s moments.

Subscribe here to stay updated. Curating experiences from within.

how to
3

About the Creator

Govardhan Pinni

I write on Creativity, Finance, Life and General, and narrate them in observational scenarios!

I go by "govipinni" on Social Media!

Gigs: [email protected] | Newsletter: [email protected] | Presence: linktr.ee/govardhanpinni

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.