Lifehack logo

5 Tips to Reduce Your Alcohol Consumption

I worked in the alcohol industry for over 8 years. Anything from sport bar staples to beer hubs to tequila bars where the margaritas are at least $18 dollars. I’ve seen a lot, done a lot and drank a lot. Today I celebrate 23 months of being able to manage my drinking and 23 months of narcotics sobriety 🎉. Here’s 5 tips I’ve learned to help anyone start living a healthier lifestyle.

By Maria SanchezPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
1
5 Tips to Reduce Your Alcohol Consumption
Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

Saying that you don’t drink can be a social crusifix. While I’ve notice tides changing to a more holistic future, the drinking industry isn’t going anywhere anytime soon. Whatever your reasons maybe for quitting or lower how much you drink, I’m extremely proud of you for taking the first step. Knowing that you need to stop.

With the holidays fast approaching, I want to be able to empower you to make decisions and choices that support your journey. This alcohol and sugar filled time of year can wreck months of progress you’ve made so I’ve complied this list to better equipt you this season and moving forward!

One KEY thing I want everyone to realize is that you do not need to hit rock bottom, you don’t need to be drinking vodka at breakfast or rum from a brown paper bag facing foreclosure to admit to yourself that your drinking may be a bit out of your control. Maybe its the 3 glasses of wine after work, maybe the case of beer or claws you consume all weekend, every weekend. If you know you turned on the wrong street, you don’t keep driving it till rock bottom. You course correct. Let’s get you on the right course.

I also want you to know your not alone. I’ve been there, family and family have been there, celebrities, your boss, your land lord, everyone has over done it before. It happens, its how to choose to move foward that determines how much alcohol is affecting and meddling into your life.

By Kelsey Chance on Unsplash

TIP #1 FIND YOUR WHY.

Why do you want to stop drinking at your current rate? Is it financial reasons, medical? Health related, spiritual, a test of you willpower. Whatever the reason is it has to matter to you. The reason you choose to put the bottle down has to be extremely personal or else why does it matter if you stop? The reason why, can change and evolve just as you do. My “why” statment changes every few months. In the beginning it was for my partner. I was destroying myself with prescription drugs and alcohol, I didn’t care about myself or my health so why would I stop drinking for myself. I stopped drinking for him. He‘s been an incredible support system and he’s someone that I don’t want to let down. I through myself put me sneaking a drink on the same caliber of offense as cheating. I‘m not a cheat so I don’t need to sneak drinks. Now my reasons are geared more toward myself. I don’t want to feel sick, I don’t like the way my skin looks when I drink and honestly I’d rather have the money I spend on alcohol go towards day trips and savings. Whatever your reasons, it had to be enough to be enough to say no when offered a drink.

*mental bonus tip* Only smokers sneak cigarettes. If you’re a non smoker you always deny the offer of one because you don’t smoke. So why would you sneak a drink if you‘re no longer a drinker?

By Mor Shani on Unsplash

TIP # 2 FIND your EXCUSE.

Drinking, unlike many other addictions, is accepted, expected, and usually readibly available. Yikes! How do you over come something with such high social implications.

Deflecting- “Oh, just taking a break, I haven’t been feeling well from it lately.” It’s concise, doesn’t notify the person of your incoming sobriety and because you mentioned not feeling well your least likely to get peer pressured into giving in.

Pass The Blame - holiday parties and gatherings can be unavoidable places. If you‘re offered a drink, pass the blame. You know your why and if you’re uncomfortable sharing it because it is so deeply personal, there is no shame in redirecting your reason. A go to reason for myself is antibiotics! “no thanks, I’m on an antibiotic.” Stops people in there tracks, if they are unaware, antibiotics put a lot of strain on your liver and its not advisable to drink alcohol while taking them. It can make you extremely sick. Boom your in the clear for well over two weeks from anyone who is trying to get you to drink. If your family or friends know about any psychiatric diagonosis, express that alcohol is know to affect mental symptom, often for worse, you’re taking the time to figure out what works for you.

Good Ole’ Honesty - “No thanks, I don’t drink.” While this statement has 96% of the time has lead to the other person asking “why?”. Saying something like ”personal reasons” or “I don’t feel the need too” can go a really long way. It may not stop people from continuing to offer but you were honest and upfront with them. If they can’t respect you and your choices, alcohol may not be the only thing you need to cut out.

By Lucaxx Freire on Unsplash

TIP #3 FIND YOU HOME AND STORE PURCHASED REPLACEMENTS

Quiting alcohol shouldn‘t feel limiting and its where a lot of people fall flat on their face. You have to replace your drinking habit before the cravings hit. Especially if you a household drinker it’s important to get rid of it, throw it out, give it away, sell it whatever you have to do to get it out of sight. Next prepare by stocking up your house with options for yourself.

My tried and true favorites are flavored sparkling water, kombucha, hot and cold teas and coffee, Kava, lemonade, juice and bottled Coca-cola.

A can of super cold LaCroix or a chilled bottle of kombucha usually cures the craving for beer. I’ve noticed rarely do I crave beer flavor but I do crave cold carbonation that isn’t a sweet soda. With beer I want to feel quenched, refreshed, and light. Try to find a drink that hits the mark for you on both carbonation and flavor. I recommend Kombucha for those that crave beer flavor. Go for more neural and herbal flavors to taste more yeast and bontanical reminisant of beer.

Wine is a tough one to replace, there’s nothing quite like it. However fruit juice, lemonade and Yerba mate can soothe cravings. When we drink wine at home we look for a way to destress. Things like reading, exercising, swmiming, creating art or finally getting your hands dirty with that hobby you’ve been debating on starting. These are all amazing subsitutes. If you feel like your drinking problems is sourced from stress, I’d talk to a medical professional about it. No shame in asking for help and you shouldn’t have to go through it alone. Especially with underlying problems like stress, injury, loss, and grief where alcohol is only a symptom of the problem, not the cause.

Liquour! The fun one if you ask me. The first step to overcoming this one is proper hydration. Second is what kinda of drinker are you, fruity cocktails and mixer drinks are easy simply omit for juice or lemoade and make as usual. Frozen drinks? Frozen fruit and an N/A sour mix will work wonders.

If you drink liquors straight or in shots. Switch to strong N/A drinks. Nothing is more soothing to the soul then a handcrafted vanilla latte IMO. Having coffee and espresso either hot or cold alters how you feel and has a strong bold flavor, there are drinking vinegars and tonics that may be worth exploring if your particularly struggling. If quitting drinks it seriously messing with you I would recommend CBD products to help with stress and relaxing. This option is best discussed with a medical professional.

Try and experiment what works for you. My elite team is Pamplemousse LaCroix, cranberry juice with soda water and lime, a cold 16 fl oz bottle of coca cola, and rich hot latte with extra foam. Any of these I’m more then happy to drink and now I prefer them.

By Matt Botsford on Unsplash

TIP #4 TRUST THE PROCESS.

You will be shocked at how different you look when you stop drinking. Alcohol is really nothing if not empty calories. It can cause unnecessary weight gain, it dehydrates your skin and organs, can cause break out, disrupt the absorbing of minerals, make you ultimately not you best. I promise, you may feel like your best version of yourself is after a few drinks, it’s not. Falling over, passing out, vomiting on yourself of others, not rememeber what you say or do. None of those things are what I remember about the people in my life. Nor have I ever seen a drunk friend and though this was the best version of them. So why do you think that of yourself? I highly recommend taking before photos and progress photos and to see the changes for yourself.

Consistency is key. It’s okay to mess up. It’s okay to say eff it and have a margarita on your birthday and a glass champagne during your sister’s wedding. Having a countable amount of drinks thorughout the year can be all you need to manage and control your consumption. Remember everyday is a chance to a pile of days you didn’t drink. Tip the scale in that direction and your working toward the right way.

Here‘s Mine!

Before : When I Drinking Daily

really stubborn dry skin with breakouts

really dry hair no matter what I did,

puffy, tired looking eyes.

Really depressed and really stressed

After: a year of sobriety 🤯 can you believe it! I not only look like different people, I feel like it too.

my skin feels and looks much better

I can actually cope with stress and triggers

feeling happier, healthier , and more vibrant.

TIP #5 KNOW YOUR ORDER!!!

When you go out to eat, it can feel like walking into the lion’s den. Brightly illuminated bottles long the bar wall, cold taps, drink list of incredible handcrafted cocktail, and freshly tap kegs of seasonal beers. This can be a massive test of personal will power. You know about water, soda and tea but if you’re anything like me, you don’t want that. We have all that stuff at home from tip #3. As a bartender I’m here to hopefully close the bridge of service.

First off - Just ask. “What Non-alcohol options are available from the bar?” Many modern bars and restaurants stock both gluten free and non-alcoholic beers in their coolers to better accommodate guess. Maybe bars also stock syrups and concentrates that can really level up your soda water or lemonade. If the bar carries monin brand syrup, you hit the jackpot. Lavender lemonade, blood orange sprite, peach tea, pomegranate coke. Combinations are endless and you can consult your servers and bartenders for recommendation.

Fresh N/A Kava from tap at Botaniacal Brewing Co in Cape Coral, FL

If none of these are available, no worries! I still got you! Here are some tasty N/A recipes that any bar should be able to replicate.

Very Berry Coladas

Ask your server to blend together Pineapple juice, coconut purée and fresh strawberry and serve with a pineapple wedge. (Check if pina coladas are on the menu! Bars have strawberry either as whole fruit or as purée, and both will work. Very sweet!

Pineapple Whoa-jito

If you see mojitos on the menu feel free to ask for muddle mint, lime, pineapple juice with simple syrup and soda water. different versions can be made and you can ask your bartender for more details.

Perfect Punch

Mix together equal pineapple, orange, and cranberry juice, Top with sprite and lime.

The Metropolitan - N/A riff On the Cosmo

In a tin shake 3oz cranberry juice, a lime, and a splash of sour and water. Shake and serve in Martini glass.

Win Martini

3oz of Lemonade shaken with mint and cucumbers served in a martini glass with a sugar rim

Options are truly endless and don’t forget the tried and true classics like grape wines, sparkling apple ciders, and O’douls.

Lastly and totally off the books, my best tip for you is to believe in yourself, believe you‘re ultimately doing the right thing for you and your health.

good luck.

Your trusted, super non judgy BBF who only want you to grow and flourish,

Maria 💕

how to
1

About the Creator

Maria Sanchez

A fan of literature and art. Collector of tea cups that have gone cold, stained paintbrushes, and memories of this precious life.

If you wanna change the word, change yourself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.