Journal logo

The Pros and Cons of Entrepreneurship

Is it worth it?

By Edward FayPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
The Pros and Cons of Entrepreneurship
Photo by Hunters Race on Unsplash

February 12th, 2013 was the last day I worked in the corporate world. I remember feeling like it was the best and worst day of my life. No longer did I have to answer to the man but I also was embarking on a journey shrouded in uncertainty. Working for yourself isn't always glamorous. Frankly, it can be like eating glass and staring into the abyss. . It's up to you to determine whether the advantages are worth having to confront the disadvantages. There is no such thing as a foolproof track to success and entrepreneurship is not an exception. I would like to share some of the more prominent things I've experienced after being a full-time entrepreneur for the last seven years.

By Hunters Race on Unsplash

Cons:

Work and Home Life Often Collide

In the corporate world what's expected of you is very clear. it's quite the opposite of working for yourself. Your schedule is entirely your responsibility. I'm a single guy living alone so I don't have to worry about anyone else for the most part. This was not the case two years ago. My girlfriend at the time in her infinite wisdom figured since I was working from home I can clean, take our new puppy out constantly. You know what? She was right! I'll give you a hint I wasn't starting a cleaning or dog walking business. Your responsibilities to your relationships and family do not change. You will find yourself having to compromise more and more and it'll likely be overwhelming.

You'll Do a Lot of Work for Free

Much of the work you do for your business you will not get paid for at least in the beginning. Obviously, you need to pay your bills. Entrepreneurship is playing the long game so you will need to relinquish some attachment to the financial upside. It can be hard to motivate yourself to do things that aren't producing income right now, but it's necessary so that you can keep your business running smoothly.

Family Will Ask To Do Things

Back to what I said before your responsibilities to your family and relationships do not magically end. The relationship two years ago that I mentioned ended because I neglected it so much. While hard it made me a better person. If you can avoid that pitfall by learning from my mistake I'd be really happy I helped. In recent years entrepreneurship gets tossed around like some mystical tagline that guarantees your happiness. That is not only untrue it perpetuates inauthenticity.

By Ann Danilina on Unsplash

You will get distracted.

Without supervision, even the most disciplined and organized individuals can go off the rails due to the internet, television, and things around you that will distract you from work. While writing this article I'm guilty of taking that long romantic walk to the fridge to grab a snack I know I shouldn't have. It's up to you and only you to create an efficient schedule.

Pros:

No More Living by the Clock

If you structure your business and schedule the right way you can wake up naturally without an alarm forcing you to get up when your body isn't ready. You can hit the sack whenever you'd like. It was only recently I was hit with the reality of not feeling fulfilled so I set my schedule to have the kind of day I want which has helped so much.

No More Traffic Jams

One of the best working from home is not being caught in rush hour traffic jams when you need to use the restroom after smashing that delicious cup of coffee. You won't have to do that anymore and it will be a relief, most especially on days where the weather is in a climate. sitting on my balcony first thing in the morning with my coffee and a book is one of my favorite things in the world.

Fewer Work-Related Interruptions

Office chatter or that annoying co-worker can get overwhelming at times and can make it difficult to get work done. Not to mention office meetings. Let's be honest, did work get done due to a meeting?

A Flexible Schedule

If you have a doctor's appointment or PTA meeting you don't have to ask permission to go. If you want to get your hair done or a lunch date with a friend goes for it. Whatever you want to do during the day is on your own accord as long as you still make time to also get your work done so you can get paid. Your schedule is yours.

Welcome to being an Entrepreneur

Edward Fay

business
2

About the Creator

Edward Fay

For the last eight years, I've been an entrepreneur in financial services while pursuing my passion for fitness by competing in bodybuilding competitions

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.