Journal logo

Unbreakable

I Win

By Elle SolanoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

You didn’t break me; you didn’t even get close.

Your words did not penetrate this soul, they didn’t even touch the surface. You didn't break me; you didn't even get close. Your hands felt like rocks hitting my body, the objects you threw at me, gave me scratches that made me bleed. Yet you didn't break me. I got up and dusted off the glass from your last tantrum that you tried to justify as fair, looked at you and smiled on the inside because I knew you could see I was still walking.

You didn't break me; you didn't even get close.

As, the marks fade away and my face goes back to its original form, and I can still see ME. I sit up straight and look across from you while I tell my story to 12 strangers that define your fate. I wasn't moved by your tears or apologies. Your fists didn't leave a hole in me, your words didn't define me, and your hate made me stronger. You didn't get me; you didn't even touch the surface.

You didn't break me; you didn't even get close.

My past does not define me, my future is clear, and my present is just right. There is nothing stronger in this world than when one says enough is enough. something changes in one. you become yourself again but stronger than before. You end up in a place that you only dreamed about, yet when you look up, you're already there. What use to feel like rocks is now a memory you don't remember. You simply look up and smile, don't look back.

You didn't break me; you didn't even get close.

Leaving this building they call a shelter, yet to me was a home. Scares the very soul of me to a core that reminds me of the day I left. The day I finally said enough. As, I drive away to find a place in this world to call mine, the memories come to me. The memories of fear and uncertainty. I drove past what was once out home and what was once our front yard. I noticed a different person leaving. Thinking back of the day we bought this house that we wanted to call a home. The girl that entered, was not the same woman that walked out. A piece of me died that night. A piece of me will always remain in that basement where the final moments of this union finally ended.

You didn’t break me; you didn’t even get close.

Driving away and not even having the urge to look back, I learned I moved on. I took a deep breath and continued the road. The road to a new beginning, the road to a new life. I look at my face and smile, I see the true me, I see the person that I once thought had disappeared but came back when it was time to stand on my own and show the world I was still here. I made it out, I was lucky to move on and the life that I would have, would be more then what you could have provided.

You didn’t break me; you didn’t even get close.

My wings became my armor which made it look easy. My wings protected me when I was weak and hiding from you. My wings helped me fly away, looking at the beautiful day ahead of me, with the shaking of my hands and voice, this was the new life I wanted. I survived; I choose to live. Everyone has their own story, mine was of survival and strength. A strength I never knew I had.

He didn’t break me; he didn’t even get close.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Elle Solano

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.