Journal logo

The Reason Why I cannot let Vocal Go... Just yet!

There's just too much going on here and I want to keep things going somewhere.

By Sam Writes SecurityPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
The Reason Why I cannot let Vocal Go... Just yet!
Photo by J. Balla Photography on Unsplash

I like putting together a story exactly when I come up with the idea. If I think about it now that's exactly when I start writing because a few minutes after it longer feels the same. it's no longer relevant and I just lose interest. That's how I roll your case may be different, that is only normal.

I came up with this story idea after I decided to take a vocal survey. Funny enough the Vocal editor was acting up. Wait a minute! How do I put this….

"It's 6 am in the morning (9th of August) and I'm writing this only a few minutes after taking a survey by vocal. The email was hard to find because it went to my promotional tab and I don't check that folder frequently. Should I decide to take it (which kinda felt like a line from Mission Impossible) I'd be helping them with information which would help make the best of vocal so I bought it, it being the idea of course.

I liked the questionnaire so much that I was motivated and had the idea to write a story about how I'd still use the platform and how I believe I benefit from so doing. I'm really not sure when this will go live if it does since I have two more stories which are still pending publication for over twelve hours which is still not that bad."

I still see these things as an issue. I gave up going italic cause it's no longer 6 am I was live at the time. I was writing live, like Instagram without video more like a Facebook post before you could schedule and all.

 Anyway when I first gave the platform a go I was moved by the fact that it was in a way similar to Medium with a different business model which at the time I believed was great. But, not great for me. Now I believe it still is great but this time around generally aah but still not for me.

We write these stories hoping that the same will be read eventually and that is how we gain. Knowing that your story is being read is an interesting feeling. I'm not even talking about tips, bonuses and what we get per minute read "which suck - big time" but I guess you feel even better when you know that you'll get something for sharing your mind.

 Vocal allows anyone on the internet to read your stories even if they don't have an account on the platform which to me seems powerful and that is one interesting difference between Medium and Vocal. Right here Vocal wins and I believe influential people if there's such a word (if not I just came up with it) with a large following would benefit gratefully simply by driving traffic to their vocal profile and stories. Ta DA! Magic!

I know a few creators who make the best out of vocal because of this. And thousands of creators who make less than 10 cents a month due to this and the fact that they don't share much their stories around. For what it's worth I can relate to the last part.

Is it me or does the heading make this sound a bit ironic? 

I was suppose to share some positive words about the platform and why I'm still here and it kind of feels like that's not what I'm doing but even with all the negativity that I've shared here it still feels like a good place to be.

Unless you're having the best experience with the platform I don't see how this can be something to depend on. It's just not that type of platform ... Yet.

business
1

About the Creator

Sam Writes Security

Writer | Cyber Security Enthusiast

https://samwritessecurity.medium.com

"[email protected]"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.