Journal logo

Tis The Season,

Reviews at Work

By #KristinaWritesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Saving Does Not Have to Hurt :)

If there is a more cringe worthy moment in time; I am not familiar with it. Where I work, we get annual reviews with upper management, and we can discuss issues we have. Basically, it is a report card type of meeting where we are graded on everything from core values and competencies that are either met, or not. This is pretty much a heart attack in a cup for someone with spiraling anxiety, like me.

There is a section that covers the ownership that I take on. Basically, saying that while it is good that I take on my own responsibilities, I tend to also take on those responsibilities of others. Can I argue with this; heck no I can’t because it is true! I am a total freak when it comes to things not being done correctly. So, I opt to do them myself. Apparently, that is frowned upon, and I need to stop doing that. That was a huge pill to swallow!

The sections on professionalism, attendance, and advocacy for my clients were all very positive. Which was refreshing. I tend to think I always have the betterment of my client in mind, but it helps to have that acknowledged and approved from time to time as well. While I do not want to be an overbearing representative for my clients, I want to ensure they are getting their needs met as well. It is difficult to draw that line in the sand between my clients and my employer. They are not one in the same since I work for a 3PL company, and we ship for other companies. I just want everyone to get along!

I have learned a lot working for this company and I have no intentions of leaving anytime too soon either. One of the best things I have incorporated is the way I save money. The management I work with is very big on teaching of income and how to save so that the stress of ‘not enough’ disappears and we can focus on working in a calmer atmosphere without added stressors. I will share with you one trick I have learned and something I still do 3 years later.

Utilize a secondary account, in a positive manner. Figure your rent and divide it by four weeks in a month. I will use mine as an example [$1000 rent / 4 weeks in a month = $250] so each week I deposit $260 into my secondary account. This ensures that every month my rent can be paid in full, and I am saving a bit on top of it. You might think that $10 a week is nothing, but when you are learning to live paycheck to paycheck, it is something. It comes in handy when you least expect it to. And quite frankly, it is a nice cushion so that there is one less stressor on my shoulders.

Please note that when I say, secondary account, I do not mean you have to go to a new bank or a different financial institution at all. Generally, you can open a second checking or even a savings account right there where you are banking now. What I opted to do was open a savings as the secondary account. You know why? Interest! My extra money in the account earns me free money. Not millions by any means, but extra money is extra money. I actually know a few friends that are married, and they have a joint savings account, but separate checking accounts. They pool their money together in the savings and they both work to the same goal.

Enjoy The Rest of Your Day!

Kristina!

advice
Like

About the Creator

#KristinaWrites

I love life & everyone in it! I have realized what I really want to do with my life; Write!

So, I'm an Ghost Blogger, Content Writer & Generalized Creator based in Texas and I write about...Life!

Follow Me: Facebook

Website: KristinaWrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.