Journal logo

Today I Start My Dream Job as a Writer

Now I am finally a professional

By Robert WebbPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
7
Today I Start My Dream Job as a Writer
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

This year my dream came true. I finally got hired as a freelance writer.

It's been a long time coming, something I have wanted for longer than even I knew. If you google the company that hired me, you won't find anything. Maybe if you google my name you will find my profile.

The company that hired me is called Robert Webb Publishings LTD. It isn't the most catchy titled company, but what do I care, they made my dream come true, and now I can write happily, all year long.

As I already mentioned, if you google the company you won't find anything. That is because it only exists within the confines of my mind. That's right, you got it, I went and hired myself. Instead of waiting for someone else to make me a professional, I damn well went and made myself one.

This might come as a shock to you and it might end a little crazy, but I know what I need to get my ass into gear and I know what I promised myself for 2021.

By Florian Klauer on Unsplash

That's right, the new year is upon us and I am not going to wait around for someone else to be my saving grace, no sir, no way ma'am. I couldn't wait any longer and I needed something to ease my monkey mind. I personally find we wait too long for things to come to us, I'm sick and tired of waiting, so for 2021, I set myself up for success.

The knowledge of this practice is a saving grace, Steven Pressfield's fantastic book, "the War of Art".

After inhaling the knowledge he was so kind to share, I realized that the only thing stopping me from achieving my dreams, was me.

It wasn't an easy thing to come to terms with. Many days of reflection followed before I was ready to take up the job being offered to me. However, when I truly came to terms with my disappointment, it was an easy choice.

I built a new company and made a fake job posting. I applied for the job, conducted the interview rather well, and was bloody well accepted, who could have guessed it. Now I work five days a week, sometimes six. I start every day at 9 am sharp. My boss is pretty strict about the word count of the day but doesn't mind if I leave the job a little early, so long as I get my 2000 words in.

By Aaron Burden on Unsplash

My boss doesn't even care that much about what I write, although he sets me new tasks each day, some easier than others. Sometimes he sets me a challenge so frustrating that I nearly quit. When these times come I make sure to bust out Pressfield's book once again and remind myself why I'm doing this in the first place, and why I accepted the job.

I have a one-year contract with my new employer. They tell me that as long as I put in my 2000 words each day, five days a week, 52 weeks of the year, then I will make more of my dreams become a reality. That is what this year is about, the mighty self-actualization of 2021.

Each day when I finish work, I send it off to my employer, thank myself for putting in the work, and turn my laptop off. Each morning I wake up, I check my emails to see what new challenges await me and get to work. My boss doesn't give me much feedback but that's okay, I decided that for this year, I'll let feedback slip, so long as I put in the work each day, I shouldn't have to worry.

By Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

Last year, before I got hired, I felt hopeless about my writing career and never thought I could achieve my dreams. Now I am certain it will happen.

Maybe you should check your inbox, you never know when a new job opportunity can come your way.

Happy 2021, and good luck with your new boss.

career
7

About the Creator

Robert Webb

Freelance writer.

I write about all walks of life, from fiction to non-fiction, self-help to psychology, travel to philosophy.

I like to bring a sense of humor to serious topics, a splash of philosophical thinking, and a dash of weirdness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.