Journal logo

What About The Dudes?

A conversation about bettering the lives of the fellas

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Matt & I chillin in NFK, [10-2021]

👋🏾There,

I have a friend, Matthew Fisher, but we call each other Bidnugget. Those details are irrelevant, along with our doing a daily sports show, which goes hot every weekday around 4pm. What is important, is why I, and my friend created this show. Now if you ask Matt, his response is more than not; we created this show, because we needed somewhere to talk sports. Easy, Peezy, Lemon Squeezy. Sixty five thousand dollar education from the (7-5) Liberty Flames. I guess party of me, has become ok with that being all he has to say; after all, he eats, sleeps, and breathes sports; but for me its more, so much more…

Since the beginning of the 2021, football season, we have on the run tried to find ourselves; constantly trying new things, creating, and destroying segment, until we found what fits. Believe it or not, we are still searching for those it pieces. It doesn’t bother me, because that is the process of life. Its a circle, and continuous move of evolution, one which no one truly completes, at least not in my humble opinion. To me life is about finding what makes sense, an capitalizing, which is what we did with one segment.

National Today, a website comprised of unique, and famous ideas, holidays, and people. It everyday reminds us that something, place, or one is important; and most importantly the everyday lives they live are important as well. One of those important days came on November 19. It was also the day, I believe at least my mission for the show was born.

International Men’s Day observed on November 19 focuses on men’s health, improving gender relations, highlighting male role models, and promoting positive expressions of masculinity. It’s also an opportunity to recognize men who don’t fall into traditional manifestations of masculinity, such as gay and bisexual men, transgender, or masculine non-binary people. 

First off let me make myself clear. I agree with an American journalist named John P. Harris, who In 1968 wrote an editorial highlighting a lack of balance in the Soviet system. This promoted an International Women’s Day for female workers but failed to deliver a male counterpart. Harris stated..

Though he agreed there should be a day to celebrate women, the day served as flaw within the communist system. As I said, I agree with the above statement, and feel passionate about doing something about it.

So here is what I am thinking. Each day, we will spend OUR time together, talking about the ins and outs of the world of sports; but i will as a enthusiast of not just who will win championships, but the journey, DayInTheLife if you will of those who do crazy athletic things. Not only that, what if we found the connecting link, between sports and those who watch it? What if we find away to get people just as much into being as active, as the athletes they cheer on?

Shoutout to all those who have exclusively linked themselves to the Spotify brand. I mention that not to change subjects, but to declare my allegiance. I now proverbial stick my apple flag in the sand. This means I have a mission for everyone, but realize I won’t reach everyone. But using the resources at my disposal, mostly apple, I will do everything I can to live the mission, November 19 revealed to me.

As I prepare to get outta ya hair, I do so with this common thought. Life is hard, then again, according to Vince McMahon, “Life Sucks, and then you Die”. That is probably as extreme, and real as life gets, and yet somewhere in between sits awesomesauce opportunity, and a chance at fulfillment, and that is what I am after.

Until Next Time

LATTERZ

advice
Like

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger👨🏾‍💻 Vlogger🎥 Podcaster🎙Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.