Journal logo

Writing; When and Where to Do It?

writing tips

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 months ago 4 min read
2
Writing; When and Where to Do It?
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Hi, it’s me again, and for this post, I will discuss something we writers often debate: when and where you should do it.

I know it’s a hot topic, but I promise no judgment. I’m just going to talk about the pros and cons.

Where to Write?

Photo by Peter Pryharski on Unsplash

So, where should you write? Some people will say at home, while others will say a coffee shop or library. Others might say outside in the fresh air.

And I have to say, all of these places sound appealing to me. So, here are a few choices:

Home

The biggest perk to writing at your house is that you don’t have to dress up to leave. You can kick back in your sweats, robe, or nothing at all if that helps your creative process.

The biggest downside is you can get distracted by other activities, such as TV or social media, especially if you don’t have a dedicated place to be creative.

Coffee Shop

Photo by Nafinia Putra on Unsplash

Who doesn’t want to write among other writers and feel more legit? I mean, sitting in a coffee shop carries a certain vibe associated with our people you can’t get from other places. Plus, the scent is always warm and enticing.

But like any public place, you risk someone stealing your items if you leave for the bathroom. And they might not let you stay without ordering something.

Library

Knowledge-wise, being nestled in a corner of a library is a writer’s paradise for finding information about whatever they’re writing about. After all, we are readers first.

Googling things doesn’t always provide the same satisfaction as discovering facts on a page. At least, that’s my opinion.

But you still will have to keep guard of your possessions.

Outside

Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

Ahh, the fresh air. It always has a way of relaxing the mind and helping you focus on whatever you’re doing. And you get to soak in that vitamin D, making anyone happy.

However, if you’re writing on a tablet or laptop, which most of us do, the sunlight can make it hard to see the screen, especially if you’re wearing shades or have transitions.

And finding a comfortable place to sit isn’t always easy. Not to mention, you won’t have an outlet to charge your device or Wi-Fi. But if you solve those problems, it can be a great writing session.

Where I’ve Written

Photo by Bruno Wolff on Unsplash

I’ve had quite a few places where I wrote, some better than others. However, my favorite isn’t even mentioned on the list I gave.

At School

While attending college before 2020 hit us, I would go to my school’s common area where students could chill between classes or after class. And with my headphones on, I would jam out to music and write on whichever Word doc I had inspiration for.

It worked very well for me, too. And it was easy since my brain was trained to focus there.

I’m not saying writing at home isn’t nice; having free food and taking bathroom breaks without worrying about my belongings is a perk.

But I often get distracted more quickly at home, either from my parents talking or my dog barking for no real reason.

My Kitchen Table

Then, I wrote at my kitchen table for a long time since I didn’t have a home office. It wasn’t the most convenient spot for anyone, especially my stepdad, who loves using the table for everything.

My “Office”

I only put that in quotes because while I do have a room, I only have one wall to claim while Mom’s outdoor office is being built. But it’s enough for now.

When to Write

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

The second issue is what time to do it: morning, noon, or night.

I’ve seen people ask this in my Facebook writing groups, and each is provided different answers. And like with the where, I will tell you the pros and cons of each time.

Morning

Photo by Chris Liu-Beers on Unsplash

This is when you will have the most mental energy and the least mental distractions. And it’s a calm time.

Unfortunately, not all of us are morning people or don’t have the schedule to section out a chunk of time to write.

Afternoon

We’re usually warmed up physically and mentally, our bodies and brains ready to go by this time of the day, but we aren’t drained yet. I would say this is the prime time to be artistic.

However, unless writing is your primary job, many of us have jobs we need to do, and even if you work from home, the afternoon is often when people work the most.

Night

Photo by Todd Diemer on Unsplash

When everything has settled down, and you are relaxed before sleeping. You might decide to write to wind down, or if you’re a night owl, to expel all those creative thoughts running through your mind.

But you might be too tired from your day to even think about writing, and that’s okay. We all have those days.

When I Like to Write

Photo by Luke Chesser on Unsplash

Although I’ve tried different times of the day, I usually write in the late morning/early afternoon, depending on how long my other routines take. I just find it easier to concentrate during this time, especially since it was the same time I wrote at school.

Or you might be the person who writes whenever they can, and possibly wherever. And if that works for you, I don’t think it’s an issue, no matter who says otherwise.

To Wrap Things Up

Well, I hope I’ve given you some ideas. Play around with each and see what works for you. But keep on writing!

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Subscribe for more content!

how to
2

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create anything from fiction to personal stories, poetry, and more. I'm also on Substack, Ko-fi, and Gumroad!

My Twitter(X) handle is @AmethystC99.

Visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.