Journal logo

TRUE FIRE

(Financial Independence Retire Early

By Sebastian VoicePublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
TRUE FIRE
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Until recently, I believed that the FIRE (Financial Independence Retire Early) movement is somewhat unitary and promoted the same principles and life choices. Lately, I have understood that there are, in fact, 2 different lines:

  1. Frugal Fire - which involves a retreat through and to a frugal life, needing a much smaller portfolio to meet your needs, but also offers a frugal retreat, in which you must excel in dramatizing expenses;
  2. Fat FIRE - which is more like Financial Freedom - and which involves accumulating a larger portfolio, which will ensure a lifestyle without worrying about money (but still, without excesses).

If I had to choose between the two, I'm more inclined to Fat FIRE - because it's ideal for financial independence to give you both freedom and options to use your freedom. Thus, I am not a follower of frugality, but of maximizing income and maximizing the benefit you get from the money spent.

A lot of money is spent in vain, without bringing you a benefit - either you forgot I don't know what subscription or you are too lazy to buy from where it is cheaper, or you buy a lot and throw away, or you buy out of boredom, inadvertently and so on When you have these 2 goals in mind: 1. Maximizing income and 2. Maximizing satisfaction with spending, you will see that most stupid reasons to spend will disappear.

In addition, by having a well-established and important financial goal for you (Fat FIRE), you will not have so much time to waste on fun and you will not spend so much boredom because you have nothing exciting in your life ).

However, I saw that neither of the two philosophies satisfies me.

I like what I call TRUE FIRE - true financial independence - in which you reach a level of personal development and personal balance where you can fully enjoy life and, at the same time, this state to be financially supported. sustainable, forever

It is the next level, towards what I also tend to… and I went through some personal and financial crises that gave me the tools to achieve this goal.

What does TRUE FIRE mean?

  • Have the family you want (if you want it);
  • Have the relationships you want (friends, extended family, business partners, etc.);
  • To have the health and vitality you want;
  • Have the free time and freedom of movement you want;
  • To have the inner balance and emotional state you want;
  • To have the spiritual life you desire;
  • Have the house you want;
  • Have the car you want;
  • To have enough money in your account to fulfill your desires and hobbies (within the limits of common sense… we are not talking about buying a private island);
  • And have enough passive income for the above lifestyle to be sustainable.

The last point is very important because we can all spend 2 weeks of the ideal life and then… to wake up again at 7 in the morning every month, to work at the corporation, for another 11 months, when it is our turn again to live 2 weeks of freedom.

The idea is for this lifestyle to be sustainable, not something temporary, a love of half a summer.

If you look at the list, I hope you don't focus on the car, the house, vacations, and the like… Those are not the essence of the list… those are just elements that complete a fulfilled life.

The essential element of the list is The inner balance and emotional state you want.

Where is the paradigm shift?

Until recently, I believed that financial independence (Lean, Fat, or any other kind) is a goal of numbers. Which is in the classic definition. You have reached the numbers, you are financially independent and you can do what you want.

But, as I noticed and maybe you noticed, many people have exceeded those thresholds and still do not live the state of "endless perfect summer days".

  • They live in fear of losing what they have gained;
  • They have bigger and bigger ambitions, coming from the ego, ambitions that lead them to a continuous state of stress, which in the end comes to them;
  • He gets depressed from lack of meaning;
  • They start to make excesses of all kinds… substances, luxury, adventures, etc.

There are those cases of people with money who fail in life, reaching negative examples for expressions like "Money does not bring happiness", "Better poor and happy than rich and unhappy" and so on.

The paradigm shift is: Financial independence is a fulfilling mood and way of life, supported by passive income.

Thus, the order of priorities is reversed than in a classical way - first I look for the evolution towards that fulfilling mood and then I look for it to support it through passive income.

What does this paradigm shift mean?

First of all, it orients your priorities correctly.

So, if you want to get to TRUE FIRE, but you haven't reached the numbers yet, maybe the numbers are your last concern if:

  • You are not yet fulfilled in the relationship;
  • Your predominant emotions are negative: fear, anger, sadness, etc .;
  • You don't like what you do professionally;
  • You don't know what you want from life (what you want is vague, indefinite);
  • You do not accept yourself as you are;
  • You are very proud, arrogant, conflicted, etc .;
  • You are restless, impatient, etc .;
  • And other elements that disturb your peace.

How will you live the state of "endless perfect summer days" when you have money if you can't live it when you don't have money?

Your priority is to develop emotionally and heal the wounds of the past, and all this time, as a consequence of your development and healing, money will come. Then you will reach TRUE FIRE.

Is it difficult to become financially independent or is it easy?

It was difficult for me to move towards this goal for 10 years, as long as I was arrogant, emotionally "stupid", I indulged in dysfunctional relationships, and I continued to work as an employee when it was obvious that my profile did not is to be hired, I ran with a lot of unhealed emotional wounds. It was hard for me and I advanced like a snail.

Then it was much easier and faster for me after I prioritized my emotional state over other goals.

Financial independence came much faster than I imagined after this decision.

  • Coming out of a dysfunctional relationship I lost everything in the short term, but I gained a lot of energy in the long term, which brought me money later;
  • By resigning from a very well-paid job, but which I no longer liked, I lost a lot in the short term, but I gained enormously in the long term;
  • Doing so many psychology and coaching courses and working with a good psychologist constantly, I spent a lot of money (which I could have invested), but the emotional balance I gained brought me ten times the amount spent.

And these are just a few examples that I can quantify and present more easily. There have been and are many actions I take for my emotional evolution and my well-being.

All these actions bring me incredible energy and I can invest this energy later to produce money.

But it is important to point out that the priority is: my well-being, my balance, and only then the financial part.

Speaking of priorities - I had the money for a psychologist and coaching and psychology courses because I drove the same car for years, I kept a smartphone until it broke and I didn't change my wardrobe every fall-spring, not because I would be was a privileged member of society.

Conclusion

If you have not yet become financially independent and find it difficult and still need so much time to get there… think, maybe you still have things to do before… on the emotional side. It may not be beneficial for you to get there yet.

Are your relationships okay?

Do you always have a positive emotional state?

Do you have big fears? Big frustrations? Resentment towards someone? Conditions that unbalance you?

All this takes your energy and delays your journey. If you don't solve them, you will run with the parking brake applied and even if you get there, in terms of numbers, you will never experience TRUE FIRE.

  • Seek to face your greatest fears;
  • Give up everything that pulls you back;
  • Be humble in the face of life;
  • Understand that you are not the navel of the earth (don't take yourself so seriously);
  • Trust yourself - anyway, everyone performs well below potential, so there is enough room for growth for everyone;
  • Work with a good psychologist to help you grow, not just caress your head. How do you find it? Search and you will find it.

I want you to get to TRUE FIRE when you are ready.

Good luck!

P.S. If you like to read while drinking coffee, you can offer me a coffee too.

Read too:

advice
Like

About the Creator

Sebastian Voice

Hi

Writing is an art, the art of being known without being seen.

Writing hides a face, a feeling, a thought, a desire, a mystery.

I'm a dreamer!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.