Journal logo

The Experience Will Look Good On Your Resume

And other things to stop chasing when it comes to work

By Alice VuongPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Top Story - March 2021
40
The Experience Will Look Good On Your Resume
Photo by Brooke Lark on Unsplash

We live in a world controlled by status, money, prestige and fancy titles.

We’ve learned to respect someone with the title of Chief anything, to be in awe of the bank account more than the hard work or passion, the fancy cars and big houses leave us drooling and wanting more than what we already have.

I can’t even count the number of times someone has said to me, “The experience will look good on your resume” or something of the like.

Is the appearance of being successful all we’re supposed to strive for?

Are looks more important than the actual experience?

I left a huge company just as they announced that I was going to make management level. Yes, the title would’ve looked great on my resume, the role would’ve given me more opportunities for advancement at the firm and in other industries, and I would’ve made more money, gained more leadership and management skills.

I left.

I turned it down to work for a public institution making much less and with less room to advance. But at least I believe in the vision and mission of the organization now, I no longer work 14 hour days plus weekends, and I’m happier for it.

I’m not telling you this to say, “Oh, look at me. I’m so righteous and I have all my values and priorities in the right place.”

I don’t.

But I guess I had some things figured out and knew where I stood in terms of work and life even in my younger days.

We go through life endlessly striving for the next notch on our belt or the next promotion and in the end, how much do we actually accomplish?

We wonder what the money’s like, what other people will think of our titles and roles, whether we can buy that new car we’ve been eyeing. Whether it’s your resume or bank account you’re trying to beef up, there are 3 things to stop chasing when determining if the work is worth doing.

The Money (to an extent)

By 金 运 on Unsplash

I think this is a given (or at least that’s what most creatives say). Every article I’ve read about following your passion, true calling, or whatever you want to call it tells you not to follow the money.

But money is important.

There’s no denying that. It doesn’t matter how much you hate it and hate having to work for it, you know you need it and everybody wants it.

A little confession about me (if you didn’t already know):

I still have my 9–5 job. I’m not ashamed of it. I commend those people who are hustling and working their asses off and making money from their passion. I hope to be there someday. But my job helps me pay my bills and alleviates a lot of the stresses that come with not having enough. My job allows me to chase my creative spirit (in my off time) without having to worry if I can pay my mortgage this month and for that, I’m grateful to have it.

So why is money #1 on my list when my 9–5 is about keeping my head above water?

Because there comes a point when you know you have enough money yet you still want more of it. So you go for the next promotion or leave a job you love because someone else is willing to give you more dollars. And you end up hating your new role or have less time to spend with your family.

I didn’t want to be a manager at one of the biggest accounting firms because I knew what kind of life I would have if I took the job. It’s wouldn’t have been much of a life. We may not realize it but having more time trumps having more money in the end.

At some point, we need to stop working for the money and find something that truly matters to us. It doesn’t have to be a full time job and I doubt that anybody is asking you to replace your full time income with your new found love but find something that makes you truly feel at peace with yourself. Because work doesn’t always have to mean doing something to make money. In the simplest of its form, work is the exertion of energy in order to achieve something, anything.

Find what you’re willing to do for free anyway and explore it to its (and your) full potential. Maybe the money will come and maybe it won’t. At least you’ll stop chasing that dollar bill and be happier for it.

How The Experience Will Look On Your Resume

By Van Tay Media on Unsplash

Ahh the resume. The one piece of paper that defines your entire working life, dictates how successful you’ve been in your career, determines your future career trajectory, and highlights everything you want to share about yourself to future employers and shot callers.

It’s the holy grail of your career, where you’ve been and where you’re headed.

Like the title suggests, it’s one of those questions we need to stop asking ourselves. The resume is the reason most people take on roles they don’t care for or become managers for an organization they hate.

The experience will look good on their resume.

Is the title on your resume worth the time and sacrifice?

Rather than obtaining the experience and skills simply because it’ll look good on your resume, gain the experience and skills because you want to, because you believe that it will help you grow as a human being and into a future that you actually look forward to.

The Title, Prestige, and Status of It All

By Javier Reyes on Unsplash

There’s a false perception of importance in job titles. You feel important when you can tell someone you’re the “Founder” or “CEO” of X company and you feel even more important knowing what that job title implies.

It means you’re running the show.

The problem begins when we start associating our identity, our very core, to the title. We see this title and the prestige it brings as a permanence in our life when it’s anything but. The title can be taken away in an instant. Then what are we left with? An empty shell? A lost identity? Mental anguish and defeated self-esteem and pride?

A title is 2 to 3 words strewn together to make you sound important. The meaning is really in the work you’re doing, not the words being thrown around.

If you’re going for the title, whatever your reason is, find meaning in the title and the role and not just because it sounds good. At the very core of a title, it needs to hold some meaning and give a purpose that’s more than esthetics.

Strive for purpose, not the title

By Michael Heuser on Unsplash

It’s easy to lose sight of what’s really important because what’s considered “important” is defined and handed out on a silver platter by other people and expected to be taken without question, and unfortunately, sometimes it does get taken without fail and without question.

We chase and chase thinking we’re getting ahead when, in reality, we’re really spinning around in circles.

There’s no right or wrong on how to live your life, just make sure it’s a life of your choosing by chasing the things that matter to you.

This article was originally published on Medium

advice
40

About the Creator

Alice Vuong

I write because I can't not write.

Parenting, relationships, marketing, personal development, and anything that interests me is my writing jam.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.