Journal logo

Why it’s important to stick with Vocal

Good things come to those who hang in there and keep writing.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
9
Why it’s important to stick with Vocal
Photo by Kaitlyn Baker on Unsplash

If you are discouraged about your writing experience on Vocal, please don’t give up. Time, trial and error will all be on your side. Keep writing and continue to hone your work and it will eventually pay off. Here are some reasons that should motivate you.

1. The Vocal team cares

I’ve written online for the past decade. I have dealt with many writing sites and only one truly seemed to care about the contributors. Vocal responds to questions in a timely manner, and the team works diligently to resolve any issues. They are professional and you can tell they really care. On other sites I wrote for, emails were ignored and everything seemed so non-personal. I appreciate the personal touch that the vocal team gives.

2. Vocal is upfront regarding social issues.

I appreciate that the Vocal team allows writers to tackle tough subjects such as racism and the LBGTQ community. Although we cannot write about personal religious faith, this platform is pretty much open to a wide range of subjects.

3. Vocal Plus

I encourage everyone to consider becoming a part of Vocal Plus because the money is an investment, and being a Plus member practically pays for itself. You earn more per view that regular Vocal members, and can request earnings after $20.00 instead of $35.00. There also are contests just for the plus members.

4. Articles reviewed in a timely manner

Vocal approves or rejects articles within a short time frame. They are also very clear with instructions on what to do to get a rejected article published.

5. Stories can pick up steam

Initially, I was disappointed with my page views. I wrote one story about an actress turned director that only received 10 views during the first week. Imagine my surprise when three months later I checked my results and this story had 800 reads. Some articles get instant hits but others take a little more time.

6. Tips

In addition to earning money from page views is the potential to earn tips. This should be an extra incentive to keep writing.

7. Featured articles

Vocal had editor’s picks each day from the published stories. It’s an honor to have an article chosen as it brings more exposure and possibly additional page views. Featured articles also receive a $10.00 tip which is an extra bonus.

8. Writing is therapy

Writing from your heart can be great therapy, especially right now during the pandemic. Getting your feelings into writing releases stress.

9. Earning money

Writing for Vocal is a great way to earn money in your spare time. I once worked for a site where I earned $900.00 in one month, but shortly after page views dropped. I began earning less than $1.00 a day and when I sought help, my emails were ignored. I’m nowhere near that amount on Vocal but I am earning and it’s climbing. There is so much potential here. I have an article that received over 5,000 views. I have had other contributors say they have received 10,000 to 40,000 views for one article.

10. Poetry

If you are a poet, you can submit poems to Vocal and there have also been contests just for poets. Not every writing platform allows poets to contribute.

11. Focus

Each night at 8:00 I eagerly check my days page views. Later I look to see what my earnings are. It’s fun and takes my mind of of more serious issues. I learn from my page views as it helps me see which stories get more reads. It gives me a point of focus and encourages me to try to learn and do better.

12. Education

Research for my own articles is educational as I learn as I go. Reading the stories others write is also presenting me with the information I previously was not aware of. I’ve gleaned ideas from several featured articles that turned into a new story with a different angle for myself.

13. Evergreen power

Stories written about breaking news have a tendency to fizzle out. Evergreen work sticks around and you can make money from those articles year after year. Health related issues, biographies on celebrities, and holiday stories are just a few of those that may start off with only a few views but will continue to have views on a long time basis.

14. Contests

Winning a contest is not a guaranteed method of income, but an incentive to write better stories. The more you enter the better your chances and you will probably find out that your writing skills are improving along the way.

All together now

The bottom line is that when you continue writing you will find additional modes of earning. Vocal plus, tips, contests and being an editor’s pick can enhance your income so don’t stop now. Thetr will be ups and downs and it’s certainly unpredictable. I had 800 views one day last week and the next day it dropped to 200. The one thing that I know is that if I stop writing I will not get any views. All of the reasons listed individually and as a whole should encourage everyone to keep going. Seeing the success of others lets us know what’s possible. If you are a natural born writer and or poet, I admonish you to not give up.

Learn from other contributors but keep in mind that it’s important to stay in your own lane. We live in a very important, amazing era in which technology can be a writers best friend. Whoever thought decades ago that the future would offer a way out of spacing assy at a typewriter. I got one was not great at typing. I even jot down ideas from my phone and have even submitted articles from my a IPhone. Put all of these tips together along with your own revelations and determine to succeed. Motivate yourself and just keep writing and good luck. Make your own self proud of you.

product review
9

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.