Journal logo

Things that you should know before looking for a job…

for real.

By TheFreeRootPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

You just graduated and you are full of hopes. Your family is proud of you and they look at you like you will be the next Kim Kardashian of the family. Filthy rich, going on expensive vacations, fancy restaurants and making soon plans for stuff like buying a house and 10 cars. And even if you are still single now, they don’t really mind because, once you have everything set up, you can easily choose someone that meets your preferences, because OBVIOUSLY every boy in town is waiting to be chosen.

Let me show you how this is completely, devastatingly, WRONG. And toxic, by the way. First, you can expect something between 2 months to 2 years just looking for the actual job. Competition is FIERCE out there. And, I know, I know, I sound like those discouraging old people that don’t know anything about the current society model and just say a bunch of crap to show that they know something and that you should owe them respect. But let me tell you, it is TRUE. Unfortunately. A word that I absolutely hate and it’s the favorite (I wonder how many times it has been typed) by HR people. Now those people, those are the ones you can’t mess up with. The guardians. The ones that allow certain people to the first steps of a job hire and nobody knows really with which parameters they make their decisions. I certainly don’t know, else I would be stuck at a 9-5 right now.

Then, after spending time of your precious life sending out your CV and writing cover letters that boost the company’s egos, lick their asses and suck out every little drop of soul out of you, you finally land an interview. Now, you probably spent hours at the job center and they indoctrinated you on how you should behave and remember! body language. Thank you, it’s my first time being human.

Finally you are at your well dreamed desk, talking to the people that you will spend most of your life with (literally 160+ hours a month, 1900 a year) and they will probably not be your cup of tea nor same aged. 40s years old talking about bringing their kids at the pool and hair dresser and how funny was that dress, oh yea, it was…

But let’s close an eye on all of this and start the job, probably it will be fun and motivating and exciting! Probably not. Most certainly not. No. No. Nooooo. Oh crap. My life sucks. This is so repetitive and boring and EASY. I could do it in 2 hours if I wanted. Why are they giving me 8? And the money?

Now. You will certainly find plenty of excuses to keep doing it. The money is fine, it is secure and comfortable. There are ways to get to the top… If you find them, text me. And by the way, the higher you go, the more taxes you pay… Just saying…

You might be asking yourself now, what the solution?

Problem: the job isn’t motivating, the people are dull, the manager is an ass.

Solution: CREATE YOUR DAMN JOB AND DON’T STAND IN YOUR WAY TOWARDS A LIFE OF FREEDOM AND HAPPINESS.

Simple as that. Remember your time = your life, so choose wisely how and for whom to spend it. I would choose to spend it for me, I don’t know about you…

You have to start with the mindset first, then you can really achieve what you want.

So, I will be giving ‘practical’ advices in future articles but for now let’s keep it simple and let me end with a vision quote that will make your brain swirl a little:

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.