Lifehack logo

5 Tips to Help Put Off Procrastination

Helpful Tools Included

By Josie ElizabethPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Procrastination is something we all struggle with sooner or... later in our lives. As a college student or just a person with a busy life, it is important to know how to put procrastination in its place. Life can obviously get hectic at times so here are 5 Tips that I have found to be helpful while trying to go against my nature of procrastination and get things done!

1. Make a schedule and stick to it.

Having an organized schedule is a crucial factor in beating procrastination. I use two different tools to help me keep track of due dates and deadlines, my daily planner and a wall calendar.

These planners make it simple and easy to stay organized and on top of things with daily and monthly planning areas. They also have many options for design and organization style available.

As a personal Buzzfeed Try Guys fan, I figured why not have a calendar I enjoy looking at telling me valuable upcoming dates. A wall calendar is useful because it is always open and always displaying the important information you have marked on it. You can't miss a due date when it is staring at you every day!

2. Put your phone down.

I know it is a lot to ask, but if you are like me, your phone is probably your biggest distraction when trying to be productive. You can simply turn your phone onto silent or airplane mode, or download a helpful focusing app.

The Forest App not only motivates you to stay on task, but it also helps a great cause, the Earth! The app keeps you off your phone entirely or off certain websites you restrict yourself from on your computer. When you open the app, a tree is planted and will grow virtually as long as you stay focused. If you leave the app or go on an off-topic website, the tree will die! If you stay away long enough, the Forest App crew will plant a real tree for all your hard work.

3. Find someone to hold you accountable.

I'm sorry I have no helpful link for this tip, but it is nonetheless a crucial part of avoiding procrastination. Whether it is your parent, friend, roommate, or classmate, knowing that someone will hold you to your plan is good motivation to get done what you have to do.

4. Don't over think your workload.

I know I struggle with spending too much time thinking about everything I have to do rather than just doing it. I have found it extremely helpful to make lists.

When you write out everything you have to do it seems much less daunting, plus you get the satisfaction of checking off things as you complete them.

5. Your future self will thank you.

Just think about how happy you will be once you finish everything you had to do. You won't have to deal with the stress of rushing to complete an assignment the night before it is due. Instead, you can have some down time for once!

Beating procrastination is a long time struggle. Even with these tips, I find it hard to stay on top of everything I have to do. Just keep in mind that it is mind over matter when it comes to procrastination, try not to let it run your life.

Peace, Love, and Happiness

advice
Like

About the Creator

Josie Elizabeth

I have too many thoughts to keep them trapped in my head.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.