Journal logo

Why It is Important Your Work Be Shown

Resistance and Resilience will grant you abilities.

By Gabriel Sohn-HuntPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like
Why It is Important Your Work Be Shown
Photo by Julian Anders on Unsplash

Starting out in Life

“Why me?”

Most of the struggles in my life stem from being too tense in life and trying to make everything perfect. In middle school when I was in art class, we had to show people our work. Scary. Will they like it? What are they actually thinking? That the work I have MUST be displayed publicly eventually, so better be prepared and make it as perfect as possible. Better yet, spend almost no time at all preparing, being delusion that at the last minute thinking that my work is perfect. Work is a project, a paper, an essay, a sculpture, anything that requires extreme focus and patience.

Or if for me, not everything is set just right, or if I feel I don’t quite know something, I’ll be hesitant to get help. I’m a very anxious individual and this has affected me in a number of ways, mainly, I have a hard time showing people my true side.

Mental Fatigue is a Fast Killer

My realization is dealing with perfecting every little decision will leave you exhausted at the end of the day. So it is when we ourselves are judging our work so critically that our ideas may fail to actually come alive into the world.

Thoughts that pull you away from the creation and building process and suck you into negative self-talk, it is important to get a second opinion from someone else. It is absolutely the case we are our worst critics, and we have the power to restrict ourselves from being the best we can be.

This can be anxiety-inducing. This means offering up what raw knowledge we know, is hoping to find the truth. The truth is our work, in our passions, that ignites us. The thoughts spark who we are and allow us to push past our limits.

Run, but you can’t Hide

A lesson learned sooner or later is this: You cannot hide from the world, More importantly, YOU cannot hide from YOURSELF. And funny enough I thought I could do this. I still think I can sometimes.

I met a young woman with who I recently had a baby, and to be honest it has been the most stressful thing that has happened to me. Having a son has taught me a lot about responsibility, facing reality, and delineating the most important parts of my life.

I’ll be honest, I didn’t want to have a child. There, I said it, and I had many “reasons” as to why I felt this way. I lacked responsibility for myself and my own actions as a young adult, nonetheless ready to take on a whole other life-form. I had an unexplainable feeling of resentment towards the whole situation. I couldn’t appreciate it for what it is, beautiful life.

So when my son was born, reality forced me to go out more into the world, to really try and become someone for myself and my family. In order to take care of him and to be the person I want to be, it means putting myself out there and who I am. I need to be able to do business, talk to others, be compassionate, and be a loving human being. I every day feel confused about my direction in life, and the things I want to do. It almost feels like procrastination is a sly little devil, and his way of saying to give up is to make me feel lost and confused.

I’m the type of person who can have every reason imaginable as to why I put projects, essays, or creative work that I want to do on “hold” until I can get everything in working order. (Now this REALLY means for me, is that I probably am not going to commit and complete whatever it is I’m doing.) What’s the solution? How can we find an idea in our heads we like, and see it through? More importantly, why is it important we show others?

Be as specific as possible

Write. It. Down.

From athletes to successful businessmen, and anyone looking to act on an idea, and show your creative work, the first step is to identify what it is you would like to do.

What do you want to write about? Is it about health, helping others, or electronics? As long as you are creating value, there are infinite opportunities to help people. Maybe you are someone who is so scattered they have no clue where to start.

The point is that you need to get whatever idea is stuck in your head out onto paper. No matter if you think it is bad if you believe it is unworthy of being seen. Truth be told is that no matter if it is in your head or on paper, it resides on this Earth.

Within you, or onto the reality we will live, it exists here. Far more energy will be used to keep the ever-flowing river of thoughts in the dam of your mind. So break the dam, no matter where you put your ideas, have them on paper, online, anywhere access.

Doing this will allow you to fully commit to thoughts, and to yourself when writing something.

This means using brainpower. This means deciding on something, and no matter how small writing may seem, the significance of long-term benefits far outweighs anything I’ve experienced. Please, look up the benefits of writing, and just do it!

Efficiency

Clearer Goals equals Faster Success

Next, when there are clearly defined goals, such as “I will write 5 articles this month”. Or instead of I’ll do a little bit of learning to, “ I’m going to do 2 lessons today”, gives you a concrete goal to aim towards.

Making your goals as clear as possible is like fanning smoke out of a room. It’s a breath of fresh air, and you’ll finally be able to see better what it is you need to focus on.

This allows for more room to schedule and to create more specific sub-goals to conquer resistance. Resistance is showing you a funhouse mirror of how you look. A facade, an illusion, making you believe you are unworthy of a creative potential that lies in every single one of us. Resistance is showing you a mountain that looks insurmountable when the staircase is off to the right.

Being Honest

Showing Others will not allow you to Delude yourself

Often it is the case that we think we are better or worse at times.

We delude ourselves into thinking we are far better than we are, then once we are faced with reality; we realize we have far more work to do. If we have nothing to show the world, and we lack constructive criticism, what else is there?

We live in a world that is engulfed in beings such as ourselves, living, breathing, thinking humans, and it is our job to not take them nor ourselves for granted. We all are working to become better, and those who hinder that opportunity for others will not be complete.

The ego is a funny shadow, something so indescribable yet palpable in our everyday lives. Our ego allows us to do accomplish many achievements, and to take up arms in our defense to preserve what we think is right. The common analogy is compared to a horse and its rider.

Our spirit and our true essence is the strong horse that is capable of so much. Our egos act as the rider.

At times not using the horse to its full potential. We see the ego arise everywhere and must be worked with as much as possible. To do this, to shed the ego and to not delude yourself to the quality of your work, it is important to get feedback from a community. Once you reveal your project, with all the pros and cons, and little imperfections, people will take notice.

Though maintaining a clear head and actively noticing and absorbing people’s information, you’ll have a greater understanding of how to get to that next level.

A part of my mission and goal as a human being is to develop my voice. To organize and contextualize the thoughts I have, and to make a statement. I want to provide more information about self-improvement, helping others, selling merchandise and services, and growing overall as a person. Cybersecurity interests me because I have been deeply connected to electronics ever since I was little. I would always be fascinated with how computers worked, and am curious to learn more about hacking in general.

Momentum

The good news is: momentum is real, momentum will work in your favor.

The bad news is: if when an action becomes too difficult, and we shy away from it, we gain momentum as well. Momentum can be view like a ball on a piece of wood, like a seesaw. Once it starts rolling one way, it's going to become increasingly harder OR easier to do certain habits and tasks, slowly leaning one way. Making the list gives you the clear-headedness needed to start accumulating ideas you were sure you never could have. The brain is quite the funny piece of wet tissue/muscle, thing-blob.

The brain also is responsible for the creation of electricity, structures, and Elon Musk. Sometimes the brain has no clue what want to do. You: the spirit, must feed the inspiration and willpower, the leverage to succeed.

I’ve been learning increasingly more from excellent researcher and neuroscientist, Andrew Huberman.

His podcast, interviews with guests, and overall very clear and descriptive structure of how he presents neuroanatomy are quite fascinating. He discusses certain ways to improve and be aware of the way the brain processes learning and how certain breathing affects the physiology of the body.

Highly recommend checking him out on Youtube. The overall point for this: Use Momentum, or you will be crushed by it.

Hard Work is Valued

I may not know what to write for every single piece of writing I do. But I love to do it because writing allows me to talk to myself, and formulate my thoughts on paper.

I can write why I am grateful, and what for.

When writing my words out trying to really formulate my thoughts, I sort of lose track of time, and really start to get into the flow of making sentences. Writing can be in the form of journaling, doing lists, doodling, scribbling; really anything that makes you feel better. After some time, you’ll find you’re working without even noticing, and that it becomes easier for you.

That “work” becomes this therapeutic part of the day for you. A moment that you’ll look back on with gratitude, love, and acceptance. By allowing yourself to show your work to the world, you gain the ability to become more resilient to what others say, and more importantly, what you have to think about your own art.

Conclusion

Go out in the world, and even if you don’t know where to go, just know that it will work out. By expanding your knowledge and becoming infused with the world around you, you will gain resilience.

Disclaimer

Here, I’d like to provide you with laughs, information, and insights.

Haven’t already signed up for a membership? Click here to sign up, using my link, I’ll get a small commission and be able to pour more time into writing.

Feedback is always appreciated. Peace and love.

Membership link — https://gabehunt.medium.com/membership

Medium newsletter link — https://gabehunt.medium.com/subscribe

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.