Journal logo

Writing about Myself Online

And how it Makes Me Feel

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Writing about Myself Online
Photo by Sergey Zolkin on Unsplash

Oh yes. At some point in a writer's journey, they will write about themselves. And you may be at the point where you want to share your stories with the world.

If you have read any of my other posts, you will see that I've been writing a lot about myself lately.

And no, it's because I just like talking about myself, although there have been a couple of times when I did it just because I wanted to, which I won't apologize for.

It's usually to give advice on writing or help my readers. I like helping people, but not necessarily in the way we generally think, since being around them makes me mentally tired after a while.

So how do I feel about writing about my life?

Well, for the most part, I'm fine with it. Some crazy ass or bizarre things occur, like me getting shocked by a sponge the other week. Yes, a sponge of all things (shakes my head).

Or me bidding on a job for blog editors on Upwork and getting it, which is crazy because I didn't think I'd even get it. It just looked interesting, and I thought, why not? I have nothing to lose.

Yes, some of it is a bit painful to write about.

If you read my story, The Story of Me, you will see not-so-great things have happened to me, some recent and some going into my early childhood.

Or my piece, Always the Odd Girl Out, where I write about my social awkwardness and not really feeling like I belong anywhere.

It did take some courage on my part to write and share those. But I kept reading stories about people's joys and hardships, and I figured I should do the same.

And it helped immensely. It took some of the weight off of me, allowing me to let go of some of it. And they got a decent response, which never hurts.

And if I want to connect with someone, I should be able to share my experiences and show them that they're not alone.

However, sometimes, I think my life is boring compared to some of the writers I follow. Yes, everyone's path is different, I know. And I'm sure I'm not the only one who feels this way.

However, when I start writing, I quickly remember that my life isn't always a snooze fest, even when certain writing challenges say otherwise.

Sure, it may not be all vacations, parties, or tragic backstories (although some of my past could be considered that), but I've had my own interesting experiences.

Like the time the older girls of my Girl Scout troop went white water rafting in Oregon and were met with wildfires, pelting raindrops, and me getting mild heat exhaustion and throwing up on the first day.

Or when my leader had to run back up a mountain-like trail because another girl and I left our water bottles at the top. She wasn't happy with us when she returned.

Not to mention the trip where I wrestled a flashlight from another scout and slept with it because she kept turning it on while the rest of us in the yurt were trying to sleep.

And when I went down to Oregon with my family and saw the eclipse. Too bad we were tired from driving all night. But we got to explore a few towns and do cool things.

Don't get me wrong, they were fun trips, but they sure weren't dull. And now I get to tell you about it.

So, if you have the urge to share your stories with others, go ahead. It's fun and freeing. And you never know where it may lead you.

Until next time, keep on writing!

Thank you for the read! Likes, comments, tips, follows, subscriptions, and pledges are always cherished.

advice
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.