Journal logo

The Big Exhale

An artist response to the Pandemic

By Lillian the ArtistPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

It was June of 2018. I join a small group of fine artists. As a guest drop in the anticipation reduces me to that of a child I had not been in this environment in over a generation of single parenthood and emerging artists status.

Pallet and Chisel is a century old members only academy located in a Chicago mansion in the exclusive Gold Coast neighborhood. It began in the 19th century by a small group of School of the Art Institute.

As purveyor of the fine arts experience, the brochure boasted “65 classesa week in studio model sittings for the professional and ameteur artist. Choose your medium. Easels provided first come first served. Sculpture classes are offered as well.

My thoughts went straight to my days sketching and drawing or painting the subject. Decades faded away as I painted the live model. I painted three watercolors during the session. The only abstract painter amoung portrait artists. Days later I uploaded the samples to be accepted as an associate member! The application asked for three RECENT WORKS. I was accepted without hesitation.

That session jump started my journey back toward the lifestyle I put away while raising children. In two years I could be doing this full time! I’ll be an empty nester. I built up my fledgling studio, carving out some square feet in the overcrowded family home.

It was March 2020 and Governor orders the shutdown. “And those over the age of 60 with underlying issues should Shelter in Place” I’ve been that way since 3/21/20. EXHALE Repeat.

In this empty nester lifestyle, I am afforded the the Creative experience in slow motion. A growing inventory of mixed media abstracts utilizing the depth of the technique from pastel to acrylic, gouache, and watercolor. Anytime I want!

The pandemic is my gateway to the land of OZ. A dream come true.

The showroom has begun to materialize: the “creation station” where explosive no boundaries techniques are explored. The studio is where I create digital and fine art pieces. The showroom which is being curated to become the visual representation of sample works . Originally conceived for appointment only open houses. Now they will be virtual. And finally, the showroom. This will target the various demographics my work serves. Interior designers, developers, collectors and students. Pivot to online!

On deck

The fine art website

The podcast

The master classes

Viva Creative!

IG @Arthead2020

www.redbubble.com/people/

Arthead2020

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.