Journal logo

What Picture Is Your Vision Painting?

Does your vision inspire action?

By Frank ZaccariPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Does your vision paint a picture that people can see and follow? Does your vision lead to action? How do you know? Do you know why your employees work for you or your customers do business with you? Most people will tell me it’s because of what they do and how they do it. Rarely do they tell me why? What you do and how you do it are not as important as why. Your why is your vision. Your way paints a picture and leads employees and customers to want to do business with you.

Whenever I start working with an organization the question I ask the most is why? I was working with a tired, frustrated and struggling insurance agency. This man had spent over 20 years as a successful hi-tech executive. When his domestic situation changed he found himself as the custodial parent of his 10 and 14 year old daughters.

When I asked the him why took over an insurance agency. He said “In hi-tech, I use to travel over two weeks every month. Now that I have custody of my two young daughters I can’t travel. I have to be a full time Dad.” While this man is to be applauded for putting his children first, his why statement wasn’t leading people to his door.

So I asked him to tell about the business. He said, “I don’t know much about the insurance world, so I asked the local management how do I get this started. They told me ‘The best practice is once you select a location for your office, you market to the zip codes within a 15 to 20 mile radius. There are plenty of people in this radius and the customers don’t have to drive far to your office. You meet and sell them insurance.”

So I asked “How is that going?” He answered, “Not very well. The most profit this agency had ever made in one year was $5,000. The guy before me sold a lot of policies and received commissions, but the agency was not very profitable. Most of the customers I inherited just want the lowest possible amount of insurance. They constantly pay late and most of my time is spent calling for payment and putting cancelled policies back in force.” Then he stopped, looked me directly in the eyes and said with great frustration, “I hate what I am doing!”

I said, “Let’s think about this for a minute. If the best practice isn’t working for you then it’s not a best practice is it?” He didn’t have his own vision. He was blindly following the crowd. So we set out to create a vision which he could clearly articulate.

We changed his Why statement (his vision) to: We protect our client’s hopes and dreams.

We changed his How statement to: We provide the best possible service and coverage for the fairest price.

In neither statement do we mention what he does, which is to sell insurance. Do you know why? Because NO ONE really cares that he sells insurance. They want to know why he sells insurance.

We redefined his target market to business professionals with an income greater than $150K, at least one house, two cars, children and you drive to see them at their homes or offices. Why? Because these are the people who have the hopes and dream they want to protect. His vision clearly resonated with this target market. He started to secure the “right” customers all throughout the state.

Within two years the agency made $750K in profit. Over the 13 year this man owned the business it averaged $400K in profit each year even with all the California fires. In addition, he retained over 90% of his customers. A 90% retention is unheard of in the insurance world. He has since sold the business and is living the “good life.”

So once again, my question to you is does your vision paint a picture that people can see and follow? Does your vision lead to action? Call me, let’s talk, I’ll help you.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Frank Zaccari

Business Adviser, Co-Founder of Trust the Process Book Marketing Program, Featured Contributor BIZCATALYST 360° - Key Note Speaker - 5X Best Selling & Award Winning Author - Radio and Roku TV host of Life Altering Events

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.