Journal logo

Voice Acting Help

Voice Acting for Beginners; A Little Help from a Beginner

By Kayla OttPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

This is my setup. I have a refurbished HP tower with an old TV that I don't use anymore that was sitting in storage in my loft.

I have a $130 mic, which, for beginners is a big step forward in anything when it comes to money. But when it comes to sticking it out for the long run, it's worth it.

I use Audacity to edit my auditions and lines. I recommend it for anyone not looking to spend money for an editing software to start with.

I work 35 weekends of the year, long hours, and sometimes with extremely rude customers. And I talk a lot, 12 to 16 hours a day depending on the workday, so you would think I would want nothing more than to sit back and not speak to anyone when I'm not working. But I find it extremely fun and rewarding to do vocal work.

When I started out back about a year and a half ago, I was scared out of my mind, mainly about rejection. I just knew I was going to be turned down for every role, and it showed in my auditions. I wasn't projecting my full emotions. I wasn't letting my vocal range go 100 percent.

I did get rejected, quite a few times. It was depressing, but then I was told by a voice actor I look up to very much to just have fun with it, have fun being someone else. I took that to heart and ran with it.

Now that I've got all that rambling out of the way, here's some tips for voice acting!

  1. When you are faced with an audition that you know that your vocal range can meet, take a little time imagining what the character will look like. If the director gives a description of their looks and personality, but doesn't give a picture, make an image in your head, give them an imaginary personality with the description that the director gave. Play around with some voices with the lines and record that, even if you mess up sometimes. If you find something that you really like, listen to that part of your audio again and play around with that voice some more!
  2. Use hand gestures! I had the problem when I first started out of just sitting stiffly in my chair and reading the lines like I was reading a school book to a teacher. If you're like me, when you are talking to someone in person, you use your hands. I've found that if I use my hands while I'm doing lines, it helps me bring out a little more liveliness to the character!
  3. Don't drink anything with carbonation! I usually only drink tea and water, but on occasion I drink a cream soda because I can't resist. But if I'm going to be doing any auditions or lines, I drink plenty of water the day before. Soda makes you feel winded, which makes it hard to keep up a good flow if you have a long line you have to perform and you're having to pause halfway through to take a breather. But if you can't refrain from stopping soda altogether, try to drink lots of flavored water a day or two before a session to flush out the effects of the soda.
  4. Like stated on #1, when you're playing around with some voices, do multiple takes of different voices in auditions. For instance, if you have a line, do it three or four different times in one take using different tones and accents (if you can). It will also let the director hear a sample of your vocal range.
  5. Don't be afraid to get loud!!! If you are able to, and you don't have angry neighbors or roommates, give a loud or surprised sounding line a little more *umph!*
  6. Don't get discouraged. I know it's hard when you look at the auditions panel and your name wasn't picked. I understand, but don't give up. There were a few times that I just wanted to throw in the towel, but don't give up!
  7. Be respectful to actors, directors, and anyone who might be working on a project with you. To everyone in general, it's just a better thing to do, and more professional.
  8. Take breaks. If you're having trouble getting a line down and you're getting frustrated, don't be afraid to take the headphones off and walk away for a little bit, get something to drink, take a walk, pet your dog/cat, heck do all three if that's what helps!
  9. Brush your teeth before recording. As silly as it sounds, it helps. Having something stuck between your teeth or having dirty teeth is a huge distraction. Having a clean mouth while recording works wonders.
  10. Just have fun with it. Voice acting is providing entertainment to others, and it shows in your performance when you're having a good time!
advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.