Journal logo

The spirit of an entrepreneur

Where did it go? Is it lost in the mist of adulthood?

By Basil FreshPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
A Definition.

An entrepreneur:

“a person who sets up a business or businesses, taking on financial risks in the hope of profit. “

I always find it funny to think that I have nothing to lose. The things I do to keep my life afloat just enough to blend in and go through other day. We never hope to lose, especially the things and people we all are having right now in our life’s. Afraid of constant changes, new challenges and crazy obstacles.

I remember to be younger back then, and days of kicking it on the park. We will explore every nook and cranny of the park. All the dark alleys to high walls that are told to be a secret place for us kids to hang out and play. We would challenge each other of bets and dares to make history appear in that small circle of friends. We will have names for tasks that we each conquered and achieved~ I was “bolt” back then. Until someone faster caught up to me at tag.

Basically, we all lost that spirit when we start to step into adulthood. Because of responsibility and duties. But life is still a gamble, all that’s changed is the environment and the stakes are getting higher now. Or that’s what you might think.

The high rock wall that use to be easier to climb back then was still present from this very day. And it’s still as tall as I used to remember. But now , it looks even higher for some reason, even though I’ve grown taller to compensate with the disadvantages I had before when I was climbing this big mountain that was in front of a younger me. I wish to have a longer hand and a stronger grip to prevent me from giving myself a heart attacks whenever I’m feeling like I’ll never able to make it. And now I have it. But I never gotten to the top of it. I kinda joked about it, saying it’s pointless to indulge in child’s play ever so often. But it bothers me, as THAT is how I was handling life right now.

Where was the passion? Where was the determination? I don’t have a lot to figure out, but I’m still waking in circles, trying to find courage. I always say I’m stuck, but before ? I couldn’t bother to even try to give up. The reason why to risk is because we could recover fast in situations like these. And right now, it seems like it’s impossible to replicate that recovery that well.....

I disagree. I don’t think meeting with a few bad clients or friends or associates is going to diminish the spirits of us entrepreneurs . Because at the end , it’s all an investment. I refuse to play it safe like my father did. Because I knew I want something he could never understand, and that is a stability of my dreamscape. A place that will never run out of hope. And keep likeminded people like me together under the same roof. It’s not easy to create a business, let alone maintaining it....

To push boundaries after boundaries was a norm to me, until adulthood hits. And suddenly,just happened to forget how to adapt? It’s not a joke when I say people are CRUSHED when it comes to dreams and ambitions. And I kept hearing people say good luck and bad advice. I felt for some of them , but only because people are cruel enough to make traps out of it. And I’m truly disappointed to the people out there , trying to diminish, or even take advantage of those who seek hope. Why point out naivety when evil is also at play there? It’s like people are trying to reward the people with ill intentions just because someone deserves it. Twisted, but at the same time reasonable under the society we live in.

Eat your hearts out, until you become their next victim.

I believe businesses aren’t hard to set up. It’s all common talk about how settings are complicated and resources are hard to find. My problem is always with the process, I typically burned out by seeing so many gloomy things happening in a span of days and the demotivating energy that is coming from around my friends. Right now I’m in a better headspace for creating and idea plotting. But I could never escape the words that comes from myself. It’s an uphill battle when it comes to setting up a business of your own. All the doubts and self-loathing effects the spirit you once had, and looping those bad experiences to make you intimidated to try new things and experiments. And that’s why I’d rather live alone, no distractions and just more work in general. I can’t imagine having more than one person in my safe space telling me how everything I do kinda sucks , it will definitely make me less productive. And I’m struggling with it in the past year and a half.

It’s all airy and you might think you won’t have days like I described. You might even think, “well, I’ll just never do bad decisions and excel in greatness like how I do with every task I did.” And that’s a great spirit right there. But keeping it? It’s going to be hard. Reality is going to hit , but remember . As long as you are able to find the closest representation to you vision and work on it. You’re good to go. I just hope you do remember that and remembered the reason why you pursue. Mixed signals are everywhere and I don’t think you are going through without having a fight. Make the fight make sense, so you don’t get distracted.

I believe the true spirit of an entrepreneur is not about how we are known to take financial risks and make a profit, it’s about the determination we are willing to give to a project that we could see a future in it. “If you could think about it, then it’s definitely possible.” And we definitely could standby with that statement, and definitely make things happen. It’s all calculated risks, and what’s not to feel bad about losing? It’s a pity that grudges are made in those experiences, and that’s when I ask “what happened to friendly mentalities in competitions?”

I’m definitely going to keep watering my basil to keep my hopes fresh. (Hence the name, basil fresh.) Guess I’ll probably be seeing you in my next writing. So till then? Keep watering those basils my friends. : )

🌱🚿

advice
Like

About the Creator

Basil Fresh

a mixed African Chinese. Probably trilingual, (putonghua counts right?) and has an Unquenchable thirst for knowledge and mochi.

*drooling*

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.