Journal logo

The Good and Bad of Owning Your Own Business: Ending With the Good!

It is WORTH It

By Shelley WengerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo Courtesy of Canva

With my last blog, I touched on all of the bad that goes along with owning your own business. However, there are so many good reasons to work from home. The list of bad things seemed extensive, even to me, as I was writing and editing my post. However, the good things definitely outweigh the bad. Otherwise, there would not be so many people willing to try to start their own business while raising a family. Even though it is hard, many people are succeeding at it and enjoying it too.

Here are some of the good things about working from home and owning your own business.

I am a paid writer. I even have the T-shirt to prove it! I am working my way up the levels at Blogmutt. They send you a T-shirt when you reach level 6. I just got mine last week. I love to be able to say that I am a paid writer!

I can bring in extra income. When I was a stay-at-home mom (for only a few short months), I was miserable. I know raising children is hard, and it is work, but I felt very worthless because I spent all of the money instead of helping to bring any in. Now, all the extra money I bring in helps to get our credit card bills down.

I can work at home. Yes, I work outside of my home, but I would have to work even more without my writing income. Even though the income goes up and down (depending on how much time I have to devote to it), I am still bringing in some decent money each month.

Since I got my tablet, my work is more mobile. Though I don’t have it on my phone plan, I can work without the internet because I can save certain websites to use later. This works well when the boys and I go places and I have a few moments. Also, my rants do not usually require much research.

I am able to work around my children’s schedules. The only problem with this is if I am unmotivated and don’t work, I don’t make any money. However, if I have appointments or have to go to the store, I am able to. If the boys are playing quietly for a few minutes, I can just grab my tablet and type away. If we go somewhere, and they fall asleep, I can sit in the car and write until they wake up. I used to be very productive during nap time, though I am not lucky enough to have that anymore.

Owning my own business gives me flexibility. I can work around my children’s schedules. I can work around my other job. If someone is sick, mom is still there. I will be there to put the kids on the bus and get them off of it when the time comes. I am home when my husband comes home.

I can do exactly what I want to do. Now, we all know there are tasks in every business that you don’t want to do. Nobody likes to do paperwork. However, as a business owner, you can focus on the tasks that you enjoy most. It took me a long time to figure out the direction for my business, but I am so glad that I finally found it! Writing barely feels like work (well, most of the time).

Working from home is wonderful. It allows me to bring in some income, taking away my feelings of worthlessness. I really struggled as a stay-at-home mom. I love the feeling of having an extra income. Even though some weeks are pretty bad, it is still extra money to pay bills. I can work when and where I want to. I can work around the family schedule. The best part is that I get paid to write. What can be better than doing what you love? For me, nothing!

business
1

About the Creator

Shelley Wenger

Small town country girl in southern Pennsylvania. Raising two boys on a small farm filled with horses, goats, chickens, rabbits, ducks, dogs, and a cat. Certified veterinary technician and writer at Virtually Shelley.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.