Journal logo

With Passive Income, I Became a Millionaire in My 20s

How to become a millionaire utilising passive income and why it’s the best thing since sliced bread.

By Claudiu CozmaPublished 2 years ago 18 min read
Like

From a little English town to San Francisco’s rolling hills and Shanghai’s booming city, this is my journey, with all the difficulties I encountered.

Let’s rewind to 1985, shall we?

That was my last exit from those walls. As a teen, I was just 16.

I was tall, thin, and had red hair. I was also broke, but I knew I had to make my impact on the world. You could not learn about stuff you weren’t excited about if you were stuck in a classroom.

As a result, I set off in search of riches. Let’s go back to my teen years first, shall we? When I was a kid, I was always looking for a method to get rich. Cliche as it sounds, selling candy and soda to other kids in the playground was my primary side hustle as a teenager.

Also on the weekends, I would fish for mackerel to sell around the neighbourhood. I vividly recall knocking on every door I could find. I was selling 10 fish for $1, which was a wonderful deal. The problem was that no one wanted to pay for ten fish. As a result, I had to rethink my business approach and come up with a new one. To my amazement, I was able to sell five fish for $1 every time I opted to do so.

Everyone wanted a piece. As I look back on it now, these years were critical because they taught me some of the most fundamental life skills, such as sales and confidence. I don’t think I would have been able to succeed later in life if I hadn’t had these skills. So if you can only take away one thing from this video, it should be to start working on your sales talents and becoming more confident in your ability to close deals.

This brings me back to the school gate. I had a number of options when I left this place. For me, a traditional 9-to-5 work was the only option. Learning a skill would help me in the long run.

School had drilled this routine into my head for years, and I couldn’t shake it.

Consequently, I pushed myself to the limit and applied for five jobs at once because I was so desperate to succeed. An apprentice carpenter’s apprentice or a builder’s assistant were among the options I had to choose from during my apprenticeship. After much deliberation, I’ve decided to pursue a career as a carpenter. Although the compensation was meagre ($2 an hour), I was gaining valuable experience and could see myself progressing within the organisation. In my mind, this was the key to success. In my carpenter apprenticeship, I devoted all of my time and energy to learning everything that I possibly could.

As a result, I was able to win leadership awards and feel like my life was progressing. I was proud of myself for completing my apprenticeship with high honours from college “We’re off! I’m getting all the major jobs.”

However, my bosses appear to have an uneasy relationship with me.

There is a possibility that they began to view my accomplishment as a potential danger.

Because of this, they decided to assign me to every unsavoury position.

In the rear room, he assigned me for months to construct wooden trash cans. In order to progress in the organisation, I was unable to show off the talents I’d mastered and was unable to move up the ranks. This is the first time I’ve made a wooden garbage can, and I realised that I hadn’t studied hard enough. Robots can do it now, because it’s a drudgery.

Even worse, as I looked around the workshop, I observed a lot of people doing far more interesting work than I was.

Consequently, I requested a meeting with the manager, and as I write this, I’m standing in the identical area where we met. It was my opinion that I was lacking in challenge. These dumpsters were taking up too much of my time. And what did he tell me?

“He said,” I replied “Today, you’ll be putting together these bins. Tomorrow, you’ll be putting together these containers. With Walmart, we’ve signed a five-year deal. A lot of these dumpsters are going to be made.” As a result of this realisation, working a nine-to-five job made me realise how powerless I was.

I couldn’t just walk away from my job because the salary was barely enough to cover my bills, but I was also unable to put any money away. To put it another way, I was effectively imprisoned.

Photo by Joshua Hoehne on Unsplash

Because of this, I acquired a Saturday job at a radio-controlled model store. In addition, I began a side business flipping cars, which entailed locating cheap vehicles, repairing them, and reselling them.

This Ford Fiesta XR-2 Mark 1 still belongs to me. It’s from 1985.

My current car purchases would have cost me anywhere from $200 to $400 at that point.

Then I’d often sell them for between $500 and $600. Despite its diminutive stature, it’s now worth a bit more. On Sunday, I was teaching people how to fly radio-controlled helicopters, in addition to all of the other things I was doing. At the time, there was a lot of demand. As long as the weather is good, I’ll be booked all Sunday. Having many side hustles has finally allowed me to construct an emergency fund. This is crucial. When you don’t have to worry about paying your bills, you can take advantage of any possibilities that arise. You miss out on a lot of possibilities if you’re living paycheck to paycheck because you’re so focused on the following month’s payday that you don’t even realise you’re missing out.

This lovely staircase needed to be installed in a customer’s house, and the boss requested for volunteers to help. I leapt at the opportunity. I’d never seen anything quite like it before. Everything was there. I’m imagining a mansion with marble flooring, crystal chandeliers, a private pool, and a collection of exotic automobiles in the garage. It was the house of my dreams. Daydreaming, I started calculating how many years it would take me before I could afford a property like this. Even with all of my side jobs, I knew that I would never be able to afford to live the life I had always dreamed of. So close, yet so far away all at the same time, it seemed. And I realised there was nothing else I could do to attain it. Both physically and mentally, I was worn out. I put in long hours every day, seven days a week.

During the process of putting in the staircase, I would frequently glance out the window and see the owner lounging in the garden or heading out to play the golf course. In addition, I was baffled as to how this person had the life he desired and could go out and have fun whenever he wanted. Because of this, I had to ask him a few questions, and he explained to me how having a business allowed him to earn money while he rested. When I first discovered passive income, this was the year that I first discovered it. For all my years at school, I’d been taught that the only way to get money was to get a regular job. My mind was blown by the idea of passive income, which I had never even heard of before. Assuming this guy was a regular person, I was confident that I could accomplish the same feats. I started remembering back to when I was a kid and selling those fish in my school’s fish market. That was my first foray into the world of small business ownership. Every step of the way, from sourcing to selling, had been a pleasure for me. When I realised I’d been hiding this for so long, I couldn’t believe that I had tried to fit in with society’s expectations. The term “passive income” is currently a hot topic on the internet, and while I understand the appeal, I’m not sure I agree with it entirely.

In order to build a passive income, it’s necessary to put in the time and effort to start a business or invest money, and then reap the benefits even when you’re not at work. In my opinion, this is a better method to generate money than working a nine-to-five job because your time is restricted and your income is constrained while you’re younger, so this is a better option. Now I had a clearer picture of what I needed to do. I came up with a plan to get out of here.

As a result, I decided to start a business in a field that was both familiar to me and one that I was also passionate about.

I was also fortunate. I came up with a brilliant solution. During my Saturday shifts, I worked at a radio-controlled model shop. A lot of things might have been done better and mistakes had been made during the years I had worked there, so I did some research and discovered the right site for a store. “Model World,” an old television show that I used to watch as a child, suggested the right name for my company. With this shop, I was able to understand how it may eventually operate without my involvement, thus making money for me without me even being there. For the first time in my life, I had some sense of direction and purpose while working my regular job. Sadly, not many people had faith in me. One of my acquaintances, whom I confided in about my desire to break into the market, was the only one who believed I could succeed, despite my working-class background and lack of education. I was eager to leave my work and begin my new career in order to disprove everyone’s assumptions about me. I had to save up initially before I could begin.

It was just a matter of time before Model World Shop was up and running, but it had nothing to do with me. My friend had ripped off my idea and implemented it on his own without my permission.

As someone who’d trusted him with all my plans, I felt deceived and frustrated. I even began to question whether or not I was meant to be an entrepreneur. I was unable to leave my nine-to-five work because of my manager’s constant demands, and I had lost all hope.

Watching my friend achieve her dreams was the most upsetting aspect for me. When I was in the starting blocks, I felt like a sprinter who had been locked up, unable to unleash all of the energy I had. In my entire life, that was the worst feeling.

My entire vision of the future began to crumble. Even though I didn’t realise it at the time, this experience taught me a valuable lesson about life. You should stay out of the limelight if you have a brilliant concept.

Try to keep your ideas a secret from a few people, but don’t give everything away like I did. I made the conscious decision to pick myself up and continue working in the wake of the major setback. First, I worked hard to raise my credit score by purchasing my first apartment.

Previously, I thought I was working extremely hard, but this was a whole other level of exhaustion. When my financial position threatened to snatch away my hopes and dreams for the second time, I worked as hard as I could every day.

This merely goes to prove that the road to financial independence is anything but straight. There may be many setbacks along the way, but if you remain focused, new possibilities will arise.

As if by magic, one day I learned that my friend had decided to put Model World up for auction.

After a few visits, I observed that he wasn’t spending enough time on the project. It had a lot of potential, but he wasn’t interested in the industry.

Buying the shop was the only way I could get my life back on track. This was the chance I’d worked so hard for, and I wasn’t going to let it pass me by. I had a small amount of money, but it wasn’t going to be enough to get me out of this situation.

Though my credit was good, I decided to apply for a loan because I believed it would be a good idea “I’ve figured it out. I’ll try to secure a bank loan with the money I already have “He’d stolen my brilliant concept and my illustrious name, but he couldn’t take my enthusiasm.

The fundamental ingredient to make this firm a terrific passive income-generating machine was clear to me at the time: As a result, I put together the greatest business plan I could and met with my banker. With a strong credit score and having banked at that location since the age of a child, my hopes were high. My application for a loan was rejected within 10 minutes. I had the worst interview of my life. Oh, I felt like I’d been tossed out of the bank.. You couldn’t believe what you were seeing.

I had my eyes closed. As I made my way back to my vehicle,

What are the chances?

I had no idea what to do at the time. It seemed as if I had just returned to that house, but it was still so far away. This bank happened to be the next structure I came across, so I had to pick myself up and get back on my feet. I made my way into the building and was immediately scheduled for a meeting with the manager.

He not only provided me the loan, but also pledged to be one of my first clients because he thought it was a great concept. Upon asking him why he decided to put his faith in me, he stated he was always keen to help out the younger generation and that when he saw how dedicated and hardworking I was, he simply couldn’t say no. Preparation and resiliency met opportunity in this case. You never know when a lucky break will come your way. And it was only a matter of time before it came knocking on my door. As a result, I concluded the deal on Model World, including all of their products and the rights to the moniker Model World. After all these years, I had finally gotten it. However, I was aware that the hard work was yet to come, and it was my responsibility to do it.

As a precaution, I kept a sleeping bag on the counter of my business the first day since I knew that if I didn’t generate enough money that day, I wouldn’t be able to drive my car home.

However, the first day was a resounding success. All of my earlier sales and negotiating experience came in handy. Because to their help, I was able to turn my business into a success. We made a million dollars in three years, which was incredible. It was a wild ride, but also a lot of fun. We encountered additional difficulties as we progressed. At the end of ten years, we had three stores and a massive warehouse full with equipment.

Much so, we had plans to go even further in our pursuit of the top spot.

Despite the fact that I was raking in millions of dollars in passive income, I didn’t realise how vulnerable I was to losing everything. When things are going well, it’s easy to become complacent because nothing seems to be getting in your way. Taking your eye off the ball is really risky since it means you’ve stopped innovating. I was so concentrated on a single stream of income from my retail shops that I was absolutely surprised when internet shopping struck. It was either that or go home. Everyone I knew was going out of business, and I knew that if I didn’t change with the times, the same thing would happen to me.

Because I began investing in the stock market and real estate at an early age, I was fortunate enough to have a little more time than most. My financial situation would’ve been much worse had I not possessed these things. If you live in the United States, Public is offering a free stock worth up to $100.

Let me leave you with a link. Free Trade has also given away a free stock valued up to 200 pounds to UK residents. I’ll add the link to the bottom of the page. When I was younger, I would have loved to have these.

In contrast to many others, I also regarded the internet as a solution, because it allowed me to communicate with a much larger audience than I had ever been able to before, even when I was asleep.

I choose to develop a large central location with warehouses instead of concentrating my efforts on opening new stores to service clients all over the world, rather than just those in my immediate vicinity. But I realised that if I wanted to prevent something like this from happening again, adapting wasn’t enough. I need to diversify my sources of passive income so that I’m not relying solely on one to keep my life in check.

When it comes to passive income, I’ve always relied on B2C (business-to-consumer) sales, but I’ve always wanted to branch out into B2B (business-to-business) sales. In the United States, I knew someone with a similar venture. So, my then-girlfriend and I decided to take a last-minute trip to Los Angeles.

To make matters worse, I forgot my driver’s licence, so I had to borrow a car from the most shady car rental agency ever. An outdated Dodge Dynasty town vehicle was all I could find to hire for my trip.

Then, following the directions on the map, we drove the car all the way to San Francisco. Milpitas, a little town near San Jose, is where I intended to meet the man I was looking for. As a result, we decided to wing our way through the entire trip. As the song goes, “You’ll always find a room at the Hotel California,” and that’s exactly what I was thinking. But the week of the convention turned out to be a busy one for everyone involved. Neither a room nor a bed could be found. In the end, we wound up in the worst motel I’d ever been to. We didn’t even dare to take off our clothes. If something went wrong, we would have slept on top of the mattress.

Basically, it was just one of those things. When we arrived, he was surprised to see us because he had no knowledge that I was coming.

Passed by and remarked “I’m just passing by” as I rolled up.

He remarked, “From the UK, that’s a hell of a road journey.” To thank him for his assistance, I promised to carry some of his products in my new firm. In order to sell to other companies, I had to create a line of products that were all my own. My previous work as a carpenter proved to be invaluable in the development of my products. Finally, all that remained to be done was to find a manufacturer in Shanghai, China, so I decided to make the trip. A few faxes were printed off and I was sitting on a plane to China before I realised what had happened. When you get at the airport, hand this fax along to the taxi driver. The rest of it was in Chinese characters, so I couldn’t read it. I could have ended up anywhere in the world. The trip was a huge success, and I made a lot of new friends and was invited to visit factories in Shenzhen. Still, if you take the time to meet individuals in person, you may build a strong business relationship in which you both benefit. This is why politicians always want to shake your hand to guarantee your support, since it’s almost like a contract. You have to push the flesh for that loyalty. Then we come to the present day. As a result, my enterprises are flourishing and my passive income sources are more robust than ever. One of the most essential things I’ve learnt from my experience is that taking a risk and adapting is less risky than not taking a chance at all. In the event you’ve been mulling over quitting your current position, keep this in mind. In order to succeed, you must have a well-thought-out strategy and a strong desire. Having a well-off family isn’t necessary.

In order to succeed, you don’t need a large network of friends and colleagues. There has never been a better time to start a business.

Computers and intelligence are all you’ll need. That’s a huge help.

Additionally, you’ll need access to the internet to begin earning some startup cash.

What are the chances?

Once upon a time, you could be the boss, seated in front of the boss’s desk.

And this is, in fact, the boss’s office.

I had an interview for a job as a carpenter just like you are now. When the company went bankrupt and the desk was put up for auction, I rushed down there and acquired it.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.