Lifehack logo

10 Energy Hygiene Rituals for Empaths

If you’re an empath most likely you’ve been told many times in your life to stop being so sensitive, not to cry, stay strong, and generally considered a weirdo.

By Maja SavicPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
2
10 Energy Hygiene Rituals for Empaths
Photo by Matteo Di Iorio on Unsplash

For most of my life I thought I needed to stay strong, never cry in public and just keep it together. Interestingly enough I have actually had people mistake me for a distanced and cold person, which was so far from the truth they will never know. While I was trying to keep myself from crying in front of others because I felt so damn much, they thought I was being rude and arrogant. Keeping it together is so hard when you’re an empath.

What I learned the hard way is that the worst thing you can do is — keep your emotions inside. This will most likely result in a very inappropriate and emotional outburst at the worst possible time and situation. When you bottle it all in, and you feel EVERYTHING, this will either come out or make you sick eventually.

It took me a long time to realize that “Highly Sensitive Persons” or Empaths exist and that there are things that can actually help you manage your energy better. So if you recognize yourself in this introduction, read on cause I want to share some tips with you that made my life so much easier, and hope it helps you too.

Before I begin I will just say — being an empath is actually a blessing, even though sometimes it may feel like a curse. Your ability to feel other people’s energies is a gift.

Never think there is something wrong with you.

You are special for a reason and I hope that the techniques mentioned below will help you embrace your unique nature.

What is Energy Hygiene?

You may wonder what the heck am I talking about, right? Well, to me clearing my energy is just as important as brushing my teeth or taking a shower — a basic hygiene routine that I need to do daily. Especially if I interact with other people.

As an empath, you feel and most likely take on other people’s energies, which can be quite draining! Your senses may also be quite enhanced, so your perception of life can be overwhelming. Just a trip to the mall or going out with friends can be exhausting.

Have you ever found yourself exhausted after just one outing or after a metro ride?

Well, if you have — you’re not crazy! It’s perfectly normal for empaths to feel this way. It’s just the way we are. However, if you manage your energy wisely you can function really well and even get the benefits of your gift!

So, let’s get to it!

Here are my top 10 Energy Hygiene Rituals:

l. CLAIM ALONE-TIME EVERY DAY

Personally, I think you need this every day, but if it’s impossible - do it as much as you need. Trust me, if you manage to spend some time alone without ANY interactions with other people and no outside distractions, you will have so much more energy. I would say, not even being in the same physical space with other people. This is so important I can’t even stress enough! Tell your significant other, family members, and friends this is something you need. Help them understand how important this is for you. If you do this, you WILL feel the difference.

2. SALT BATHS + SCRUBS

It’s not a secret that salt absorbs negative energy, and from my personal experience — it does help! I like to use Epsom salt and sea salt in my bathwater, combined with essential oils of choice, and do it whenever I feel I need a cleanse. Otherwise, I use salt scrubs in the shower to clear residue energy I feel on my body (you do feel it, trust me). I make these myself, combining sea salt with olive oil or coconut oil. Whatever you like, mix it and add essential oils of your choice. You’ll feel the difference. If you have a chance to swim in the ocean that's even better!

3. CLEANSING SHOWER

Again, water is super cleansing so I like to use it to clear my energy while cleaning my physical body. I visualize water washing away all the energy that isn’t mine and all that I no longer wish to hold on to. You can also visualize a color — white, golden, or violet — would be my choice, but I suggest you play with this and do whatever works for you.

4. SPEND TIME IN NATURE

Whenever you can, hug a tree, meditate in the park or simply have a walk to regenerate. Trees have a beautiful energy that can help you feel better and prana (qi) is purer in nature. I also found that gardening helps too, as you get the energy back from earth. So, you are cleansing and receiving new energy at the same time!

5. SHIELDING

I never leave the house without my energetic shield on. Especially if I use public transport or plan to interact with other people. I simply ask for protection, usually from Archangel Michael who is the protector, and visualize a golden white “egg” around me. I like to affirm: “Only loving thoughts, energy, and intentions can pass through this shield.” or something like “I am safe and protected.” This may seem simple but works every time.

Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

6. SMUDGING

For smudging, you can use palo santo, sage, or incense sticks of choice. I personally use Nag Champa as I love the scent and how it makes me feel. When I feel I have taken on a lot of negative energy I need to smudge myself from head to toe. I suggest you do it intuitively as you can’t really go wrong. I do upright or circular movements and work through my chakras.

7. SWEEPING

Imagine you had some dust on your coat and you wanted to sweep it off. This is the same movement! Sweep off negative energy downwards. You might feel residue on your hands after sweeping so make sure to wash hands with cold water after you do it.

8. VISUALIZATION

Similar to the visualization in the shower, sit in meditation and visualize golden white light coming from the top of your head and washing away everything that is stuck in your body, sending it down to Earth. This will also help with grounding, which I also recommend to help you feel balanced. Meditation in general helps!

9. DIGITAL DETOX

Turn off your phone and get off the internet regularly. Read a book instead or just relax. Receiving so many notifications and information from your devices can be draining. Turn on Airplane mode and watch your energy rise.

10. ENERGIZING BREATH-WORK / PRANAYAMA

Coming from a Yogic background I have found certain breathing techniques do wonders! For clearing energy from the body I like to use energizing breath-work such as Bhastrika Pranayama or Kapalabhati. Make sure to use these techniques in a safe place with your eyes closed and in shorter time periods, as they are quite powerful. I love that they clear your energy, yet energize you at the same time! This is super practical and easy to do anytime you need to feel better.

I have so much to share on this topic, but I hope this already gives you some ideas on how you can manage your energy wisely.

Finally, make sure to choose who you spend your time with. If some people are obviously draining your energy, limit your time with them and surround yourself with people that actually understand and support you.

When you manage your energy wisely you can improve your relations and thrive in your life with ease.

I have made some adjustments in my life and it made a huge difference. I use the above-mentioned techniques, claim time for myself, spend time with my chosen people, set clear boundaries, and give myself permission to FEEL whatever comes.

Honoring yourself is essential to maintain balance.

Today I work as a Holistic Coach and Healer, and I can tell you that I honestly wouldn’t be able to do my work if I didn’t do these things.

I am sending you loving support to stay strong and embrace your true nature.

Let me know if this helps and what technique you have found particularly useful.

how to
2

About the Creator

Maja Savic

Holistic Coach & Healer, Spiritual Mentor, Meditation & Mindfulness Teacher, Vocalist and Motivational Speaker based in Paris.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.