Journal logo

The Important Matter of Getting a Vocal Top Story

Don't let your ego free-fall

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago Updated 10 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - December 2022
66
The Important Matter of Getting a Vocal Top Story
Photo by Artur Aldyrkhanov on Unsplash

The Important Matter of Getting a Vocal Top Story

Don't let your ego free-fall.

You finally did it! One of your articles made it to Top Story placement! Exciting! You get caught up in the validation, the monetary rewards, the accolades! The feeling of greatness! “Yes! Yes, I am a great writer!”

The questioning begins in your head. “What is it about this article that made it receive Top Story billing? Oh, I see! That’s it! I’ll recreate that! After all, I am a great writer. Here’s the secret …”

And then disappointment washes over you as your creation, written with your sights set on receiving another Top Story, gets passed over, not receiving the intended spotlight. So, you try again, to no avail. And again. Still nothing.

“What’s wrong with me?” You ask yourself, concluding you’re just a terrible writer and no one cares about what you have to say.

Please, don’t jump down that rabbit hole.

As a flawed human, I have been through the aforementioned cycle several times. I have felt incredibly fortunate to be one of the chosen, then utterly disappointed when my next few pieces didn’t make the cut. After all, I am a splendid writer and everything I write should be at the Top! (I am being sarcastic - I know not everything I write is phenomenal, but still …)

So, what is the secret for a piece being chosen for the front-page? I have no idea.

I can’t give you advice, I can only share my individual experience.

My first two Top Stories were in July and November of 2021 in Families and Poets, my last three were in October and November of 2022 in Poets, Criminal and Journal. All were Creative Non-fiction and Poetry. I see many stories which I would consider pop-culture, about celebrities or current events, which satiates a universal curiosity, or How-to pieces, which offer a tidbit of knowledge of a global interest. Neither of those are my niche. I also see a good amount of Fiction which, in my opinion, utilizes a good initial hook and offers a compelling read throughout the entire piece. Someday, maybe I’ll figure out how to do that.

The Top Stories are chosen by humans, which makes it all a bit subjective. I’m not sure it’s worth writing for the intent of making a Top Story, so much as it is to write what feels good to you. I suppose it comes down to an individual’s reason for writing. Remember why sharing your words is important to you.

My best advice, from having received a handful of Top Stories, and a multitude of disappointments, is to just keep writing. With words written from the heart and a story with universal appeal, eventually, your writing will receive the recognition of a Top Story - or not. How much does it really matter? If you love writing and you’ve written something that speaks from your heart and soul, relying on outside validation is going to be crushing, even when it’s momentarily fulfilling. Trying to please the masses becomes paralyzing.

Just keep writing, whether it’s pop-culture, personal experience, fiction, non-fiction, poetry, etc. Your voice is important. And unique. And it will be heard where it needs to be heard. Keep writing, keep learning, keep exploring your voice.

I write this as much as a reminder to myself, as I do for you, dear reader; for as much as I consider myself a hardened writer, I, too, come equipped with a fragile ego.

Thank you for reading! What advice do you have to offer writers chasing Top Story status?

advice
66

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (31)

Sign in to comment
  • Alexander McEvoy9 days ago

    Getting a Vocal Top Story is one of the greatest pleasures I have in life right now. Such a dopamine high, goodness what a rush really. In many ways I've been extremely lucky in my Vocal journey, out of 104 published pieces, I've had 12 Top Stories in Fiction, Poetry, Men, and Horror. That's an incredible achievement, I think! 11.5% (can you tell I was raised by an accountant?) of my entries getting that recognition is unbelievable! But I do always wonder why, and I'd love to get some more clarity from Vocal on the process. I've noticed that if I take a break from publishing, I'm more likely to be recognized when I come back, and the stories that do get chosen are never the ones that I think with get chosen. It's really odd and something consumes my thinking as I try to untangle the reasons behind the curation team's choices

  • Stephen A. Roddewig12 months ago

    Sometimes I imagine the Vocal editors all standing around a roulette wheel, watching the marble bounce around, and whatever square it lands on becomes the next Top Story. Then they all get a good laugh watching us all scramble to figure out the pattern so we can replicate it. I made some remark to my de facto editor that "I used to be less corporatist in my writing" recently. It's stuff like Top Story that's become too much of a focus. If you write only focused on the reward, what gets lost in the process? Questions like that worry me and are part of the reason I'm starting to step back from this platform.

  • Peter Roseabout a year ago

    I have had well over 200 essays published on Vocal --lost count-- and over12,000 views never had a top story- this does not matter, as you suggest write for yourself, good advice

  • U.Rdiyaabout a year ago

    Inspiring Article. Congrats on your Top Story!

  • Mary Haynesabout a year ago

    Excellent perspective, and great advice! Thank you for sharing. I’ve had two top stories that completely baffled me, and yes, I too thought, ah ha! But alas no repeated success. But we keep going.

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Thank you for the reminder. Happy writing!

  • Testabout a year ago

    Yes! Loved this piece, I can relate full heartedly that I fell down the rabbit hole. But once I began writing again, it's amazing. It made me appreciate this practice even more!

  • R. J. Raniabout a year ago

    I just love the encouragement and warmth in this article, Keila! While being recognized in Top Stories is so nice, the writing is often reward in itself. Also, congratulations on Top Story 🤗

  • I totally agree with you. Just avoid that self pity and self doubt rabbit hole but just keep writing! Thank you for sharing this!

  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a year ago

    4 years on vocal. About 80 stories. 2 top stories in all that time. It doesn’t matter how great myself or others think the story may be- vocal passes ‘em over. Their damn loss.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    I had three in one month...and then, nothing more. You should never let instafame get to you. Just keep doing what you know is honest to you. Well said, Ms. Harris. ;)

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Motivational!!! Congratulations on another Top Story!!!😊

  • Annelise Lords about a year ago

    I agree. Thank you for this.

  • Annelise Lords about a year ago

    Please, don’t jump down that rabbit hole. Love this.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Wonderful article :) Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Congratulations 🎉 great advice and encouragement

  • J. Scott Tannerabout a year ago

    And, don't give up! I have a top story that I posted two months ago for the Paolini challenge, and was somewhat shocked when I saw it make the front page a couple of days ago. I think sometimes it takes a while for a story to pass in front of the right folks (there's a ton of great stuff hitting Vocal every day). So don't get discouraged if you aren't instantly recognized. Be proud of your work, and celebrate the fact that you had the courage to press "publish". That's a huge achievement of itself.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the top story.

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    This is a great an inspirational piece! As someone who hasn't received one, it's encouraging to know my writing matters even if I don't get top story!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    I wish I had straight forward advice for Top Story status. I've only earned it once so far. And I believe it happened because my article was timed right for the season and it was not a short piece. What I can say is that it's a tough call if I like Top Story or Runner-Up more. Because I like conversation, Top Story felt amazing because so many people commented and showed a lot of love and engagement!!!

  • Gary Ragnarssonabout a year ago

    Congratulations on this Top Story as well as your others! You are a spectacular writer, and I know well the feeling of receiving Top Story and the shallow sigh of not haha

  • Writing itself is a great stepping stone to develop your craft and skills.Top story and overall recognition is a bonus but the real fire is contining to write despite the odds that may be against you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.