Journal logo

The Idea

writing tips

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago Updated 11 months ago 4 min read
1
The Idea
Photo by ian dooley on Unsplash

So, if you are reading this, I will assume you want to write something. You might have been sitting on the couch with a pen and notebook in your hands, or you may be staring at a blank Word document on your computer screen, wondering what it is you want to write about, or you know what to write about, but don’t know how to start.

Many thoughts might be running through your brain right now. Is there a right idea? A wrong one? Should I just stop now while I still have my sanity?

Well, for starters, you should take several deep breaths and step away from your notebook or computer because panicking about it won’t help you.

Then, let me help you figure this out. So now, join me in finding the idea!

Coming Up With The Idea

Now, not to put pressure on you or anything, but if you are committed to writing, you need to have an idea that you’re passionate about.

It doesn’t matter if it’s fiction, non-fiction, or poetry. You need to like your idea if you want it to work. Readers can and will sense it if you’re not a fan of your own work and will tune out.

Passion is vital for good writing because what’s the point without the drive and want to write?

That said, you don’t need the perfect idea right away, and you probably won’t, especially if this is your first time writing, but that’s okay. It takes time and lots of drafts before you figure out the true story. Trust me, I know from experience.

So take some more deep breaths.

Non-Fiction

Since I don’t have much experience with anything non-fiction outside of school assignments and writing posts about various events in my life, it depends on what topic you are discussing.

But for essays and research papers, I would stick with the evolving thesis, which basically allows your topic to grow and change as you write and research whatever topic you pick.

If you’re writing about yourself, like an autobiography or memoir, I would write and see where it goes.

Similar advice if you’re writing about someone else, like a biography, only make sure your facts are correct about that person and their experiences. You don’t want to look like an idiot, after all.

Fiction

For fiction, write what interests you. Of course, what you prefer reading is always a good start.

Me, I like writing paranormal fiction, so that’s my primary focus. However, I have also been writing a sci-fi series and short stories.

But there are so many genres anymore, from sci-fi, fantasy, romance, mystery, and every genre in between.

So have fun with it, and be you.

Poetry

As for poetry, it’s not something I particularly enjoyed reading or writing in the past; I’ve been writing more poetry lately. But I don’t stick to one style, doing it freeform instead.

So check out the types and see which style vibes are best for you and which books are great to do that research. Poem writing prompts can be helpful if you are starting out and struggling to write a full one yourself.

I have used these prompts several times, which worked out well for me.

Finding Inspiration

For all of these types, if you’re having trouble finding inspiration, I suggest going outside or reading pieces related to whatever you are writing about.

I have found inspiration for my book within other books or simply by looking around town, sometimes even in nature or events, if it was poetry. The trick is to relax and let your mind wander.

Some apps let you write and publish short stories, poems, and quotes if you’re looking for inspiration.

I would recommend Writeco, since they provide prompts, and you can see other people’s posts, but there are others too.

Pinterest is another excellent place to research. It takes a lot of the work of researching online away, as it’s a vast collection of information.

To Finish

Great ideas tend to appear when you are not looking.

Sure, you probably will change your idea a few times before finding the one that speaks to you. I have, at least three times if I remember right.

That’s okay. It allows you to figure out your process and become a better writer. My writing certainly has gotten better over the years.

But stop staring at the white blankness and start writing! You won’t know what you want to write about until you start.

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it.

how to
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create anything from fiction to personal stories, poetry, and more.

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.