Journal logo

Think of Yourself

And Take a Day Off

By #KristinaWritesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
It Is All About BALANCE

I am a self-proclaimed ‘work-oholic’ and am not at all afraid to admit it. My job is not strenuous, but mentally; it is challenging. There are three completely different clients that depend on me being always on top of my game. If I am not; their business will suffer. That is not something I want to suffer because I am distracted. So, I make certain I am at my desk Monday through Friday from morning to early evening.

That is until this past week…

Being asked to cover a desk that I do not normally cover while a coworker went on vacation did not seem like an issue, so I agreed. I had one day of training and then I was running it on my own. Only to find out that there were several items that were not covered in training and that the position itself had different hours and the stress level was ridiculous. I still finished the term they wanted covered. However, my supervisor made me take the next day off as a ‘mental health day’ to clear my mind and refocus. I thought it was ludicrous and unnecessary; until that morning…

Being able to sleep in without an alarm set was phenomenal. However, the fact that I could get up and have coffee, relax, and catch up on some errands was even better. I was able to go to the home store and pick up some new outdoor chairs for my porch, have lunch with my husband at an actual café, and not have to look at my watch every minute to make sure I was not running late!

You MUST think of YOU

The mental clarity of my entire day was sparked to life. I could physically feel my mind clearing and allowing me to process my day easier. The stress from my job was leaving my shoulders, as I could physically feel it. I was shocking myself by the way I was able to process situations much easier and more efficiently.

There was a sense of burn-out happening and it was felt through my entire body. Especially in my shoulders, neck, and head. It seems that is where all the stress is housed for many people, so it is probably much more common than I ever imagined it would be. The actual act of leaving my desk allowed me to feel the improvement in my physical body. The stress was leaving my body hour by hour.

In just one short day off I was also able to really sit back and look at what my life was like before I became consumed with my work. I love writing, obviously, and I had not even turned on my laptop in several days. That is not like me at all. I had stopped my social media posting, and I noticed the texts to friends and family were single words here or there. Being able to refocus and realize I needed to regain balance in my work to life routine was incredibly important.

Sometimes What We Need is Peace

Although an entire week off would have been fantastic all it really took for me to realize that I needed to refocus was one day off. I would have never taken it off voluntarily, so for my supervisor to mandate it for me was the best thing to do. Sometimes we know what we need to do; however, it is just hard for us to give up control and do it. I knew in the back of my mind I needed to take a day to refocus, but I just did not think I could.

This just goes to show; sometimes we need someone else to look out for our well-being. In my case, it was my very own supervisor. Just another reason why I love my job!

Love Yourself Before All Else.

*Remember: If you like what you read - Leave me a Tip :)

advice
1

About the Creator

#KristinaWrites

I love life & everyone in it! I have realized what I really want to do with my life; Write!

So, I'm an Ghost Blogger, Content Writer & Generalized Creator based in Texas and I write about...Life!

Follow Me: Facebook

Website: KristinaWrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.