Lifehack logo

3 Ways to Get the Most Out of Your Procrastination

You should be doing something else right now, but that's okay

By Maria Shimizu ChristensenPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
3 Ways to Get the Most Out of Your Procrastination
Photo by Adrian Swancar on Unsplash

I used to just crastinate. Then I turned pro.

Writing this little article isn’t what I’m supposed to be doing. I have other, higher priority items on my to-do list. Things that are more important and higher earning. I just really don’t feel like doing any of them right now. We all feel that way sometimes, right? And there’s nothing wrong with that.

There’s a difference between putting things off and delaying really important tasks, and the truth is that nothing I’m not doing is critical. That matters, and what I want to address is the gray area between an intense, type-A, laser-like focus on work, and debilitating procrastination that makes you miss or fail deadlines, tasks, and assignments. Both scenarios might be extreme enough to require professional help and are out of my purview.

But, if you’re looking for a somewhat guilt-free way to avoid doing something you should be doing, I’ve got your back. Your level of guilt will vary depending on the importance of the task(s) you’re avoiding and your tolerance for guilt. Personally, I try to not regret anything.

Put It in Perspective

If you’re reading this, the possibility exists that you should be doing something else right now. You’re procrastinating. On the other hand, by reading this article you might be learning to see procrastination in a different way, and you might learn a coping strategy. Sorry, results are never guaranteed.

Since I believe in full disclosure, what you’re definitely doing is helping to make my existence as a writer possible since I’m paid when people read. Also, and even more important, reading can be really good for your health. Seriously. Healthline notes that reading often:

improves brain connectivity

• increases your vocabulary and comprehension

• empowers you to empathize with other people

• aids in sleep readiness

• reduces stress

• lowers blood pressure and heart rate

• fights depression symptoms

• prevents cognitive decline as you age

• contributes to a longer life

So, yes, you’re procrastinating, but you’re also gaining some important benefits. If you find yourself starting to procrastinate, start reading. Sometimes I find that reading helps me shift my focus and break the mental block that was holding me back and caused the procrastination in the first place. After a chapter, or article, I’m ready to get back to work.

Get Other Things Done

Because I am a chronic procrastinator, my toilet stays immaculately clean, and most of my closets are always organized. (Except the one with the Christmas stuff in it. That one is too scary).

The point is that when I’m doing something other than the thing I’m procrastinating about, it’s usually something else I would eventually procrastinate about. I don’t like cleaning toilets. If I had it planned and scheduled I would put off doing it.

Just can’t get started on something? Do a load of laundry, go buy groceries, or weed the garden. Just pick something that’s on your to-do list. Even though it’s much lower on your priority list, it still needs to get done. I wouldn’t make a habit out of it, but when you’re really stuck, you don’t have to be stuck wallowing in guilt.

Set Yourself Up for Success

I find it a lot easier – and generally more fun – to plan for the things I need to do than to actually do many of them. Best intentions, and all that. That doesn’t mean I don’t get things done. Eventually. But, having a list of tasks, to-do lists, written goals, and planning pages created ahead of time really helps with accomplishments and completions.

Create a budget. Balance your checkbook. Read articles on how to avoid procrastination in the first place. Make a plan for rewarding yourself when you finish a task you’ve been procrastinating about.

Takeaways

Don’t beat yourself up for procrastinating, because guilt and low self-esteem can make it even worse. Put it in perspective.

Do something else you’ve been procrastinating about.

Set goals. Make plans. Try to create a distraction-free environment that promotes getting things done.

The main point is that procrastination is common and happens to most of us. Sometimes the best thing we can do is go with the flow.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Maria Shimizu Christensen

Writer living my dreams by day and dreaming up new ones by night

The Read Ink Scribbler

Bauble & Verve

Instagram

Also, History Major, Senior Accountant, Geek, Fan of cocktails and camping

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.