Journal logo

Writing Process

...or at least how I see it

By Brenda KirklandPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Writing to me is a 6 step process to me before I even think about anything publishing related. I'll explain each 'phase' and what goes on in each.

Phase One---------Prewriting

Phase Two---------Writing

Phase Three-------Editing

Phase Four---------Rewrite/ Beta readers or critique partners

Phase Five----------Final Edit

Phase Six-----------Final Rewrite

Phase One- Prewriting

For me, prewriting is a long, boring, and at times aggravating process, but one that I find necessary in order to map out my thoughts clearly for when I get to the writing phase. I find it a necessary evil in order to have information that I need on hand to create a epic picture in one's head with my writing. During Prewriting, I go through a process of taking lengthy notes on anything and everything I might find important to the storyline; including but not limited to: Character worksheets, location notes, glossary terms (anything that I would need to define what it is to the reader), notes on different races if it's applicable, what kind of weapons, factions, conflicts there are in the story, and last but certainly not least the dreaded synopsis/ story outline. You guys should see the side bar of my scrivener project for Battle Mage's Choice (current WIP). That thing is huge with all of the notes I have done!

The Character Worksheets are to give me a clearer picture in my head for when I write the scenes that each character are in and how they should behave towards certain issues/ people. I go over their appearance, what they prefer to wear, who their family and friends are, the mannerisms, strengths, weaknesses, a small bit about their history, what they like to fight with (again if applicable). I also use these to help with any artwork I might have for the story (ex. book covers, character art, certain scenes, etc.).

Location notes I describe each location as well as I can so that I have a clear picture for when I do up drawings and maps for each location and so that I can describe them clearly in the stories that I write. In short this is the phase where I try to be as detailed as possible in explaining things and can add to it as I am writing. Some things I may be very basic and add to as I go and others I may be very complex with my notes.

Phase Two- Writing

This is where I incorporate everything that I have worked on in "Phase One" to create a story that hopefully others will like. I work on creating a environment that will make you senses and imagination work and hopefully create a epic picture in your head. I want to create a movie with my writing that will stick with you and pull you back and pull at your emotions.

I don't try to worry about doing a lot of editing at this phase as I will do the bulk of it in "Phase Three". If I do notice that something is spelt wrong I will change it to make it right, but as stated before a bulk of it will be within the next phase. I find doing editing during this phase makes it last way longer than it should. Anything I create in 'phase one' goes towards helping me with the description during 'phase two' and painting that said picture in your noggins.

I also try to maintain a writing schedule where for at least 1-3 hours depending on the day, I am undisturbed and can work on writing in peace. Having noise cancelling headphones also seem to help that. So most of my writing is done in the morning once I am caffeinated, awake, and ready to get at it!

Phase Three- Editing/Beta Readers

This is where I do the bulk of the editing and rearranging of things in preparation for the rewriting in 'Phase Four'. I also make notes for any adjustments I am going to make about adding or removing content during the rewrite. This is where I also break out the beta reading pool and see who is interested in giving feedback on the story. I give them a list of questions or guidelines of what I would like feedback on. I also usually leave them a page or so just to jot down their own observations on what I can do better.

Phase Four- Rewrite/More Critique Partners and beta readers!

I rewrite the story with the changes and edits that i did with Phase Three. Once I am done with the rewrite, I will go back to the beta readers, possibly pick different ones for fresh eyes and a few of the ones from the last phase. I will send the rewritten story and a small list of things to keep in mind (typos, grammar mostly) for them to read through and hopefully find things that I didn’t find or tell me if things are confusing or didn’t work right. I also hope that they say what worked well so that I know whatever I did, I did right. This is pretty much a repeat of phase 3 to get more feedback on a work in progress (WIP).

Phase Five- Final Edit

This I find is possibly my most crucial because I need to take everything from the last 4 phases and bring all of those changes and the feedback together to make these final changes. This is the final cut, this is the last time that I make any revisions to the story that I am working on.

Phase Six- Final Rewrite

This is it, it all comes to fruition in the Final rewrite. I use the changes from Phase Five to create a polished finished work that is ready for publication.

how to
1

About the Creator

Brenda Kirkland

My name is Brenda. Writing is one of my greatest joys. Being able to escape into my writing is one of the most calming for me. My father got me involved with storytelling when I was 12 and my love for it has continued into adulthood.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.