Journal logo

Trouble With Re-Motivation!

You Can Stay Motivated In Your Business

By Shelley WengerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo Courtesy of Canva

My week away from BlogMutt was challenging. I hated the typing project. However, even though I missed writing terribly, I am now stuck. I was doing so well with BlogMutt, and I was getting a decent paycheck every week. This last week was horrible. I didn’t have many posts that were waiting to be bought. So, now, I have to work hard to get a paycheck in the next few weeks. I may have to stretch myself and write about some things that I am not as familiar with, in order to sell posts right away.

I was on a roll before I took the typing job. I was motivated to write and sell some posts. Now, I almost feel like I am starting over. I have to find new clients to write for, so I can sell some posts quickly. I had a large list of things that I could write about. I also had a lot of websites saved for when I didn’t have any service with my tablet. Now, I am staring at the list of clients and I don’t even know where to start.

Why is it so hard to start over? I was on such a roll and it showed. I worked hard and made money every week. Now, I sold two last week and I have two for this week. Though I made money with the typing project, I need to get back into the groove, so I can go back to selling six or more posts every week like I was. I even had a few weeks when I sold more than ten at a time!

Photo Courtesy of Canva

So, how can you get re-motivated with your business (especially after you take a break)?

Redefine your goals.

I need to remember that my goal was to write two blog posts five days a week. So far this month, I have written one. I am behind on my goal, and it is time to catch up. Hopefully, this will help me get back to writing!

Take breaks.

There are times when you just sit at your computer with a blank look on your face. It may be time to walk away and clear your head. That will allow you to work harder when you do come back. However, if you only have a few minutes to write, you better write! At this point, I can’t afford to take another break!

Photo Courtesy of Canva

Go back to the basics.

I love to write. Part of me likes to just sit at the computer and write. Instead of writing for BlogMutt, I am using my creativity to write my own blog. Look how well that is going! Instead of struggling to write a blog post, sometimes it is good to just stretch your creativity and do what you do best, without directions!

I am hoping that sitting here writing this blog post will help me get back on track. I might have to redefine my goals since I am behind already. Seeing that I am several posts behind stresses me out, even though I made the decision to not work on any blog posts until I finished my typing project. So, technically I am not really behind, though my invoices on BlogMutt keep telling me so.

Meanwhile, I am using my creative writing forces to write a blog post without stressing about writing for certain keywords. Hopefully this will get my juices flowing, so I am able to get back to writing!

This was previously published on my website. I closed it down to focus on my writing at different paying sites, such as BlogMutt (now Verblio), Writers Access, and Constant Content. I have recently discovered Vocal, where I can show some of my writing samples, plus write about things that are important to me. Hope you enjoy!

business
Like

About the Creator

Shelley Wenger

Small town country girl in southern Pennsylvania. Raising two boys on a small farm filled with horses, goats, chickens, rabbits, ducks, dogs, and a cat. Certified veterinary technician and writer at Virtually Shelley.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babukumar4 months ago

    GOOD ONE . READ MY STORY ON Top 10 Ways To Motivate Yourself LINK BELOW https://vocal.media/motivation/top-10-ways-to-motivate-yourself

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.