Journal logo

The Value of Time

Don't Ask to Negotiate the Price

By Alyse McDonaldPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Time vs Money 

I'm a little bit frustrated these days and one thing in particular that I'd like to share.

I am an Early Childhood Educator and I have started making felt stories as a side business to earn some extra income. Making a felt story not only costs money to buy the supplies, but it takes up my time; as others who make felt stories as a side business can relate.

I have just started doing this and I will make one and post it; once someone purchases it, I will then make it. I currently have quite a bit of materials to make them, but it did cost me the money up front.

One thing that annoys me in particular is people who ask if the price is negotiable! And this frustrates me. I have not only purchased all of the supplies, but I have also put in the time and effort to make it readily available.

In an economy where people are struggling financially, I get it. Not everyone can afford to pay for things, but if you aren't happy with the prices that people charge for their products, then go buy the supplies and make it yourself. See how much it costs you out of your pocket and how much of your time and effort is taken up to do it.

I see things online all the time and sometimes I'm like I want that and other times I think I cannot afford to pay what they are charging, so I will buy the supplies and make it myself.

The more details or pieces that you receive when you order something, the thing you have to remember is that it took more materials to make it. Everything comes at a cost. These days a lot of people say, "I don't have time" or they have some sort of excuse as to why they can't do it.

It really frustrated me because someone messaged me recently saying they were interested in my felt story and then came back and said, "never-mind I found it somewhere else cheaper." Again, I get people not wanting to always pay more for things but it made me feel like my hard work and effort wasn't good enough and that I should drop my prices because of that.

I am at a point where I am so discouraged in the lack of support. I know there are other places and ways to sell, but when people are always looking for something "cheaper," don't bother asking if you're not willing to pay. There is a reason that things are priced the way that they are. I could probably charge a little bit less, but why should I? Why should anyone?

If we charged people based on the time it takes us to make these items/projects, it would cost a HELL of A LOT more then we are charging. So in hind site the price you are seeing is ALREADY a lower price.

In the link below, it talks about "The Value of Time" and charging what you are worth. If EVERYONE in the world charged people for their time for EVERYTHING they sold, a simple felt story would cost you way more then $15, $20, $30 and so on.

We already know that we pay electricians, plumbers, mechanics, etc for the supplies PLUS their time. Because if they JUST charged for their supplies, they would make little to no money. Also, if they didn't charge for their time, they'd just rack up the prices of the supplies.

Everyone's like is busy and everyone time is precious. If you are not willing to pay for something because you don't like the price, then move on because the person that made that item/product poured their blood and sweat into making it! Some people don't charge enough for their products and they should. It's NOT just about the supplies, it's about the time. If you want it cheaper, go and make it yourself! It's the fucking simple.

Everything in life has a price and I'd set my prices higher based on my "TIME", but I don't. Things that are mass produced can cost less because it takes less time to make them. But something that is homemade from a small business is worth every cent you pay and so much more. So remember that the next time you see something priced for a certain amount. Don't ask to negotiate the price, because the person who made that used THEIR TIME!

I am one to support small businesses because without the support, they wouldn't exist.

https://mor10.com/value-time-charge-youre-worth/

advice
Like

About the Creator

Alyse McDonald

Hello! Welcome to my Vocal Blog! Thanks for stopping by!

M

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.