Journal logo

The Best Part Of Vocal Subscriptions

Just My Personal Opinion

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
12
My Subscriptions so far

I’m not sure if I can spend a lot of time eulogizing the most impressive and useful part of Vocal Subscriptions. But basically you can subscribe to your favourite authors and there is a list of my first eight additions that you can see in the pictures above . These authors and creators are all worth reading and have been extremely supportive of me far beyond Vocal and the Facebook groups.

I suppose I base liking an author / creator on their writing , and now if I read something that I like enough to heart and I am not subscribed to that person , I do subscribe. So I will subscribe to a lot more people than subscribe to me, and chances are , for most of us that will be the situation, but there will be certain creators who will be hugely subscribed, such as 1,2,7,8 and 10 on this list. Your subscribers list is in the order of most recent postings.

The best thing about the subscriptions for me , is the feed. There are at the moment creators sharing their favourite ten subscriptions , but all the authors I subscribe to are worth following for me and you can see ten of them that are easily findable.

What I intend to do is to list my last twelve pieces (note some creators have made amendments and therefore appear on the list a few times so I have been selective in my choices but there's only one author that appears twice and I could have filled it with their writing) that have appeared in my feed. I will include a link to the pieces and a one word opinion of it. By visiting the pieces (and hopefully reading and hearting and maybe leaving a tip) you will know that this is a subscribed and appreciated author on my list.

This is the first piece for ages that I have written using the Vocal editor. It was just easier because the links were far easier to drop in.

The subscription is a useful tool and some people have said that they would like to be able to pin their favourite stories. That becomes a double edged sword because it is effectively static only changing when you add to it. The current feed is dynamic so changes as authors publish or amend their stories. People are often resistant to change even if it will benefit them , but resistance is usually broken when they see others benefitting from the change. Imagine if TV had the same programs and films all the time (I know it may feel like that at times) , or the music charts never changed (no new music) or no new books were ever released. We have our own video, music and book collections which are naturally static but grow when we add to them. The Vocal subscription feed is a living dynamic animal and we will all come to love it and benefit from it, and who knows what rabbit holes it will lead us down.

I hope everyone starts to use the feed . Looking at mine I discovered stories I had missed and then enjoyed reading and left a heart on them. I have 14 subscribers now , which is far more than I expected and I know who they are, although I can’t check them. I’m not sure how many I am subscribed to , but I can always check my full list. (it’s 17 at the monet). I am looking forward to discovering a lot more and the Subscription Feed is going to help me in that.

So here is my list

Beautiful

Informative

Fun

Worrying

Funny

Mythological

Disturbing

Poetic

Wild

Inspirational (more than on word , this is why I am writing this)

Scary

Magical

My last published post was about how we limited ourselves in various ways so bears a little on the subject of this one. This IS NOT a feed favourite :)

literature
12

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.