Journal logo

This week's reviews FOUR

Week 4 of Ray's short story and other reviews

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
4

Each week (or whenever I feel like it) I review a choice selection of some of the best fiction and other short stories and episodes to be found in Vocal communities. If you would like me to review one of yours, please let me know by commenting at the end of this article.

Go back to week three reviews here

For a list of all past reviews click here

TOP SLOT

Good Soup

by AJ BIRT October 6, 2022 in SHORT STORY / HUMOR / FANTASY

This week’s top slot goes to a cracking story by AJ Birt. How would you cope with having Lucifer as your dinner guest? Not sure? Read this and find out how one soup chef survived a dance with the devil.

Brilliant story telling! Great to see an original depiction of Satan as a main character and they absolutely nailed the chaotic nature of making soup - The only way to make real good soup. What's more, the story got me hungry, even though I have only just eaten my own lunch.

https://vocal.media/fiction/good-soup

Look out for other great writing on AJ’s pages, including gay and trans themes: https://vocal.media/authors/aj-birt

*****

CONGRATULATIONS

Goes to winner of the recent New Worlds Challenge:

The Hourglass Academy

by ALLY NORTH, August 2022 in SCI FI

Wonderful and well-constructed story. Congratulations and well done to Ally for winning this challenge. This is definitely an author to watch, and you can of course see more of Ally’s work here:

https://vocal.media/authors/ally-north

I like the look of Bloom Town and so will be reading that next.

*****

OTHER REVIEWS

Ghost Game

by MORGANA MILLER August 2022 in SCI FI

One of the runners up in the recent New Worlds Challenge. Intriguing story and great to see someone writing about artificial intelligence in a way that is, well, intelligent and more authentic than artificial.

https://vocal.media/fiction/ghost-game

*****

Sorceress Part 1

by LEFSA October 5 2022 in FANTASY

I love a good witchy story, and this one is very inventive, original and engaging and captures the imagination immediately with a chance encounter between a flying Sorceress and a mere mortal such as us. A part work, it seems, so hopefully more good things to come. An author worth watching.

https://vocal.media/fiction/sorceress-part-1

*****

Tomorrow Never Knows

by SHELLEY CARROLL 12 days ago in SHORT STORY / LOVE / HUMOR

54-year-old divorcee Neala, with a trail of broken dreams, starts to see a neighbor in a new light. A kind of pink-hazed light it seems. Truly engaging story and just makes you want to read the next chapter. Hope to see it soon.

https://vocal.media/fiction/tomorrow-never-knows-coq8uj0i7e

*****

And now, last but not least, a truly touching story from a new creator:

Music awakens memories

All about finding love through music and mutual friendship. Please take a look and enjoy.

by KYLARA August 2022 in FRIENDSHIP

https://vocal.media/confessions/music-awakens-memories

*****

Finally, my little flash-fiction offering for this week. A little tale that also has a love-theme and is a drabble - a story in exactly 100 words.

Falling

by RAYMOND G. TAYLOR

“You hit the water from such a height, it’s a wonder you survived.”

“I don’t recall that bit, Jo, I just remember turning somersaults in the air.”

“If me and the others hadn’t been there in the canoes, you would have drowned. Do you remember the lifeboat?”

“All I remember is opening my eyes and seeing you looking down at me.”

“Do you know why you fell?”

“I fell for you, Jo.”

“What do you mean, you fell for me?”

“I mean I fell for you. I’ve loved you from that moment I first saw you. I’ll love you forever.”

*****

© Raymond G. Taylor, 2020-2022, all rights reserved. The author has asserted his right to be identified as the author of this work.

If you liked this story, you might like to read one or my other short stories and flash fiction here:

https://vocal.media/authors/raymond-g-taylor

I have recently published a collection of short stories Short and Sweet which is available in paperback and Kindle. It is available for a limited period for only $0.99 Get your copy now:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B09HQ3QC1P/

Please visit my other stories on vocal:

https://vocal.media/authors/raymond-g-taylor

Please visit the author on Facebook: Raymond.G.Taylor.author

book reviewfact or fictionfeatureliterature
4

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Madoka Moriabout a year ago

    I just found your review series, and they're all such great reads! Ally North and Morgana Miller especially are two of my favourite writers on the platform.

  • Ally Northabout a year ago

    Just seeing this now, thank you so much for the review and for your kind words! I think it’s incredible and so generous of you to do these reviews, I’m going to take a look at your others and I’m going to read some of your original stuff as well! Thanks again!

  • Lefsa2 years ago

    Thank you for the mention! I'm glad you liked my writing, and hopefully you will like what's next for that storyline!

  • AJ Birt2 years ago

    Thank you for the spotlight! This was a wonderfully formatted article as well :)

  • Kylara2 years ago

    Thank you so much for reading my work! I really appreciate it😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.