Journal logo

What Entrepreneurship Means To Me

And how I plan to use it to my full advantage!

By WendyPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like

Entrepreneurship means something different to so many people. It means so much to me. What it means to me might not be the same as what it means to you. Not everyone wants to be an entrepreneur. Some people want to get a job somewhere working for others. They don’t want the responsibility of owning their own business. But that’s ok. That’s their own choice. Entrepreneurship is not for everyone.

So what does it mean to me?

Freedom:

Freedom is a good place to start. It gives me the freedom to do what I want when I went, and how I want. I can work when I want and take a break when I want. I choose my hours. I choose how long I work and how long my breaks are and when they are.

I can even choose where I work. Is it at home at the kitchen table? Or is it in front of the tv while I am watching a supernatural marathon? Maybe I am lucky to have a home office I can lock myself into. What if I want to be surrounded by people? Then I can go to my local coffee shop or restaurant.

The sky is the limit. The options are limitless. Freedom means independence. This is one reason why I want to be an entrepreneur. To be free to do what I want, when I want and still earn a better living than what I am now.

Wealth:

Entrepreneurship, when done correctly, means wealth. A chance at making as much money as possible. You can scale your business as big or as small as you want.

You don’t have to worry about not having enough money to pay for your living expenses. You could travel the world If you wanted to. You could donate to any charity that you are passionate about.

You don’t have to worry about being poor anymore. Because you can always make more money on a daily basis. You need wealth to build a stable life for your family and your self.

Passion:

If you want to be an entrepreneur you need to be passionate about what you are doing. If you’re not passionate about it then you need to find one that you are.

Without passion for your business, you could work it for a while. You can also be successful at it. But eventually, you will burn out and hate it. Your work would start to suffer from this issue.

Why would you want to start a business that you’re not passionate about? Why wouldn’t you want to get up and work it every day? The whole thing about starting a business is so you can do what you love to do. It gives you a reason to get up every day and go to work.

I don’t want to go to a job I hate every day for the rest of my life. And I am sure you don’t want to either. Having a business that you are passionate about gives your life meaning.

Fun:

Being an entrepreneur can bring fun and joy to your life. Without fun with what you do you will have a boring and depressive life. Having fun doing your job gives you joy and makes you want to keep doing it for as long as possible.

No one wants to work in a dull and boring job that they don’t like. If that's the kind of job they have, then they may not be doing it for very long. They may call off a lot. They may just not show up for work because they don’t want to be there. Hell, they may just quit and find something they want to do. Something they enjoy doing and something that is fun.

Hard work:

Being an entrepreneur is hard work. Very hard work. Not all of the time but often. You have to put effort into building and maintaining your business. If you don’t your business will likely fail.

You have to plan everything out. Then you have to do the job. After this, you will have to market your business and market yourself. Without marketing, you won’t have any clients or customers. Without them, you don’t have a business. You can never succeed without putting hard work into your business.

Even passive income is not 100 percent passive. You still have a lot of hard work to get it to the point of earning money. But once you do the hard work of doing the project it will then keep you earning money for years to come.

Independence:

For the most part, being an entrepreneur means being independent. You don’t have to rely on what your boss decides to pay you and when they will pay you.

You get to choose your own rates for the most part. You get to decide when you work, how often when you work, how long you work at a time and where you get to work. Not when someone else says you have to.

You are an independent person when it comes to your business. You are your own boss, not someone else. It is true f you don’t do hardly any work you won’t make much money. The more you work the more money you make. But if you do it right you will only have to do some of your work once and it will continue to earn you money when you’re not working.

It has been several days since I have published any articles on medium and on vocal. But I still continue earning a little bit of money every day. It’s not as much as if I had posted every day. But it is still something. In fact, I predict that in the next couple of days I will have earned in 2 weeks what took me all of last month to earn here on medium.

Now that’s independence!

How I plan to make entrepreneurship my life…

I will build my business up with the following 5 income streams.

Publishing books on Amazon

Blogging on medium and vocal

Email Marketing

A few online courses

And maybe eventually create a YouTube channel with videos… maybe.

All I will have to do create the work once and then it will continue to make me money. The only thing I will have to do is create new content and market all of my work.

What can I accomplish in my life by being a successful entrepreneur?

I can accomplish a lot by being an entrepreneur. I can get completely out of debt and create an emergency fund. I can help my family have a better life. I will even be able to see the world like I have always wanted to. I can spend my winters somewhere warmer and not have to deal with the cold.

There is just so much I could do that was never before been possible.

Conclusion:

This is how I plan to live my life I know I have a lot of work to do just to accomplish these plans. But I'm telling you it would be worth it. This is what it means to me to being an entrepreneur

And if this is what it means to me, maybe it means the same to you. Or maybe it means something different to you. That’s ok. I just know if I can do it then so can you. All I have to say is…

Go forth and be the greatest entrepreneur you can be.

business
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.