Journal logo

Vocal Engagement Without Reads

The Oddity of One Of My Vocal Stories Not Getting Reads

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
6
I Do Read, Honestly

Engagement On Facebook And Twitter With Vocal Stories

This has come about because I have had at least one story that has had loads of engagement, meaning that people must have read it, it has been hearted ten times but in two weeks has racked up only four reads. On Twitter, it has been loved a retweeted six times, so it’s not like it has sunk like a stone. The subject was an album review which I thought worthy of a Vocal Top Story (but I think that of everything that I write) so it’s not anything controversial or that.

There are a few reasons why I think this may be, although I have some quite old stories with only four reads, but the thing that struck me about this was the interaction in the Facebook Vocal groups, on Twitter, and the fact it had ten hearts as well. You can read the story below.

So Why Don’t We Get Reads On Vocal Stories?

I think we are all a bit paranoid at times and I was wondering if it was the fact that people weren’t leaving insights, but the story below just hit my top ten (it has 8 hearts and 108 reads) and those reads are not coming from Vocal subscribers, so it is obvious that the Vocal mechanism is working at times.

On this, I am thinking is, and this is definitely true on Twitter, people will like and retweet but not actually read the piece., and this may be true in the Facebook Vocal groups especially if you actually give some context to your story then people may think they don’t need to actually read the story, though I think this would be unusual behaviour in the Vocal Facebook groups because people usually leave a heart on Facebook if they have read your story, although my blog posts used to get likes but they didn’t show up as reads on the blog. Things are different with Vocal, in that my stories do get read.

Could There Be A Problem With Vocal’s Read Count

While I have written previously about problems with Stats reporting, I really don’t think this is a problem as such as it would be ubiquitous, so you wouldn’t be picking up reads for anything.

The Dr John article is just an absolute oddity, I know people are reading it but it sits on four reads. When I first noticed it was on one read so some have been added and there are two more stories published yesterday that have very low reads but I won’t be bothered about them unless they don’t move either.

A Vocal Mystery

Without access to the technology behind everything, I cannot even make a guess at what is happening. We expect consistency but when things act inconsistently we are then at a loss to explain. I can’t raise this with Vocal though they may actually read this and then take a peek but I doubt they will have time to do that.

I also tend to get a lot of overall reads but that is made of many Vocal stories whereas most Vocal Creators are nowhere near as prolific as I am so have to count on continual reads of their existing stories and that is the difference between mine and the normal publishing model of most Vocal Creators that I know.

Conclusion on The Vocal Read Count Mystery

This is a conundrum that I want to know the answer to but I don’t think I will get an answer so it will be just there as a sort of a fly in the ointment, a slight annoyance for me, but that happens so many times in life doesn’t it.

product review
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.